Historical Newspapers

Choose the title of the newspaper as the source to limit your search to this paper.

African-American newspaper published in Baltimore.

African American paper advocating for racial equality, religious tolerance, Free Silver (and, later William Jennings Bryan). Moved from Salt Lake City to Chicago in 1899.

African-American newspaper published in Los Angeles. Scattered issues.

Des Moines Bystander, 1894-1922 (African-American newspaper)

African-American newspaper. Evansville is located in southern Indiana.

All 103 issues available as full-text PDFs. The first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States, Freedom's Journal was published weekly in New York City.

African-American newspaper.

African American newspaper published in Des Moines.

The four-page weekly is today regarded as one of the most notable African-American newspapers in the country, although only a handful of issues are known to have survived. Johnson used the paper to assert his views on African American life, civil rights, and religious awareness

Influential African-American newspaper which ran from 1887- 1953). Staff writers included Ida B. Wells-Barnett and W.E.B DuBois. Issues available as non-searchable PDFs.

Influential African-American newspaper which ran from 1887- 1953. Staff writers included Ida B. Wells-Barnett and W.E.B. DuBois.

Weekly African-American newspaper from Guthrie, Oklahoma that includes local, territorial, and national news along with advertising.

African-American newspaper.

The Western Appeal and the Appeal were noted African-American weekly newspapers published in St. Paul, Minnesota. The Western Appeal began in 1885 and was conceived as a source of news and information for the burgeoning educated black population in the upper Midwest. The newspaper strived to be a source of local and national news, as well as a hub for local advertising from black-owned businesses.

African American newspaper published in Des Moines.

African-American newspaper published in Indianapolis.

Also known as the Tulsa Daily Star, the paper championed African-American causes, promoting progress and stability within Tulsa’s black community until its dramatic and untimely demise following the race riot of May 31, 1921.

Published by the Colored Co-operative Publishing Company by and for the African American community of Boston.

Includes the Cleveland Morning Leader, Anti-Slavery Bugle, and more than 40 other newspapers from across the state.

Founded in 1873 under the motto "Equal Rights to All Men," the Concordia Eagle was a four-page Republican weekly published in Vidalia, Louisiana, a small agricultural community located on the west bank of the Mississippi River, opposite Natchez, Mississippi. The paper's founder was an african american state legislator and political boss, David Young (b. 1836).

Abolitionist paper published in Rochester, earlier called The North Star. This is a page of links to transcribed articles. Not searchable. The entire March 18, 1853 issue is available here: http://utc.iath.virginia.edu/interpret/fdpaper/fdpagesf.html

An abolitionist paper launched by Theodore Foster and Rev. Guy Beckley in Ann Arbor in 1841.

This online archive contains 281 issues, which is close to the complete run. The Friend of Man was "one of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements," and was published in central New York.

Abolitionist newspaper published in Boston, edited by William Lloyd Garrison. Selected articles, searchable.

African American Newspaper. The Planet covered local, national, and international news, especially focusing on segregation, the depredations of the Ku Klux Klan, voting rights, and the scourge of lynching.

Includes: The Silent Hoosier (1887-1934); Hooserian (1923); The Hoosier (1935-1996); and Orange and Black (1921-1938)

The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper among the Deaf community in the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century. Originally known as the Deaf Mute Times, it was first published in February 1888 and renamed The Silent Worker on September 27 of the same year. The New Jersey School for the Deaf continued its publication monthly, except for July, August, and periodically September until it ceased in June 1929. Deaf American authors wrote almost all articles, although occasional contributions by deaf individuals from other countries were also printed.

The survey was published in 1942 by the Chicago Public Library Omnibus Project of the Works Projects Administration. The project was created to translate and classify selected news articles that appeared in the foreign language press between 1855 and 1938. It consists of some 120,000 typewritten pages, and features articles from the newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago.

26 issues of the French language newspapers published in Boston.

Incomplete run. A dual language French-English newspaper.

"Established in 1908 by the Polish National Alliance, Dziennik Zwiazkowy continues to be published today as the Polish Daily News. This database includes the first ten years (1908- 1917) of publication, which represent local, national and international issues of utmost concern to the Polish community of Chicago at that time."

French-language newspaper published in Manchester.

"El Clamor Publico was the first Spanish-language newspaper in California after the American occupation. The initially moderate paper evolved into an activist tabloid and espoused strong political views generally in support of the Mexicanos. It was distributed as far north as San Francisco."

Spanish and English language versions available.

Paterson Historic Newspapers (1935 - 1966): Newspapers from Paterson, in Passaic County. Includes Chronicle, the Sunday Chronicle, Il Messaggero (in Italian,) and The Messenger. Date ranges vary.

The New Orleans Bee. French language newspaper. Additional issues from the years 1924- 1929 are available at the following link: http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=nlKf13ul9_IC

Bilingual Spanish-English newspaper.

A French-English dual language newspaper (also known as L’Abeille de la Nouvelle-Orléans) from 1827-1872, after which English was dropped and it became French only . The images are arranged chronologically as PDF files and are not keyword searchable.

Clippings collection of Jewish newspapers. Titles from a variety of locations within and outside of Florida, including some international titles. Primarily English and Yiddish titles. Site indexing is unreliable.

Large collection of Texas historical newspapers. Includes Breckenridge American, The Bastrop Advertiser, The Optimist, El Paso Morning Times, and about fifty more titles. Languages include English, Spanish, German, Swedish, and Chinese. Use the panel on the left to limit your search by title, county, language, or collection. Date ranges vary among titles. Also includes a few issues of the Baltimore, MD Weekly Register that relate to Texas history.

Over 40 Hawaiian and English language newspapers. Mixed quality of scans. Partial runs.

The Women's National Anti-Suffrage League (1908–1918) was established in London on 21 July 1908. Its aims were to oppose women being granted the vote in British parliamentary elections, although it did support their having votes in local government elections. It was founded at a time when there was a resurgence of support for the women's suffrage movement.
The Women's National Anti-Suffrage League, publisher of the Anti-Suffrage Review, submitted a petition to Parliament in 1907 with 87,500 names, but it was rejected by the Petitions Committee of Parliament as "informal". The League's aims were to oppose women being granted the parliamentary franchise, though it did support their having votes in local and municipal elections. It published the Anti-Suffrage Review from December 1908 until 1918. It gathered 337,018 signatures on an anti-suffrage petition, and founded the first local branch in Hawkenhurst in Kent.

The Great Speckled Bird was one of several underground newspapers that appeared in the United States in the 1960s. Published in Atlanta from 1968 to 1976, The Bird, as it was commonly known, stood out among the alternative press for the quality of its writing, its cover art and its fearless opinions and reporting on a range of topics--national and local politics, the counterculture, women's issues, gay liberation, reproductive choice, music, art.

The New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage was founded in 1897, and by 1908 it had over 90 members. It was active in producing pamphlets and publications explaining their views of women's suffrage, until the Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution was passed in 1920. A Geneva branch was founded in 1909. The suffragists in New York often extended invitations to open discussion with the anti-suffragists.

The New York association had its own magazine, first The Anti-Suffragist published by Mrs. William Winslow Crannell from July 1908 to April 1912, later The Woman's Protest produced by the organization at large.

The Revolution was a newspaper established by women's rights activists Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton in New York City. It was published weekly between January 8, 1868 and February 17, 1872. With a combative style that matched its name, it primarily focused on women's rights, especially suffrage for women. It also covered other topics, however, such as politics, the labor movement and finance. Anthony managed the business aspects of the paper while Stanton was co-editor along with Parker Pillsbury, an abolitionist and a supporter of women's rights.

Montana women had worked to obtain the right to vote since the 1890s without success, but in the second decade of the 20th century the leadership of Missoula suffragist, Jeannette Rankin, turned the tide, with the help of the Montana Federation of Women’s Clubs and the Women’s Christian Temperance Union. In 1912, Montana suffragists organized the Montana Equal Suffrage Association. The Suffrage Daily News, published in Helena, Montana between September and November 1914, played a major part in the success of the movement.

On September 24, 1914, the third issue of the Suffrage Daily News printed a sermon by a Baptist pastor from Lewistown, Montana, named Rev. George Cross in an early edition. Rev. Cross castigated men for shutting women out of efforts to build the young state of Montana, and for “regarding women as a thing for pleasure, for childbearing, and for labor."

“The woman who reads our paper will be informed as to happenings in Congress, not only suffrage happenings, although they come first, but all proceedings of special interest to women. Men do not realize how serious are the changes that are taking place in the conduct of Congress. Women will have to inform them. Only in the pages of The Suffragist will you find the information you need.” The Suffragist, 1914

The Woman’s Journal was the most successful of all suffrage newspapers, running for 61 years in various formats and under different names, serving at times as the official or semi-official organ of two major suffrage associations. It was first published on January 8, 1870 in Boston by Lucy Stone and her husband, Henry Browne Blackwell, with assistance at various points from Mary Livermore and Julia Ward Howe. Promoted as a conservative response to Susan B. Anthony’s The Revolution, its lengthy existence can be attributed in part to Stone’s business acumen.

In July 1921, less than a year after the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, which guaranteed women the right to vote, the Woman’s Enterprise was founded in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, the state capital and a center of industry and education. Devoted to women’s interests, the paper was published and edited by Mattie B. McGrath (1867-1926). Formerly a writer for the New Orleans Times-Picayune, McGrath was the daughter of John McGrath (1835-1924), founder of two Baton Rouge newspapers, the Daily Truth and the Weekly Truth.

In its inaugural issue, the Woman’s Enterprise declared that its purpose was to promote the “economic, moral, social and political uplift of the community…without trespassing upon the pastures of the daily and weekly papers…in a spirit of good will towards all.” It encouraged women to register to vote and [...] women’s education was frequently discussed.

"Black community news service." The University Libraries has microfilm for this title. Some digital content from 1969 available: http://www.rockandroll.amdigital.co.uk/Contents/DocumentDetails.aspx?documentid=585875.

The Fifth Freedom was a periodic free newspaper of the Mattachine Society of the Niagara Frontier, Western New York's most prominent early gay rights organization. In being the official written mouthpiece of the region's first systematic gay rights organization, The Fifth Freedom expresses the earliest codified and widely distributed literature of the gay community within the region.

The Great Speckled Bird was one of several underground newspapers that appeared in the United States in the 1960s. Published in Atlanta from 1968 to 1976, The Bird, as it was commonly known, stood out among the alternative press for the quality of its writing, its cover art and its fearless opinions and reporting on a range of topics--national and local politics, the counterculture, women's issues, gay liberation, reproductive choice, music, art.

The four-page weekly is today regarded as one of the most notable African-American newspapers in the country, although only a handful of issues are known to have survived. Johnson used the paper to assert his views on African American life, civil rights, and religious awareness.

The Southern Courier was an Alabama-based newspaper established in 1964 by journalism students from Massachusetts who were covering the civil rights movement and Pres. Lyndon Johnson's War on Poverty in the American South.

African American Newspaper. The Planet covered local, national, and international news, especially focusing on segregation, the depredations of the Ku Klux Klan, voting rights, and the scourge of lynching.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Denson Tribune was published by the inmates at the Jerome concentration camp, Arkansas from 1942 to 1944. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=133

You'll see a log-in box, but you can just click on "Click to use Guest account."

The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Gila News-Courier was published by the inmates at the Gila River concentration camp, Arizona, from 1942 to 1945. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=130

The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Granada Pioneer was published by the inmates at the Granada concentration camp, Colorado, from 1942 to 1945. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=136

The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Heart Mountain Sentinel was published by the inmates at the Heart Mountain concentration camp, Wyoming, from 1942 to 1944. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=106

The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Manzanar Free Press was published by the inmates at the Manzanar concentration camp, California, from 1942 to 1944. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=113

The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Minidoka Irrigator was published by the inmates at the Minidoka concentration camp, Idaho, from 1942 to 1945. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=108

The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Poston Chronicle was published by the inmates at the Poston concentration camp, Arizona, from 1942 to 1945. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=134

The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Rohwer Outpost was published by the inmates at the Rohwer concentration camp, Arkansas, from 1942 to 1945. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=132

The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Topaz Times was published by the inmates at the Topaz concentration camp, Utah, from 1942 to 1945. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=131

The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Densho Archive contains selected issues of the Tulean Dispatch and other publications written by inmates of the Tule Lake concentration camp, California, between 1942 and 1943. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=109

The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

Native American newspaper. "Published by the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Indian Reservation."

Weekly newspaper written by and for Alaskan Natives. Some gaps in coverage.

The first American Indian newspaper.

Includes: Beaver Herald, Branding Iron, Cheyenne Transporter, Farmers' Champion, The Indian Advocate, The Indian Chieftain, Oklahoma Miner, etc.