The majority of these books are a part of University of Memphis McWherter Library's circulating collection and are available for check-out. However, a few of these are housed in our Reference Collection or Preservation and Special Collections Department and are for in-house use only.
Not student or faculty? Visit McWherter Library's Circulation desk to obtain a Special Priviliges Card, which enables guest check-out.
Life and Death in the Delta by 
Cotton and Race in the Making of America by 
The Most Southern Place on Earth by 
African Americans in the South by 
Gendered Freedoms: Race, Rights, and the Politics of Household in the Delta, 1861-1875 by 
Forgotten Time: The Yazoo-Mississippi Delta after the Civil War by 
Mississippi Black History Makers by 
Black Life on the Mississippi: slaves, free Blacks, and the western steamboat world by Growing up Black in Rural Mississippi: memories of a family, heritage of a place by 
Cry from the Cotton: the Southern Tenant Farmers' Union and the New Deal by 
Lost Delta Found: Rediscovering the Fisk University-Library of Congress Coahoma County study, 1941-1942 by Black Magnolias: a brief history of the Afro-Mississippian, 1865- 1980 by 
Development Arrested: the blues and plantation power in the Mississippi Delta by 
Mississippi Women: their histories, their lives by 
University Libraries'
Preservation and Special
Collections Digital
Repository gathers,
describes and promulgates
materials from the
Special Collections
Department and other
sources held within the
University Libraries
collections.
While many of the materials are photographic, these collections will include
audio and video files and documentary resources as well.
The National African American Photographic Archive (NAAPA) project is a collaborative effort between the University Libraries, University of Memphis and Ampro Industries, Inc. of Memphis. The aim of the project is to collect, scan, and make available to the public photographs and informative metadata illustrating the daily and work lives and social activities of African Americans.
Seeded with materials already owned by the Special Collections Department of the UM Libraries, the NAAPA project solicits the donation or loan of significant materials, accompanied by background information (metadata) that will help us to index, describe, and arrange, and the searcher to find, photographic documentation of people, places, and events of importance to African American and American history and culture.
The National African American Photographic Archive is meant to grow and evolve. To make inquiries to the project administrator, click here. For donation or loan agreements, click here
Find databases with articles on Mississippi Delta: African American History by searching "History" under academic area or category.
Not student or faculty? Visit McWherter Library's Circulation
desk to obtain a Special Privileges Card, which enables access to databases from guest computers in McWherter Library's Learning Commons.
Some of these articles are accessed remotely by students and faculty only.
Not student or faculty? Visit McWherter Library's Circulation
desk to obtain a Special Priviliges Card, which enables access to articles from guest computers in McWherter Library's Learning Commons.