Skip to Main Content

Tennessee Women Making History

Spring 2015 Library Exhibition

Service

Books at University Libraries

Memphis Instruments of Peace by Anne Whalen Shafer; Sheila Patrick
Call Number: F444.M59 N488 2012
ISBN: 9780615688459
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
"How volunteers and visionaries challenged racism, reactionary politicians and the Catholic hierarchy."
Maxine Smith's Unwilling Pupils by Sherry L. Hoppe; Bruce W. Speck
Call Number: F440.22.S65 H67 2007 3rd Floor Stacks
ISBN: 9781572335875
Publication Date: 2007-04-15
"An authorized biography of Maxine Atkins Smith."
The Girls of Atomic City by Denise Kiernan
Call Number: F444.O3 K54 2013b Special Collections
ISBN: 9781451617528
Publication Date: 2013-03-05
Library record summary: "In this book the author traces the story of the unsung World War II workers in Oak Ridge, Tennessee through interviews with dozens of surviving women and other Oak Ridge residents."
Title "Helping women find their voice" : the Memphis Chapter of the National Organization for Women, 1971-1992 by Gilmore, Stephanie H.
Call Number: HQ1906.M4 G54x 3rd FL Oversize
Publication Date: 1997
Thesis (M.A.)--University of Memphis
Sisters in the Air by Helen DeWitt Whittaker
Call Number: TL539 .W47 2002
ISBN: 9781570722295
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Tennessee women, sisters of aviation in its infancy
Light from many candles; a history of pioneer women in education in Tennessee by Rogers, Lucille
Call Number: LB2837 .R635x
Publication Date: 1960
Women teachers in earlyTennessee.
Tennessee Women: their lives and times by Sarah Wilkerson Freeman (Editor); Beverly Greene Bond (Editor); Laura Helper-Ferris (Associate Editor)
Call Number: CT3262.T2 T46 2009 v.1 3rd Floor
ISBN: 0820329487
Publication Date: 2009
Women in Engineering by Margaret Layne
Call Number: TA157 .W674 2009
ISBN: 9780784409800
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Pioneers and trailblazers

Women in the Military

Connecting Tennessee Valley women in defense and national security.

Tennessee4me: Women in the Military
Photo Credit: Aerostructures, The Boeing Company Archives, Tennessee State Museum Collection / "A female worker at Vultee in Nashville"

Tennessee Women Veterans Newsletter

"TN Women in the Civil War" excerpts from diaries of three Tennessee women"

Digital Collection

Serving through Agriculture

TN Farm Bureau Women

Tennessee Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee

Tennessee Master Gardener Program--volunteer service program home of horticulture

Become a Trained Volunteer

From the University of Memphis Archive

Memphis City Councilwoman

Gwendolyn Robinson Awsumb

Member of the Memphis City council, 1970's

Gwen R. Awsumb

Consultant and Director with various federal governmental agencies

Sara Roberta Church, an official in the Eisenhower and Nixon Administrations

First black female legislator from Memphis, TN

Miss DeBerry

Roberta Church

Swearing in Ceremony

Service through Crises

CONSTANCE AND HER COMPANIONS THE MARTYRS OF MEMPHIS (9 SEP 1878)
In 1878, Memphis on the Mississippi River was struck by an epidemic of yellow fever. Instead of leaving, many chose to stay and nurse the sick.

Tennessee State Library and Archives

Yellow Fever - "The Dreaded Monster"

Staggering losses due to Yellow Fever were throughout West Tennessee — Collierville, Paris, Brownsville, Milan, and Martin. Photos and historical content tell the story. Catholic Sisters of Charity tended the sick and dying in Memphis during the fever outbreaks of the 1870s.

TennesseeHistory for Kids

Helping others in Yellow Fever epidemic

Yellow Fever... the Plague of Memphis
Memphis had six major Yellow Fever epidemics from 1828 - 1879 and this site uses written documentation as well as vintage-Historic-Memphis photos to tell the tragic story of disease but then discovery.
more...less...
Heroes and Martyrs of the Yellow Fever Epidemics as well as the Clean-Up campaigns are described and vintage photos in abundance.

Martyrs of Memphis Monument

Sisters of St. Mary at Memphis: with the Acts and Sufferings of the Priests and Others Who Were There with Them during the Yellow Fever Season of 1878; New York:
Printed, but never Published, 1879. Letters, notes, and memoranda which described in brief narrative the acts and sufferings of those who served but died during the pestilence of Yellow Fever in 1878.

Yellow Fever Definition / Diseases and Conditions

AKA Sorority "Service to All Mankind"

Local Good News: Service To Mankind
A local Memphis chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority, incorporated ... is celebrating 107 years of existence. Ladies of the Beta Epsilon Omega chapter are leaders in providing programs to instill values in young women and and men.

The first undergraduate chapter in the Southeast was in 1921

at Fisk University --Nashville, TN.

TENNESSEE ECONOMIC COUNCIL ON WOMEN

Newsletter Archive

Directors, Volunteers, Leaders, and Service Award Recipients, working to end Human Trafficking in Tennessee

Junior League of Memphis

Promoting Voluntarism and a Spirit of Service
Their website states that "Since 1922, the (Junior League of Memphis) JLM has been a catalyst for change, connected resources to the community, trained women to be leaders and community champions and affected deep and lasting change. "

First order of business in 1922 was to approve donations
to a local orphanage and service to the blind.

United Way in Tennessee

Snapshots in time: Memphis volunteers helping United Way in 1964

Snapshots in time: Memphis volunteers helping United Way in 1964

[October 18, 2013 by Dave Skorupa]

United Way of Tennessee

Books in the Special Collection - 4th floor McWherter

Mississippi Valley's Great Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1878 by Khaled J. Bloom
Call Number: RA644.Y4 B56 1993 Special Collections
ISBN: 0807118249
Publication Date: 1993-09-01
A History of the Yellow Fever by John McLead Keating
Call Number: RC211.T3 K2 Special Collections
ISBN: 9780548150443
Publication Date: 2007
An oral history of women leaders in Memphis : interview with Gwen Awsumb, April 3, 1978 by Eleanor McKay & Clinton Bagley ; transcriber: Betty Williams.
Call Number: HQ1439.M4 M25x Special Collections - Oversize
Publication Date: 1978
Woman's work in Tennesee by Tennessee state federation of women's clubs
Call Number: HQ1438.T2 T4 1916 Special Collections Oversize
Publication Date: 1916
SnapShots : Memphis women at work by Sagrestano, Lynda
Call Number: HD6096.M5 S637 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Photographs of Memphis women from all walks of life at work [Center for Research on Women from 1985-2004]

A history of the yellow fever. The yellow fever epidemic of 1878, in Memphis, Tenn.,
embracing a complete list of the dead, the names of the doctors and nurses
employed, names of all who contributed money or means, and the names
and history of the Howards, together with other data, and lists of the dead elsewhere (1879)

Gwendolyn Robinson Awsumb
Rhodes College, Class of 1937
Memphis City Councilwoman
Oakhaven Parkway Village Planning District Study

August 1973

Roberta Church Collection

Consultant and Director with Various federal governmental agencies.

Government Publications

The University Libraries is proud to serve as one of Tennessee's Federal Depository Libraries. Click the above link to be redirected to the Government Publication's Department.

They Also Flew - Masters Thesis

East Tennessee Women’s Leadership Council

East Tennessee Women’s Leadership Council

Lizzie Crozier French Women’s Leadership Award