Skip to Main Content
 

News Literacy & News Sources

Be informed; don't be deceived!

Behind the Paywall

Many news sources put some or all of their resources behind a paywall that can be only be accessed with a subscription. The University Libraries has subscription access to many of these news sources, either through our databases or individual news source subscriptions.

News Databases

To search large numbers of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources at once, we have specialized news databases. Here are some of our most popular news databases:

For a complete list, use our News database subjects

Find Specific News Sources

The quickest way to search if we have access to an individual newspaper or magazine is to use the journal search. The journal search will show where we have access and what years are covered. 

Search results for the Washington Post in the Journal Search

Passwords and Registration

Most news sources we subscribe to can be accessed using your UofM login through the library databases and journal finder. However, some require different access methods.

  • A few news sources require login using accounts and passwords from our password database. 
  • Access to The New York Times requires special registration.
  • You can register a memphis.edu email with the Chronicle of Higher Education to access it off campus without going through the UofM login. 

Password Database

Some of the news sources included in the password database:

  • The Commercial Appeal
  • Memphis Business Journal
  • Jackson Sun
  • Sports Illustrated
  • Variety

The New York Times

SGA pays for complimentary access to the NYTimes.com for UofM students, staff, and faculty. This includes current and archival articles, NYTimes in Education, the NYT apps, videos and other multimedia, podcasts, newsletters, and so much more. 

Chronicle of Higher Education

The University Libraries pays for a site license to the chronicle.com. When on campus, you will automatically be logged in. When off campus, you can access the Chronicle through the journal search, by using the UofM Virtual Private Network, or by registering an account with the Chronicle using your memphis.edu email.