Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Civil Rights Act of 1964: How Far Have We Come?

Historic Civil Rights Places

Memphis - Policemen outside the Lorraine Motel the night of the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr., April 4, 1968. (Digital Image © 2011, University of Memphis Libraries Preservation and Special Collections Department.) 

The Lorraine Motel is now part of the National Civil Rights Museum in Memphis, TN

 


We Shall Overcome: Historic Places of the Civil Rights Movement National Register Travel Itinerary

University Libraries Digital Repository: National African American Photographic Archive (NAAPA)

Civil Rights Leader Cornelia Crenshaw Speaks at Civil Rights Rally in Forrest City Arkansas, September 14, 1969Press Scimitar
Digital Image © 2011, University of Memphis Libraries Preservation and Special Collections Department.

The University Libraries Digital Repository in the Preservation and Special Collections Department of the University of Memphis Ned R. McWherter Library contains selected materials and resources from our collections including still images, sound and motion recordings, and text documents.  

The National African American Photographic Archive (NAAPA) project is a collaborative effort between the University Libraries, University of Memphis and Ampro Industries, Inc. of Memphis. The aim of the project is to collect, scan, and make available to the public photographs and informative metadata illustrating the daily and work lives and social activities of African Americans.

Civil Rights Websites

Martin Luther King, Jr. among civil rights marchers in Memphis, April 1968. (National African American Photographic Archive (NAAPA), University Libraries' Digital Repository Digital Image © 2011, University of Memphis Libraries Preservation and Special Collections Department.)