Historical Newspapers

Memphis Appeal (1857-1876), more forthcoming.

Excerpts only. This seems to be a digitized selected 'clippings file' meant to support research into the history of Birmingham.

Newspaper published by Avondale Mills (Birmingham) for its employees.

Also includes the Weekly Age (1888-1899) and the Pratt City Herald (1899-1901).

Jacksonville State University student newspaper.

Northeastern Alabama newspaper. Includes link to 143-page PDF file with an index of proper names found in the paper.

Weekly newspaper founded to cover the Civil Rights Movement. Complete run.

Searchable collection of roughly 50 regional Arizona newspapers.

Supplements Chronicling America by providing access to dates not yet available there.

Predecessor of the Prescott Journal Miner.

Access to digitized newspapers from Casa Grande city, which is located between Phoenix and Tucson. Originally a primarily rural and agricultural town, it is now a growing suburb.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Gila News-Courier was published by the inmates at the Gila River concentration camp, Arizona, from 1942 to 1945. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=130
The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

Student newspaper of Glendale Community College just outside Phoenix; originally called El Tiempo Pasando, and then renamed The College Voice. Each volume available as a PDF; download process is slow.

Only sporadic issues for the decades prior to the 1970s.

"Little Cowpuncher was the name of a mimeographed school newspaper, written and illustrated by Anglo and Mexican-American ranch children ... at five different rural schools in Southern Arizona where Eulalia Bourne was the teacher."

Bulk 1900-1908 and 1920-1970. Prescott is a town in the mountains about 90 miles north of Phoenix.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Poston Chronicle was published by the inmates at the Poston concentration camp, Arizona, from 1942 to 1945. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=134
The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

One of the oldest newspapers west of the Mississippi River.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Denson Tribune was published by the inmates at the Jerome concentration camp, Arkansas from 1942 to 1944. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=133
You'll see a log-in box, but you can just click on "Click to use Guest account."
The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

Gentry is located in northwestern Arkansas, about 10 miles from the Oklahoma border.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Rohwer Outpost was published by the inmates at the Rohwer concentration camp, Arkansas, from 1942 to 1945. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=132
The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

The Amador Ledger, San Francisco Call, Los Angeles Herald, Imperial Valley Press, and more. Scattered runs.

Includes Amador Ledger, California Star, Californian, Daily Alta California, Imperial Valley Press, Los Angeles Herald (1873-1910), Pacific Rural Press, Placer Times, Sacramento Daily Union, Sacramento Transcript, San Francisco Call (1890-1913), Sausalito News, more.

Amador County newspaper

Bakersfield is located about 100 miles north of Los Angeles. The Bakersfield Californian is the direct successor to the Kern County Californian and the Daily Californian. It is still in publication today, although only its first sixteen years are included here.

African-American newspaper published in Los Angeles. Scattered issues.

Student newspaper of Cal. State Northridge. A very small sampling of other newspapers from the San Fernando Valley is also included.

Chinese language newspaper published in San Francisco.

Various newspapers and publications from the city of Covina in Los Angeles County. Coverage is spotty after 1967.

San Francisco Paper

Student newspaper of East Los Angeles College.

"El Clamor Publico was the first Spanish-language newspaper in California after the American occupation. The initially moderate paper evolved into an activist tabloid and espoused strong political views generally in support of the Mexicanos. It was distributed as far north as San Francisco."

African American paper published in San Francisco.

Nevada county newspaper; eventually became simply The Union.

Lodi is a city located between Stockton and Sacramento in California's Central Valley..

Bilingual Spanish-English newspaper

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Manzanar Free Press was published by the inmates at the Manzanar concentration camp, California, from 1942 to 1944. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=113
The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

San Francisco's leading morning newspaper until 1913. 

Student newspaper of Lowell High School in San Francisco. A few issues are missing.

Student Newspaper of the California State University, Northridge. A number of years are missing from coverage.

Torrance Press and Torrance Herald. Torrance is located just south of Los Angeles.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Densho Archive contains selected issues of the Tulean Dispatch and other publications written by inmates of the Tule Lake concentration camp, California, between 1942 and 1943. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=109
The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

Includes the Whittier Register, the Whittier Daily News, and the Whittier News Whittier is located in Los Angeles County.

The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 500,000 digitized pages, representing over 140 individual newspaper titles published in 60 Colorado cities and 40 counties.

Consists mostly of the Estes Park Trail. Estes Park is located northwest of Denver and is almost adjacent to Rocky Mountain National Park.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Granada Pioneer was published by the inmates at the Granada concentration camp, Colorado, from 1942 to 1945. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=136
The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

Includes a dozen newspapers from cities like Hartford, Stafford, and New London. Most of the newspapers included are from the Civil War and the decades immediately preceding and following it.

Run does not include 1863, 1874, and 1885.

Not yet comprehensive.

Includes over 30 newspapers, including The DeSoto County News, The Champion (Arcadia), The Florida Agriculturalist (DeLand - An agricultural journal devoted to "state interests"), Gainesville Daily Sun, The New Enterprise (Madison), The Pensacola Journal, The Punta Gorda Herald, and many more.

Includes The Boca Raton News (1955-1970), The Pelican (1948-1953), The Weekly Tattler (1938), and more.

Bulk consists of the St. Cloud Tribune

St. Peterburg, FL newspaper. A few months of coverage are missing.

Extensive geographic and chronological coverage, but many of the papers represented have short runs.

African American newspaper

Student newspaper of Gulf Coast Community College.

Newspaper articles ABOUT Florida from a wide range of newspapers.

Lakeland is in central Florida, east of Tampa.

African American Newspaper

Clippings collection of Jewish newspapers. Titles from a variety of locations within and outside of Florida, including some international titles. Primarily English and Yiddish titles. Site indexing is unreliable.

Ocala is a city of 53,000 located in Marion County, about 100 miles northeast of Tampa and 75 miles northwest of Orlando.

The Palm Beach Post and Times (1916-1988); The Palm Beach Daily News (1912-1988); The Miami News/Miami Metropolis (1897-1988); The Tropical Sun (1897-1921); The Palm Beach Independent (1929).

Sarasota is a city of 53,000 located south of Tampa on Florida's Gulf Coast.

African-American Newspaper

Chattanooga Rebel, 1862-1865 and Memphis Daily Appeal, 1857-1876

Various newspapers from Dahlonega, in northern Georgia. Not searchable, incomplete runs.

Includes the Athenian, 1827-1832; Southern Banner, 1832-1882; Southern Watchman, 1855-1882; Daily/Weekly Banner-Watchman, 1882-1889; Daily/Weekly Athens Banner, 1889-1922.

Includes the Atlanta Daily Examiner, 1857; Atlanta Daily Herald, 1873-1876; Atlanta Georgian, 1906-1911; Atlanta Intelligencer, 1851 and 1854-1871; Atlantian, 1911-1922; Daily/Georgia Weekly Opinion, 1867-1868; Gate-City Guardian, 1861; Georgia Literary and Temperance Crusader, 1860-1861; New Era, 1869-1872; Southern Confederacy, 1861-1864; Southern Miscellany and Upper Georgia Whig, 1847; Southern World, 1882-1885; Sunny South, 1875-1907; and Weekly Constitution, 1869-1882.

Missing 1919 and 1920.

The first American Indian newspaper.

An African American newspaper based in Savannah. Coverage consists of only three issues from March and April, 1876.

A weekly newspaper until 1859, when it became daily. "During its earliest issues, the paper supported the ideological cause of state's rights, demonstrated by the quote used in its title banner: 'The Union of the States, and the Sovereignty of the States'...the Enquirer supported Whig politicians for office, including Henry Clay and Zachary Taylor. The paper began publishing on a daily basis in 1859. Two years later, the Enquirer was faced with the possibility of Southern secession, and broke with many other prominent newspapers of the time in calling for cooperation with the North, but quickly aligned itself with Georgia once secession became official."

A Civil War-era paper "published in the Country, on a Southern Plantation, and Devoted to the Editor's Opinions."

Dublin is in central Georgia, roughly halfway between Atlanta and Savannah.

The Great Speckled Bird was one of several underground newspapers that appeared in the United States in the 1960s. Published in Atlanta from 1968 to 1976, The Bird, as it was commonly known, stood out among the alternative press for the quality of its writing, its cover art and its fearless opinions and reporting on a range of topics--national and local politics, the counterculture, women's issues, gay liberation, reproductive choice, music, art.

"Georgia State University Library Southern Labor Archives is the only known repository outside of International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers Headquarters to have a complete run of the Machinists' Monthly Journal, the IAMAW's official journal published from 1889 to 1956, and The Machinist, a newspaper published from 1946 to 1994. Containing images and stories of American and Canadian workers, these publications document activities of the union and its local lodges for over a century. Ultimately, these journals provide a unique snapshot of the union and its members' changing roles in the workplace and society."

Macon, located in central Georgia, is the seventh most populous city in the state and has long been one of the largest outside of Atlanta.

School newspaper of Mercer University in Macon, GA.

Milledgeville, was the antebellum capital of Georgia from 1804 until the late 1860s. Titles include: Federal Union, 1830-1872; Future Citizen, 1914-1916; Georgia Argus, 1810-1815; Georgia Journal, 1809-1845; Milledgeville Intelligencer, 1808; Milledgeville News, 1909-1922; Reflector, 1817-1819; Southern Recorder, 1820-1872; Southron, 1828; Standard of Union, 1836-1841; Union Recorder, 1872-1920.

Searchable issues of the student newspaper of the University of Georgia, located in Athens.

Daily newspaper from Georgia’s 19th-largest city.

Includes newspapers from Albany, Americus, Thomasville, and Valdosta.

"Rabbi H. Cerf Straus established the Southern Israelite as a temple bulletin in Augusta in 1925. The publication was so popular, he expanded it into a monthly newspaper. Later in the decade, Straus sold the paper to Herman Dessauer and Sara B. Simmons, who moved the paper to Atlanta, where it began circulating state-wide and eventually throughout the South."

Satirical newspaper from graduating students of the University of Georgia from the late nineteenth century to the early twentieth. 
System requirements: To view the PDF files you will need Adobe Reader 7.0 or higher. The files are readable in Adobe Reader 6, but they do not display properly. The DjVu files require a DjVu browser plug-in or a stand alone viewer.

Includes the Honolulu Daily Herald, The Daily Independent, the Hawaiian Gazette, and fifteen others.

16 Hawaiian language newspapers online. Mixed quality of scans. Partial runs.

A collection of Hawaiian-language newspapers. Also includes a few editions of the English-language Honolulu Times (1849) and The Liberal (1893), as well as a few later editions of the Hawaiian-language Ke Alahou (1979- 80.)

Over 40 Hawaiian and English language newspapers. Mixed quality of scans. Partial runs.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Minidoka Irrigator was published by the inmates at the Minidoka concentration camp, Idaho, from 1942 to 1945. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=108
The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

Newspaper of this traditionally Mormon town.

Includes: The Sun (1859-1916), the Evening World (1887-1922) and the New-York Tribune (1841-1922).

Albany Student Press and its predecessors

Collection of publications covering Vaudeville
New York Clipper (1853-1924)
The Player (1911-1913)
Vaudeville News (1920-1929)

German-Jewish emigre journal.

Bethpage is located on Long Island. Select a year to search content within that year.

Extensive national and international coverage. At one point the country's most widely read afternoon daily.

"The Buffalo Criterion is the oldest continuously published African American newspaper in Western New York. The newspaper was founded in 1925 by Frank E. Merriweather, Sr., and his wife, Camilla Merriweather, and it is still published by the Merriweather family. The Buffalo Criterion has been a major voice in recording the history of African Americans with a focus on Buffalo and the Western New York area. This collection can be searched by keyword and date, with available issues spanning from 1952 to 1989."

Mark Twain (Samuel L. Clemens) co-owned and co-edited The Buffalo Express from August 1869 to March 1871. During that period, he contributed sixty feature stories, thirty-one editorials, and thirty brief entries in a "People and Things" column.

Newspapers published in Westfield, New York.

Cornell University undergraduate newspaper.

Includes The Observer, Farmingdale Observer, The Farmingdale Post. Missing some years. Select the paper and the year to search within that content.

The Fifth Freedom was a periodic free newspaper of the Mattachine Society of the Niagara Frontier, Western New York's most prominent early gay rights organization. In being the official written mouthpiece of the region's first systematic gay rights organization, The Fifth Freedom expresses the earliest codified and widely distributed literature of the gay community within the region.

Abolitionist paper published in Rochester, earlier called The North Star. This is a page of links to transcribed articles. Not searchable. The entire March 18, 1853 issue is available here: http://utc.iath.virginia.edu/interpret/fdpaper/fdpagesf.html

All 103 issues available as full-text PDFs. The first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States, Freedom's Journal was published weekly in New York City.

This online archive contains 281 issues, which is close to the complete run. The Friend of Man was "one of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements," and was published in central New York.

Student newspaper of Canisius College.

Newburgh Telegraph (1831-1835), Rockland County Journal (1850-1879), Rockland County Messenger (1848, 1851-1855, 1857-1860), Rockland County Times (1902-1904), The Kingston Daily Freeman (1895, 1903-1912), and three publications from Vassar College: The Vassar Miscellany Weekly (1872-1915), Vassar Chronicle (1944-1978), and Vassar Spectator (1983-1993).

Student newspaper of Ithaca College.

Kingston is New York's Hudson River Valley, between Poughkeepsie and Albany.

New York City newspaper, the content of which "reflected [William Lyon] Mackenzie's views entirely and was extremely reform minded to the point that it advocated revolution against the ruling system of government."

Includes The Leader, Freeport News, Nassau Post, and others. Select the paper from the homepage to search within that paper. Freeport is located on Long Island. Date ranges vary by paper.

Influential African-American newspaper which ran from 1887- 1953. Staff writers included Ida B. Wells-Barnett and W.E.B. DuBois.

Influential African-American newspaper which ran from 1887- 1953). Staff writers included Ida B. Wells-Barnett and W.E.B DuBois. Issues available as non-searchable PDFs.

The New York Daily Tribune was renamed the New York Tribune in 1866.

Famously sensational newspaper published by Joseph Pulitzer and perhaps best know for its 'yellow journalism.'

The nation's first successful penny daily, and the New York City circulation leader for several decades in the 19th century. By 1900 it was less important than several other city papers but still influential. Continued in next link.

Includes vol. 83, no. 335 (July 31, 1916) through vol. 87, no. 153 (Jan. 31, 1920).

Continuation of the New York Daily Tribune.

Includes over 50 papers from Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Jefferson, Lewis, Oswego and St. Lawrence counties in the Adirondack region of northern New York State.

The search interface supports complex searching. To search a specific newspaper start your search with the title in quotes "Syracuse NY Post Standard." Use this format to limit by date: 1904~~1920. Connect information with 'and.' For example: "Syracuse NY Post Standard" and 1904~~1920 and canal. A listing of all newspapers that provides date browsing is available here Includes New York city papers: Tribune (1841-1922), Sun (1843-1945), Spectator (1797-1845), Evening Telegram (1868-1924), Evening Post (1810-1920), New York Age (1906-1953), Spirit of the Times (1838-1890), World (1862-1901) more.

Newspaper published in Mahopac, which is located near Danbury, Connecticut.

Student newspaper of Farmingdale State College on Long Island. Some issues are missing. Includes a few scattered issues from between 2001 and 2010.

This collection of newspapers from Rochester and surrounding Monroe County includes the Liberal Advocate, The Rights of Man, The Monroe Democrat, Soldiers Aid and 20 other antebellum and Civil War era newspapers.

Arcadian Weekly Gazette (April 1889 - March 1906)
Brockport Republic (1854-1927)
Catholic Courier (1889 - 2004)
Fairport Herald (February 1873 - March 1889, April 1890 - April 1925)
Fairport Herald-Mail (May-December 1925)
Fairport-Perinton Herald-Mail (1980 - 1992)
Geneva Advertiser (1841 - 1842, 1880 - 1914)
Geneva Courier (1831 - 1903)
Geneva Daily Times (May 1895 - May 1902)
Geneva Expositor (1806 - 1809)
Geneva Gazette (1809 - 1839, 1846 - July 1901)
Geneva Palladium (1821 - 1828)
Marion Enterprise (September 1880 - December 1923)
Monroe County Mail (1885 - 1893, 1896 - 1979)
Newark Courier (December 1870 - 1886, 1889 - June 1916, 1917 - 1922)
Newark Gazette (August 1906 - March 1908)
Newark Union (August 1872 - December 1891)
Newark Union-Gazette (April 1908 - December 1908, April 1909 - 1912, 1915 - 1922)
Ontario Repository (April 1809 - March 1826)
Ontario Repository and Freeman (December 1836 - June 18

The student newspaper of SUNY-Buffalo.

Stony Brook University student newspapers and other campus publications.

Historic newspapers from the eastern three-quarters of Long Island, New York. Includes the Babylon Beacon (1967-1972), The Corrector (Sag Harbor, 1822-1911), The Long Islander (Huntington, 1839-1974), The Patchogue Advance (1926-1961), and eight others.

One of the original "alternative newsweeklies," the Voice featured local news and coverage of art, culture, and entertainment in lower Manhattan and throughout New York.

Collection of over 50 North Carolina newspapers. Includes the Fayetteville Observer (1851-1865), The Pilot (Southern Pines, 1929-1943), Mecklenburg Jeffersonian (Charlotte, 1841-1849), Black Ink (Black Student Movement, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1969-2001), The Charlotte Jewish News (1979-2000, 2009, 2011), and student papers from Bennett College, Elon University, Louisburg College, UNC-Wilmington, and Fayetteville State University, among others. 

Collection of North Carolina newspapers, featuring The Wilmington Post Boy (1756-1766), Carolina (Salisbury) Watchman (1832- 1898), and other mainly 18th century newspapers from Edenton, Fayetteville, Hillsboro, New Bern, Salisbury and Wilmington.

Student newspaper of Davidson College, which is located near Charlotte.

Student newspaper of Historically African American college

African american student movement, UNC-Chapel Hill

The Carolina Times was founded as The Standard Advertiser in 1921 by Charles Arrant, who died in 1922. In 1927 Louis E. Austin, originally from Enfield, North Carolina, purchased the paper and renamed it The Carolina Times. He transformed the paper into the most important voice for black North Carolinians during the 1930s.

Student newspaper of historically African American university.

Historically African American college.

Historically African American college.

Historically African American University.

Historically african american college.

Thus far contains newspapers published in Bismarck.

Weekly newspaper. Incomplete run. Billings County is located at the western edge of North Dakota.

First known newspaper published in North Dakota Territory. Eighteen issues available as image files.

Includes the Cleveland Morning Leader, Anti-Slavery Bugle, and more than 40 other newspapers from across the state.

Selected articles from a number of African American newspapers published in Ohio.

Amherst is located just west of Cleveland.

Bryan is a small town in far northwest Ohio, about halfway between Toledo and Ft. Wayne, Indiana. Includes 19th-century predecessors like the Bryan Press and the Bryan Democrat.

African American newspaper.

"Ohio's Leading Race Paper." This Republican weekly paper concentrated on local and national news of interest to African Americans. Predominant topics included race riots, lynching and discrimination. But social and church news of Cleveland and other Ohio cities were also reported.

African American newspaper.

African American newspaper.

Clippings collection. Not browse-able or searchable by date, but newspaper articles do appear in the results along with photographs.

African American newspaper.

Student newspaper of Youngstown State University.

Collection features the Norwalk Reflector (1862-1863, 1997-2005) and other papers from Norwalk and Huron County, including the Huron Reflector (1830-1853), Norwalk Experiment (1841-1844), and the Norwalk Reporter & Huron Advertiser (1827-1830).

African American Newspaper

African American Newspaper

African American Newspaper

The newspaper of the Western College for Women.

Edgecliff College was a Catholic women's college in Cincinnati. In 1980, it merged with Xavier University, a Catholic men's college in Cincinnati to form the current co-ed Xavier University.

Official Organ of the Socialist Parties of Ohio and Kentucky, West Virginia and New Mexico

Beaver Herald, Branding Iron, Cheyenne Transporter, Farmers' Champion, The Indian Advocate, The Indian Chieftain, Oklahoma Miner, etc.

African American newspaper.

Downloadable PDFs. McAlester, located 90 miles south of Tulsa and 120 miles southeast of Oklahoma City, is a major trade center for Southeast Oklahoma and is one of the state's oldest communities. Unique attractions include the beautiful, historic McAlester Scottish Rite Masonic Temple and the Oklahoma State Penitentiary Museum, which chronicles famous inmates, early chain gangs and prison escapes. The nearby town of Krebs is known as Oklahoma's Little Italy and is famous for its cuisine. 

African American Newspaper

Weekly African-American newspaper from Guthrie, Oklahoma that includes local, territorial, and national news along with advertising.

Weekly African-American newspaper from Guthrie, Oklahoma that includes local, state, and national news along with advertising.

Also known as the Tulsa Daily Star, the paper championed African-American causes, promoting progress and stability within Tulsa’s black community until its dramatic and untimely demise following the race riot of May 31, 1921.

Includes the Morning Oregonian, Daily Astorian, Coos Bay Times, Bend Bulletin, and over 40 other titles.

The Evening Herald (Klamath Falls), Sumpter Miner, Daily Capital Journal (Salem), many more.

Clippings collection. According to the website, "the newspaper articles were collected and organized in the late 1930's by dedicated historians working for the Works Progress Administration."

African American newspaper.

Includes The Scranton Tribune (1897-1902), the Philadelphia Evening Public Ledger (1914-1922), and many more.

Browsable by date but not searchable, this repository includes newspapers from small cities in Pennsylvania: Ambler, Nazareth, New Holland, Marietta, Mansfield, etc. Search by collection or do a keyword search for newspaper to see which newspapers are available.

Adams County, of which Gettysburg is the seat, is located in south-central Pennsylvania along the border with Maryland.

Student newspaper of the University of Scranton.

Philadelphia tri-weekly newspaper. Some issues missing.

Beaver County is northwest of Pittsburgh.

Published in Philadelphia

Primarily consists of Chester newspapers.

Republican Newspaper. Excerpts.

Student newspaper of Gettysburg University.

Collection contains a number of newspapers covering Tioga, Bradford and Wellsboro.

Newspapers of Greenville and the surrounding area in Mercer county.

16 newspapers of Smethport and the surrounding area in McKean County.

Includes the Anti-Masonic Huntingdon Journal/Huntingdon Journal American and the Huntingdon Gazette

A "weekly newspaper dedicated to Irish nationalism and to topics of interest to Irish-Americans. It was founded by Joseph McGarrity and published in Philadelphia from March 23, 1918 to May 6, 1922."

Student newspaper of Lafayette College.

Franklin and Marshall College Reporter (1915-2001), Lancaster Journal (1816-1836), Lancaster Intelligencer (1847-1871), Columbia Spy (1830-1889), New Holland Criterion (1873- 1950). 

An important agricultural publication.

Student newspaper of Lincoln University

Student newspapers of of Lycoming College.

The leading Jewish publication in the United States during this period.

Newspaper published by the Narberth Civic Association. Narberth is located just outside Philadelphia.

The Daily Collegian (and predecessors), as well as the Behrend Beacon and Hazleton Highacres and others.

Includes three Philadelphia papers (Press, 1857-64; American Presbyterian, 1860-1869; Daily Evening Bulletin 1864-1870) and the newspapers of Bellefonte, Chambersburg, Columbia, Erie, Gettysburg, Huntingdon, Reading, Waynesboro and Wellsboro.

In the 1890s the Philadelphia Record was the most widely circulated Philadelphia newspaper and was nationally known for its quality.

Browsable PDF files.

Includes The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).

Choose “Pittsburgh Post-Gazette” as the source to limit your search to this paper.

Gettyburg newspaper.

Collection contains a number of newspapers covering McKean County, including the McKean County Miner.

Scattered runs of multiple newspapers. Collection of mainly small town newspapers in Pennsylvania. 

Franklin County Democratic newspaper. Excerpts.

Student newspaper of Villanova University.

Scattered run in later years.

Student newspaper of Brown University in Providence. Several gaps in run.

Incomplete run.

Includes the Columbia Phoenix, Charleston Advocate, and many more.

African American newspaper

Loris is a small town in the far northeastern part of the state, near the North Carolina border.

African American Newspaper

African American Newspaper

African American newspaper

African American Newspaper

African American newspaper

African American newspaper

Civil War era paper documenting the South Carolina low country, based first in Port Royal and later in Beaufort.

African American Newspaper

African American Newspaper

African American newspaper

Georgetown American, The Georgetown Enquirer, the Georgetown Times, The Georgetown Semi-Weekly Times, the Georgetown Union, The Pee Dee Times, the South Carolinan, True Republican, The Times and Comet, The Winyah Intelligencer and the Winyah Observer.

Jefferson Jimplecute, Jewish Herald (Houston), Palestine Daily Herald, Fort Worth Daily Gazette, The Daily Herald (Brownsville), Dallas Express (African-American Newspaper).

Includes the Abilene Daily Reporter, Abilene Reporter, Abilene Semi-Weekly Farm Reporter, and the Abilene Semi-Weekly Reporter.

Bonham is located northeast of Dallas. Daily paper. Incomplete run.

African American newspaper.

African American newspaper

Student newspapers of Trinity College.

"Dedicated to the Service of the People and the Institutions of Carthage and Panola County." Panola County is on the Louisiana border in eastern Texas, about halfway between Texarkana and Nacogdoches.

Large collection of Texas historical newspapers. Includes Breckenridge American, The Bastrop Advertiser, The Optimist, El Paso Morning Times, and about fifty more titles. Languages include English, Spanish, German, Swedish, and Chinese. Use the panel on the left to limit your search by title, county, language, or collection. Date ranges vary among titles. Also includes a few issues of the Baltimore, MD Weekly Register that relate to Texas history.

Southern Methodist University is located in Dallas.

Abilene is the primary urban center in Taylor County.

Scattered runs of multiple newspapers primarily located in McKinney, which is just north of Dallas.

Archives of The Mirage & The Trinitonian. Trinity University is located in San Antonio.

Colorado County straddles Interstate 10 between Houston and San Antonio; Weimar is a town near the western edge of the county.

Wichita County is in northern Texas, along the Oklahoma border.

Choose "Newspapers" at the right under Collections by Format. Features 11 newspapers, including the Daily Enquirer (Jan. 1881 - Oct. 1892, with over 1,100 items), the Rigby Star Newspaper (Jan. 1906 - Dec. 1975, with over 2,200 items), the Women's Exponent (1860-1914, with over 700 items), and the 19th Century Mormon Article Newspaper Index (from various newspapers, with over 9,000 items).

Primarily supplements the Utah Digital Newspaper Project 

Over 70 newspapers (including the Deseret News) from 27 of Utah's 29 counties. 

Includes The Box Elder News (1904- 1926), Corinne Daily Reporter (1871- 1873), The Logan Historical Newspaper Collection ((1879- 1892) and (1893- 1898)), and Morgan County News (1904- 1954). Use the check boxes on the left to search one or more of these collections.

African American paper advocating for racial equality, religious tolerance, Free Silver (and, later William Jennings Bryan). Moved from Salt Lake City to Chicago in 1899.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Topaz Times was published by the inmates at the Topaz concentration camp, Utah, from 1942 to 1945. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=131
The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

Newspaper of Brigham City in Box Elder County

Daily Territorial Enterprise, Goodsprings Gazette, Henderson Home News, Reese River Reveille, Wadsworth Dispatch, White Pine News, Virginia Evening Chronicle, Virginia Evening Bulletin, The Free Press, various date ranges.

Includes The Big Job and the Basic Bombardier. Provides insight into the importance of magnesium production during WWII.

Incomplete run.

Includes: Atlantic Journal (1860); Hammonton Farmer (1863; 1866); South Jersey Republican (1863-1923); Atlantic Democrat and Cape May County Register (1864-1865); Atlantic Democrat and Cumberland County Patriot (1866); Atlantic Democrat (1866; 1867-1868); Hammonton Item (1872-1877); Mays Landing Record (1877-1906); Atlantic County Record (1908-1917); and South Jersey Star (1917-1923).

Bi-weekly paper published in Matawan. Click "search within archive" and select "The Independent" from the drop-down menu to search within the publication.

Bordentown Register-News and its previous incarnations.

Weekly paper. Keyword-searchable.

Includes several incarnations of the Cranford Chronicle. Also includes Cranford directories and high school yearbooks.

Includes the Record, the News, and the News-Record.

Weekly paper. Some years are missing or incomplete. Some variation in print quality. Click "search for content" to do a keyword search of the entire archive or within selected 25 year time ranges.

"The Budget ... of 1886 is an extremely rare 'Milburn' newspaper. The bound volume in the collection of the historical society is so extremely fragile that it cannot safely be handled by visitors to the museum. This digitized version, then, is a rare look at a newspaper that is not even in the state archives of NJ newspapers." Each bi-weekly edition is available as a PDF. The newspaper as a whole is not searchable.

Montclair State University student newspaper. Incomplete run, most included issues are from 1962 and later.

Includes both the New Brunswick Daily Times and the New Brunswick Home News.

Burlington, NJ newspaper.

Includes Chronicle, the Sunday Chronicle, Il Messaggero (in Italian,) and The Messenger. Date ranges vary.

PD Review and Piscataway Chronicle. Click on "Search the Archive" on the right-hand side under "Search Local Paper Archive" to do a keyword search. You can also type a year (or a month and a year) into the search box to browse papers for that time period (although the results won't display in chronological order).

Newspapers included in this collection are: New Jersey Advocate, Rahway Daily Record, Rahway News Herald, Rahway News Record, Rahway Progress, The National Democrat, The Rahway Advocate, The Rahway Realty, The Rahway Record, The Weekly Advocate and Times. Incomplete runs. Date range and print quality vary by paper.

Known as the Daily Register from 1964-1991.

Includes The Iron Era (1872-1905) and The Rockaway Record (1890-1936).

The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper among the Deaf community in the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century. Originally known as the Deaf Mute Times, it was first published in February 1888 and renamed The Silent Worker on September 27 of the same year. The New Jersey School for the Deaf continued its publication monthly, except for July, August, and periodically September until it ceased in June 1929. Deaf American authors wrote almost all articles, although occasional contributions by deaf individuals from other countries were also printed.

Some issues are missing.

"Princeton's Weekly Community Newspaper Since 1946." Keyword searchable. Advanced search also available. The archive isn't browsable, but once you click through to a result, you can click again in the upper left-hand corner to view the whole issue.

Includes the Carteret Press (1925-1965), Fords Beacon (1936-1961), Independent Leader (1940-1965), Leader Press (1967-1970), The Independent Hour (1876-1877), The Weekly Register (1898-1902), Woodbridge Leader (1927-1928), Woodbridge News (1899-1902), Woodbridge Independent (1919-1938), and the Woodbridge Leader (1926-1939).

Alexandria Gazette, Richmond Dispatch, Richmond Planet, more.

University of Richmond student newspaper.

Only partially searchable. Student newspaper of the College of William and Mary.

Fredericksburg, Virginia newspaper.

Radford University student newspaper. Partially indexed but not searchable.

Partially transcribed articles from the Richmond Planet and Charlottesville Reflector.

African-American newspaper published in Charlottesville. Links to transcriptions of selected articles.

52 issues.

Considered non-partisan, this was the most widely read newspaper in Richmond during the Civil War.

African American Newspaper. The Planet covered local, national, and international news, especially focusing on segregation, the depredations of the Ku Klux Klan, voting rights, and the scourge of lynching.

Text-only collection of articles.

Whig newspaper in Augusta County. Excerpts.

Democratic newspaper in Augusta County. Excerpts.

Richmond newspaper. Includes links to predecessors the Daily Dispatch (1850-1884) and the Richmond Dispatch (1884-1903).

African American Newspaper published in Hampton Virginia.

Augusta County newspaper. Excerpts.

Williamsburg, Virginia newspaper.

Publication of the Hampton Normal and Agricultural Institute, founded for the education of African American youth.

Includes: The Colored American (African American Newspaper), The Evening Times, The Hatchet, The National Forum, The Suburban Citizen, The Sunday Globe, Sunday Morning Globe, Sunday Washington Globe, The Washington Bee, The Washington Herald, Washington Sentinel, Washington Times, Washington Weekly Post, The Weekly News (Anacostia), and the Alexandria Gazette. 

One of the five DC-area hospital newspapers published during the Civil War.

William C. Chase, a lawyer, local politician, businessman, and native Washingtonian took over as the paper’s principal editor by the end of the first year of publication, and his superb editorial skills eventually turned the Bee into one of the most influential African American newspapers in the country.

The weekly publication promoted itself as a national Negro newspaper and it carried lengthy feature stories on the achievements of African Americans across the country.

Student newspaper of Georgetown University

African American newspaper.

The four-page African-American weekly covered such local events as Howard University graduations and Baptist church activities, but its pages also included national news, sports, home maintenance, women's news, science, editorial cartoons, and reprinted stories from national newspapers.

Founded as a newspaper for Civil War veterans and their families.

Paper published by the U.S. Army for its forces in France.

African American newspaper. Incomplete run.

The Washington Bee focused much of its attention on the activities of the city’s African Americans, and its society page paid special attention to events at local black churches. The paper also covered national issues; by the turn of the 20th century it was publishing articles about events across the country by its own correspondents as well as from wire services.

Publication of the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers

Arlington, WA is just north of Seattle.

African American newspaper

African American newspaper

African American Newspaper

Ellensburg is a city of about 18,000 in central Washington.

Clippings collection. According to the website, "the newspaper articles were collected and organized in the late 1930's by dedicated historians working for the Works Progress Administration. "

Port Townsend has a population of roughly 8,000 people and is on the northern coast of the Olympic Peninsula.

African American Newspaper

The Seattle Republican was Seattle's first truly successful African American newspaper. Out of seven black newspapers to appear in the city between 1891 and 1901, it alone survived into the early 20th century.

“The most comprehensive news source for Spokane and the Inland Northwest."

From the Walla Walla Army Air Base.

Newspapers from Seattle, Olympia, Spokane, Walla Walla, Yakima, and more.

Pacific Fisherman is a fishing industry journal published from 1903 to 1966. It is one of the most important publications for information about West Coast fisheries in the 20th century.

See Wikipedia for information about this title: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milwaukee_Journal_Sentinel

See Wikipedia for information about this title: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milwaukee_Journal_Sentinel

Over 16,000 articles about biographical and local subjects excerpted from several hundred newspapers.

According to this website, all newspapers printed in Wyoming between 1849 and 1922 are available here.

This links to the search interface for the Densho Digital Archive of the Japanese-American experience. The Heart Mountain Sentinel was published by the inmates at the Heart Mountain concentration camp, Wyoming, from 1942 to 1944. For a non-searchable list of PDF's, click here: http://archive.densho.org/Core/DAObjectsByCollection.aspx?id=106
The Densho Digital Archive holds more than 700 visual histories (more than 1,400 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 12,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.