NURS 7002 Advanced Nursing Research

This groundbreaking annual review has provided over three decades of knowledge, insight, and research on topics critical to the field of nursing. The 34th volume presents abundant new research devoted to examining and forwarding the field of modern ethics in nursing. It reflects the rapid acceleration of change in the roles and responsibilities of nurses and the concurrent need for reexamination of professional ethical values. Articles focus on creating nurses who are able to negotiate, adapt, and provide excellent care to patients as they take on greater administrative duties, rely more on technology, and assume some of the roles and responsibilities of physicians. Chapters are comprised of carefully selected articles that underscore the importance of in-depth ethical education and professional character development in the nursing classroom, and its continued evolution as nurses adapt to a changing health care environment throughout their careers. They include examples of contemporary health care dilemmas and how nurses have used ethical values to guide their behavior in situations where they encounter highly vulnerable patients; address ethical problems relating to family issues such as self-neglect and the wellbeing of children in military families; and systems-of-care issues regarding genetics, smart home technologies for older adults, interprofessional collaboration, and post-deployment reintegration. Key Topics: Nursing Ethics: A Lifelong CommitmentEthical Analysis of Family Impact of Mental Health StigmaEthical Issues in Family CareEthical Considerations in Self-NeglectThe Effects of Parental Service on the Wellbeing of our Youngest Military MembersEthics of Genetics in Primary CareEthics of Smart Home Technologies for Older AdultsPost-Deployment Reintegration: The Ethics of Embodied Personal Presence and the Formation of Military MeaningEthical Issues Encountered by Military Nurses

This second edition of Quay Books' bestselling title retains all of the successful features of the first, plus additional material including a chapter on European psychiatric research. Foreword by Kevin Gournay.

Named a Choice Outstanding Academic Title for 2007 and an AJN Book of the Year. The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references. Nurse researchers, educators, students, and all clinical specialties will find the encyclopedia an important introduction to the breadth of nursing research today. New topics include NIH-funded research areas, a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals, addictions care, palliative care, translational science, simulation, trauma care, family-centered care, mild cognitive impairment, active surveillance for cancer care, workplace and empowerment research, nurse engagement, nurse-physician collaboration, CAM and empowerment research, spirituality, synthesis and action research, mixed methods research, systematic review, ethnopharmacology, and more. Key Features: .: Includes NIH-funded research topics; Provides a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals; Adds over 20 new areas of research and updates original entries; Written by over 200 nursing research experts; Organized alphabetically for easy access to information;. Named a Choice Outstanding Academic Title for 2007 and an AJN Book of the Year. The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references. Nurse researchers, educators, students, and all clinical specialties will find the encyclopedia an important introduction to the breadth of nursing research today. New topics include NIH-funded research areas, a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals, addictions care, palliative care, translational science, simulation, trauma care, family-centered care, mild cognitive impairment, active surveillance for cancer care, workplace and empowerment research, nurse engagement, nurse-physician collaboration, CAM and empowerment research, spirituality, synthesis and action research, mixed methods research, systematic review, ethnopharmacology, and more. Key Features: .: Includes NIH-funded research topics; Provides a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals; Adds over 20 new areas of research and updates original entries; Written by over 200 nursing research experts; Organized alphabetically for easy access to information;. Acculturation. Action Research. Active Surveillance. Acute Care of the Elderly. Adherence/Compliance. Addiction Care. Advance Directives. Ageism. Alzheimer's Disease. Applied Research. Basic Research. Behavioral Research. Biofeedback. Boykin & Schoenhofer: The Theory of Nursing as Caring. Breast-Feeding. Cancer in Children. Cardiovascular Risk Factors: Cholesterol. Caregiver. Caring. Case Study Method of Research. Causal Modeling. Cerebral Ischemia. Child Delinquents. Child Lead Exposure Effects. Childbirth Education. Chronic Illness. Clinical Care Classification System. Clinical Decision Making. Clinical Judgment. Clinical Nursing Research. Clinical Preventive Services Delivery. Clinical Trials. Cochrane Review. Cohort Design. Collaborative Research. Comfort. Community Mental Health. Comparative Effectiveness Research. Complementary and Alternative Practices and Products (CAPPs). Concept Analysis. Conceptual Model. Consortial Research. Content Analysis. Continuing Care Retirement Communities. Coronary

Delivers unique systematic guidelines for understanding and applying EBP in nursing programs A fundamental, reader-friendly guide to evidence-based practice (EBP) for BSN, MSN, and DNP nursing students, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing explains the conceptual underpinnings of EBP and demonstrates how nurses can put EBP concepts into practice. Replete with critical knowledge, skills, tools, and scholarly development to enable nurses to fully and confidently deliver the highest-quality EBP care, this book eschews a one-size-fits-all approach in favor of unique systematic guidelines for understanding and applying EBP. Building blocks of information grow progressively more complex, enabling their application to any point along nursing's academic trajectory. Thoughtfully organized to fit a variety of EBP-related course objectives, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing easily adapts for standalone EBP courses at any level as well as advanced practice specialty courses that integrate EBP content. This book addresses the needs of all nursing instructors, including those who teach at multiple levels simultaneously. Key content includes requisite conceptual knowledge of EBP for building clinical decision-making skills; conceptualizing, implementing, and evaluating EBP projects; applying translational science; quality improvement for implementation and evaluation of EBP; developing leadership and structural empowerment strategies; and analyzing how students at each degree/level work with EBP independently, interprofessionally, and intraprofessionally. Chapters align with AACN essentials. Key Features: Follows a methodical systematic trajectory, building from simple to complex conceptsIncludes abundant examples demonstrating both negative and positive EBP applicationsEnables instructors to adopt one textbook for students at different levels of knowledge and educationIncludes practical design templates for developing EBP implementation plans with critical guidepostsProvides a quality improvement toolkit, key words and concepts, illustrative tables, and figures

The Fourth Edition of Introduction to Nursing Research is a distinct integration of evidence-based practice and research for the baccalaureate student and practicing registered nurses. It focuses on how students can incorporate research into their daily practice while considering all the newest trends and issues. This is not a typical introduction to nursing research book; it is an evidence-based practice text that uses research. The Fourth Edition focus on the meaning of evidence, the use of quality improvement, and the practical application of these aspects for the practicing health care provider.

Praise for the Previous Edition: "This is a valuable resource for readers seeking basic to advanced information on measurement. It should be on the bookshelf of all researchers, and a requirement for graduate nursing students." Score: 100, 5 stars -- Doody's Medical Reviews "...this book is a wonderful shelf reference for nurse researcher mentors and investigators who may need to explore content or use content to design, test, select, and evaluate instruments and methods used in measuring nurse concepts and outcomes." --Clinical Nurse Specialist "Presents clearly the methodological principles for research planning in nursing with examples that facilitate the understanding of them. Excellent." 5.0 out of 5 stars --Nursing Research This highly popular resource--written in an easy-to-read style and format-- delivers everything nurses and other health researchers need to know about designing, testing, selecting, and evaluating instruments and methods for measurement in nursing. The Fifth Edition features the most current content, strategies, and procedures available with direct applicability to nurses and health researchers engaging in interprofessional research, collaboration, education, and evidence-based practice. Five new chapters focus on challenges to using big data, evaluation and measurement in interprofessional practice and education, metrics and benchmarking in health professions education and practice, and measurement issues in translational science. The book gives particular attention to measurement issues resulting from changes in nursing, health research, and the increased emphasis on and undertaking of interprofessional research and evaluation. Presenting the material in step-by-step format, the book is designed for readers with little or no experience in measurement, statistics, or interprofessional issues. It focuses on increasing the reader's ability to use measures that are operationalized within the context of theories and conceptual frameworks, derived from sound measurement principles and practices and adequately tested for reliability and validity. Additionally, the text provides a pragmatic account of the processes involved in all aspects of measurement. Studies conducted by nurses and researchers in varied settings illustrate the measurement processes. New to the Fifth Edition: Thoroughly updated and revisedDelivers new and emerging strategiesReflects recent changes to nursing, health research, and emphasis on interprofessional researchIncludes five completely new chapters addressing challenges to using big data, evaluation and measurement in interprofessional practice and education, metrics and benchmarking in health professions education and practice, and measurement issues in translational science Key Features: Easy-to-read content and formatAssumes no prior knowledge of measurement, statistics, or interprofessional issuesProvides studies conducted by nurses and researchers in varied settingsOffers a pragmatic account of the processes involved inn all aspects of measurement

Once considered to be a lesser pedagogical method, the case study is now recognized as a powerful, in-depth tool for examining evidence-based practice as it relates to patient care, family dynamics, professional roles, and organizational systems. Here is a unique how-to guide to conducting research using case studies. Focusing on current leading methodologies, the text describes the philosophical basis and state of the art for using this qualitative method. The peer-reviewed designs (including interviews, physiological measurements, psychological tests, and analyses of patients' diaries and journals) are accompanied by an in-depth research plan, a discussion of appropriate methods, and ethical considerations. The text provides clear directives - bolstered by nursing examples - on how to solve practical problems a researcher may encounter. Examples from international scholars who have published research using case studies are included along with coaching designed to support the new researcher in making decisions and facing challenges. The text is the eighth in a series of concise volumes addressing a variety of methods for conducting qualitative research. Conceived and edited by a noted expert in qualitative research, the book is designed for both novice and practicing researchers seeking to develop or expand their competency, health institution research divisions, in-service educators and students, and graduate nursing educators and students. Key Features: Explains clearly and concisely how to conduct research using case studiesReviews the philosophical basis for using case studiesFocuses on solving practical problems related to conducting researchOffers rich nursing exemplars and coaching from international health/mental health contributors

Comprehensive and thorough in scope, The Research Process in Nursing 7th edition provides everything you could want to know about research methods. This established textbook reflects the significant advances in nursing research and the importance of evidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource for both the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice   Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which links theory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety of research concepts to theoretical learning and professional practice. Incorporates chapters, research examples, and policy from a range of international countries, including Canada, Australia, USA and Hong Kong. Provides detailed discussions around each example, which clearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursing students, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detail to be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.

Learn how to evaluate and apply research with the #1 nursing research book! Understanding Nursing Research: Building an Evidence-Based Practice is known for its authoritative content, a time-tested step-by-step approach, and abundant use of research examples. With improved clarity and readability, the new edition strengthens its focus on evidence-based practice to better demonstrate how the steps of the research process relate to evidence-based nursing. Written by two of the leaders in the field of nursing research, Nancy Burns and Susan K. Grove, this full-color text offers unique insights into understanding, appraising, and applying published research to evidence-based practice. "This would be excellent for student nurses, nurses new to research or any nurse with an interest in research." Reviewed by: Helen Reeves, St Giles Walsall Hospice on behalf of Nursing Times, December 2015 Authoritative content is written by two of the true pioneers in nursing research, who offer unique, first-hand insights into the field. Research examples provide practice in working with published studies, with many of the examples including Critical Appraisal and Implications for Practice sections. Clear, step-by-step organization introduces the research process and demonstrates how this systematic framework relates to evidence-based practice. Strong emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you develop skills in studying and appraising published research, so you are prepared for your role in working with research evidence. Critical Appraisal Guidelines boxes provide step-by-step guidance in appraising published research studies. Emphasis on critical appraisal versus critique reflects contemporary usage in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Balanced coverage of qualitative research prepares you to approach research questions and clinical questions with an unbiased view of the researcher''s methodology. Presentation of two different appraisal processes covers both the traditional in-depth critical appraisal process that prepares you for graduate-level work in research, and the concise, practice-focused research appraisal process that equips you for quick and accurate evaluation of the applicability of research findings to clinical practice. NEW! Redesigned research example format includes research examples have been thoroughly redesigned with a clear hierarchy of subcategories. NEW! Improved focus on need-to-know content and greater use of bulleting, creative illustrations, and tables, employs a more consistent, streamlined approach from chapter to chapter. NEW! Updated research examples ensure you are learning through the most clinically relevant topics and studies. NEW! Detailed directions on how to critically appraise research syntheses - such as systematic reviews, meta-analyses, meta-syntheses, and mixed-methods systematic reviews - increase your understanding of the types of research syntheses conducted in nursing and how to determine the quality of these syntheses and the relevance of their findings for practice. NEW! A unique emphasis on QSEN, aided by the input of a QSEN consultant, increases the book''s relevance to national curriculum standards and promotes the safe practice of nursing by using the most current research. NEW! Chapter on the Enhanced Literature Review provides guidelines for structure of reviews written for different purposes. NEW! More practically focused chapter on Outcomes Research better addresses the trending topic of outcomes research. NEW! Expanded coverage of mixed-methods research and translational research responds to the growing emphasis on these research emphases. NEW! Expanded coverage of cultural competency and cultural validity provides valuable information for providing care to diverse populations and understanding the validity of research instruments in various cultures. NEW! Quick-reference tools include a Brief Table of Contents, a new Levels of Knowledge illustration, and other evidence-based practice information inside the front cover. A Research Designs and Statistical Analysis Techniques Reference and a new Key to Statistical Symbols are located inside the back cover. NEW! Enhanced illustration program incorporates re-colorized illustrations and additional full-color illustrations in each chapter. NEW! Additional design enhancements include a special 1-column adaptation of the RN Design standard, table row separators, and newly designed chapter openers.