Research Guides: Literature Reviews: Engineering & Physical Sciences

Literature Reviews: Engineering & Physical Sciences

When reviewing engineering and physical sciences literature, you may want to consider the following:

Time span: Do you need to provide historical literature? Or do you need only the most current up-to-date articles?
Location: Where is the article's research conducted? If you're reviewing US engineering ethics, you may not need an article about ethics in China.

Examples of literature reviews in engineering and physical science:

A Systematic Literature Review of US Engineering Ethics Interventions
Hess, J.L., Fore, G. A Systematic Literature Review of US Engineering Ethics Interventions. Sci Eng Ethics 24, 551–583 (2018). https://doi.org/10.1007/s11948-017-9910-6
Practices for Managing Machine Learning Products: A Multivocal Literature Review
I. Alves, L. A. F. Leite, P. Meirelles, F. Kon and C. S. R. Aguiar, "Practices for Managing Machine Learning Products: A Multivocal Literature Review," in IEEE Transactions on Engineering Management, vol. 71, pp. 7425-7455, 2024, doi: 10.1109/TEM.2023.3287759

Engineering & Physical Sciences Databases

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate
Covers periodicals in aeronautics, applied mathematics, AI, atmospheric science, chemical engineering, chemistry, construction, engineering, energy, fire prevention, food industry, geology, information technology, marine technology, metallurgy, mineralogy, neural networks, oceanography, optical & neural computing, petroleum & gas, physics, plastics, robotics, space science, textiles, transportation, and waste management. Coverage: indexing, 1913-; abstracts, 1993-; select full text, 1997-.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
This is the electronic version of the Annual Book of ASTM Standards, including all volumes in each of the 15 sections of the Annual Book of ASTM Standards, as well as the Index. It contains 13,000+ standards addressing areas such as metals, petroleum, construction, rubber, the environment and more.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Explore indexes and abstracts IEEE publications, transactions, magazines, letters, proceedings, and standards. Subjects covered include electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. The UofM has fulltext rights to articles in the ASPP periodicals from recent years. Coverage: citations, 1952- ; fulltext (limited to IEEE periodicals only), 1999- .
American Society of Civil Engineers Journals
Journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). Coverage 1995-.
American Chemical Society Journals
American Chemical Society Web Editions offer enhanced content and full text articles in both HTML and PDF format. The Articles ASAP feature provides access to articles before they appear in print. Includes access to current issues and the ACS Archives. Coverage: 1996-.
American Physical Society Journals
Searchable/browsable fulltext archive, including Physical Review Letters; Physical Review Special Topics - Accelerators and Beams, Reviews of Modern Physics, as well as the PROLA archive. Please note that we subscribe to select titles only in this collection. Coverage: 1893-present.
ASME Journals
The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) journals are vital to keeping engineers abreast of current theory, practice, and application.

ANSI Resource Center
ANSI's Resource Center is your access point to every document, form, external link, or other resource referenced throughout ANSI.org's pages, organized by topic.

Federal Resources

United States Patent and Trademark Office
The USPTO is the federal agency that grants patents, registers trademarks, and advises the Administration, through the Secretary of Commerce, on intellectual property policy.
FDA Guidance
Search for FDA guidance documents by keyword and find summary, document, issue date, FDA organization, topic, guidance status, and more.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information
U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information.

eBooks

Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis: Stepwise approach for medical and biomedical researchers (eBook) by Mahsa Ghajarzadeh, Sara Hanaei, Nima Rezaei (Eds.)
Publication Date: 2024

Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis: Stepwise Approach for Medical and Biomedical Researchers presents a step-by-step approach to develop systematic reviews and meta-analysis for biomedical and medical research. Systematic reviews are the highest quality evidence in medical research, providing an answer to a specific question, and they can be developed in the form of comprehensive literature search, critical appraisal, and synthesis of the evidence. Systematic reviews and meta-analysis are key elements of evidence-based medicine by summarizing the results of previous studies with the use of specific and reliable methods.
Getting It Right: R&D Methods for Science & Engineering (eBook) by Peter Bock
Publication Date: 2020

Getting it Right: R&D Methods for Science and Engineering, Second Edition, is an authoritative guide to the methodologies that produce coherent and complete R&D projects. Based on the author's experience in large industrial firms, this book addresses the avoidance of common pitfalls that engineers and scientists routinely face in industry and academia. Special emphasis is placed on the comprehensive analysis of project problems, requirements, objectives, the use of standard and consistent terminology and procedures, the design of rigorous and reproducible experiments, the appropriate reduction and interpretation of project results, and the effective communication of project design, methods, results, and conclusions, embedded in a clear and modern framework of the Scientific Method.