Skip to Main Content

Government Publications

A basic guide in identifying and locating government information.

Branches of the Gov. Resources

  • Legislative (Congressional)
    The legislative branch is made up of the House and Senate, known collectively as the Congress. Among other powers, the legislative branch makes all laws, declares war, regulates interstate and foreign commerce and controls taxing and spending policies.
  • Executive (The President & Executive Officers)
    The executive branch consists of the President, his or her advisors and various departments and agencies. This branch is responsible for enforcing the laws of the land.
  • Judiciary (The Supreme Court, U.S. Court Of Appeals, & U.S. District Courts)
    The judicial branch consists of the U.S. Supreme Court and the Federal Judicial Center. According to the Constitution, "[t]he judicial Power of the United States, shall be vested in one supreme Court, and in such inferior Courts as the Congress may from time to time ordain and establish." The Federal Judicial Center is the education and research agency for the federal courts.