Digital collection of maps related to U.S. history. Collections include material related to the African-American diaspora, the Civil War, the Everglades, Liberia, the Louisiana Purchase, railroads, the Revolution, the Western expansion, and World War II. Copyright and permissions information can be found on the Library of Congress' home page. Coverage: varies by collection.
Search or browse for images from the past 3000 years. Broad categories include buildings, entertainment, exploration, historical events, industry & agriculture, law & politics, maps, medicine, the military, the natural world, personalities, religions, science & technology, the seasons, trade, and transportation. Single use for personal reasons is permitted; for reproduction rights, see the British Library's Imaging Services.
Complete text, advertisements, and illustrations of Harper's Weekly. Includes American History, Civil War history, the Gilded Age, women's lives and gender studies, and literary genres including drama, verse, first person narratives, almanacs. Coverage: 1857-1912
hearing before the Subcommittee on Government Management, Information, and Technology of the Committee on Government Reform, House of Representatives, One Hundred Sixth Congress, second session, October 18, 2000.
/ prepared under the direction of the Committee on House Administration of the U.S. House of Representatives, by the Office of History and Preservation, Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives.
Note: Many historical newspapers in the library are only available on microfilm; intructions on how to use the scanners are here as well as printed out on the scanner tables on the second floor of McWherter Library.
Historical NewspapersThis research guide gathers historical U. S. newspapers that are available online and at no cost, including those available through newspaperarchives.com, the Google News Historical Archives, Chronicling America (Library of Congress), and state archives.