Research Guides: City and Regional Planning: Statistics and Demographic Maps

Statistics & Demographic Maps

Find Statistics

Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
A centralized dissemination platform for data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. Content previously available through multiple websites and applications such as American FactFinder, OnTheMap, My Congressional District is now available through the Census Bureau’s Application Programming Interface (API). Use the single search bar or the advanced search feature to look for data on a variety of topics such as population, income, housing, or businesses by a geography such as state, county, or place. Build maps and toggle easily between maps and tables. Download tables as needed.
Data previously released on American FactFinder are now being released on the U.S. Census Bureau's new dissemination platform, data.census.gov. How-to information is provided here: https://www.census.gov/data/what-is-data-census-gov.html and more about the transition to data.census.gov at https://www.census.gov/data/academy/webinars/2019/transition-data-census.html

A United States Census Bureau resource

Open Access
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
From the classroom to the boardroom, thousands of organizations trust PolicyMap to find the right data for their research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. An invaluable repository of information, the site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000. More than a just data source, Social Explorer offers a high level of functionality and control. Users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations. The site is updated three times annually with new data - the 2010 US Census will be available shortly after its release - and new features will be continually added. A full and complete reference of historical census data, Social Explorer is an end-to-end solution that meets the needs of researchers and scholars without sacrificing ease of use for non-experts.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Easily access statistics and produce graphs for millions of statistics in business, entertainment, health, social sciences, and government.
Transtats This link opens in a new window
Statistics collected by the USDOT's Research & Innovative Technology Administration related to transportation in all forms: aviation, maritime, highways, transit, rail, pipelines, biking, pedestrian. Other subjects include: safety, infrastructure, demographics, energy, the environment, and national security with tables, related links, and glossaries provided for each subject.

Maps in McWherter Library

Cartographic Materials Guidelines

The library purchases maps, atlases, charts, and other cartographic material to be housed in three locations:

Map Collection (Government Documents): all physical formats are folded or rolled maps (serial charts, hydrographic charts, photomaps, remote sensing images, topographic prints) are collected; maps in series are not cataloged; atlases and other non-serial items are cataloged. U.S. Geological Survey map series (some of which are uncataloged): Antarctic Research Program; Coal Investigations; Geologic Quadrangle; geophysical Investigations; Hydrologic Unit; Hydrological Investigations; Oil and Gas Investigations; Tennessee; Geological Quadrangle; Topographic Quadrangle (Ala., Ark., Kty.,Mo., Tenn., and scattered other states); and Water Resources Investigations.
Special Collections: primarily maps of historical or regional interest, either flat or folded; maps are cataloged.
Main Library Reference Department: atlases of general interest to support the Reference Collection; all atlases are cataloged.

Government Publications

As the Federal Regional Depository Library for Tennessee, Government Publications receives and provides research help with all the publications, maps, and electronic data distributed by the Government Publishing Office. Government Publications is also a depository for Tennessee state documents.

Contact Government Publications:

Email: lib_govpub@memphis.edu
Phone: 901.678.4455

Special Collections

The Libraries Special Collections department houses books, manuscripts, oral histories, photographs, and other rare and special items pertaining to local and regional history. Call or visit the public service desk on the fourth floor of McWherter for assistance.

The Special Collections Department has over 1,000 maps. A portion of the maps are available through our online catalog and all maps can be found through the department’s map card catalog.

Contact Special Collections

Email: lib_sc@memphis.edu
Phone: 901.678.2210

Learning Commons

Atlases are available in the McWherter Learning Commons Reference Collection.