Research Guides: Health Administration: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the research guide for Health Adminstration! The University Libraries collects and makes accessible a wide variety of resources of interest to health administrators. This includes not only books, articles and databases related to health administration, but also those related to nursing, nutrition, public health, sociology, psychology, economics and more. We are also the Federal Regional Depository Library for the state of Tennessee, meaning that we receive 100% of the publications, maps and electronic data distributed by the Government Printing Office. In addition, we are a depository for Tennessee state documents.

If you'd like personal assistance with your research, please contact me directly.

General Databases

Recommended Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete covers nursing, allied health, biomedical and consumer health journals, publications of the American Nursing Association, and the National League for Nursing. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and proceedings. Full text is included for nursing journals, newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.
To learn how to use CINAHL Complete, watch our video series.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nurtrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, ect. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Coverage 1980-.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Type the title or author into the search field and select SU Subject from the drop-down menu. Under the heading Limit Your Results, select Book Review in the Document Type box. Click Search to see citations and full text to reviews.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Citations to and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in psychology, plus psychological aspects in related disciplines (medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law). Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1632-present.

Advanced Search Strategies: PsychInfo from University Libraries on Vimeo.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides MEDLINE access, along with OLDMEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE (citations in-process), and citations outside the scope of MEDLINE provided by journal publishers. Interconnects with other NCBI databases and resources. Articles from many medical journals are free after a 6-12 month embargo. Linkouts to fulltext provided at publishers' discretion. Coverage: OLDMEDLINE, 1950- 1965; MEDLINE, 1966-.
SciVerse This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of the Elsevier publications in Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science, Earth Science, Energy, Engineering, Immunology & Microbiology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine & Dentistry, Neuroscience, Nursing, Pharmacology, Physics & Astronomy, and Veterinary Science. Also available: Arts & Humanities, Business, Economics, and Social Science. Coverage: varies--citations back to first year of publication; full text, subscribed titles, 1999-.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 6,500 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality. Over 1.3 million clinicians in 187 countries and nearly 90% of major academic medical centers in the United States rely on UpToDate to provide the best care. More than 80 research studies confirm widespread usage of UpToDate and the association of its use with improved patient care and hospital performance — including reduced length of stay, fewer adverse complications, and lower mortality.

Other Databases

Since health administration pulls from multiple disciplines, I am suggesting additional databases that you may find helpful.

Health and Wellness Resource Center (1980 - present) This link opens in a new window
Addresses topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes such reference sources as encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nurtrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, ect. The material contained in this database is intended for health consumers rather than health professionals.
ABI / INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global™ is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market, offering the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. It includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, most of them in full-text. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. ABI/INFORM Global includes ABI/INFORM Archive, which offers a deep backfile of many of the most important business journals of the last century. Coverage: 1971-.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 2,800 business publications. Sources include academic journals, trade publications, magazines, newspapers, industry and product reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, and more. Addresses all subject areas related to business. Coverage 1965-, or first published issue, some as far back as 1922.

Browse Journals

Selected Core Journals

The links below will take you to some core nursing journals.

BMC Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals published by the BioMed Central Research Service.

Health Administration

Get help at the Health Sciences Library

Health Administration Degree Program and Requirements

National Institutes of Health News Releases