Research Guides: Anthropology: Linguistics + Anthropology

Suggested databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR database consists of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in all disciplines. Coverage: varies--going back to first year of publication and coming up to 3-5 years ago. See the Project Muse database for scholarly articles from within the past 3-5 years.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of more than 200 scholarly journals in many disciplines, including: African studies, anthropology, education, history, music, literature, philosophy, psychology, sociology, and more. Coverage: varies, typically the past 3-5 years.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Citations to and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in psychology, plus psychological aspects in related disciplines (medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law). Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1632-present.

Advanced Search Strategies: PsychInfo from University Libraries on Vimeo.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals in addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, communications & mass media, community health & medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning & public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology, and urban studies. Coverage: citations & abstracts, 1983- ; full text, 1995-.

The First World War: Personal Experiences

Topics and Resources for Linguistics + Anthropology

Linguistics has 2 main branches:

Theoretical linguistics -- which includes syntax, phonology, morphology, and semantics
Applied linguistics --which involves identifying, investigating, and offering solutions to language-related real-life problems

There are a wealth of subfields related to linguisics, including:

sociolinguistics (study of the effect of any and all aspects of society, including cultural norms, expectations, and context, on the way language is used, and the effects of language use on society)
forensic linguistics (the application of linguistic knowledge, methods and insights to theforensic context of law, language, crime investigation, trial, and judicial procedure; a branch of applied linguistics)
dialectology (The scientific study of linguistic dialect, a sub-field of sociolinguistics; studies variations in language based primarily on geographic distribution and their associated features)
etymology (the study of the history of words, their origins, and how their form and meaning have changed over time)
neurolinguistics (the study of the neural mechanisms in the human brain that control the comprehension, production, and acquisition of language; as an interdisciplinary field, it involves neurobiology, cognitive science, communication disorders, neuropsychology and more)

And...Linguistics can be fun:

A Walk in the WoRds: A linguistic tour for people who love having fun with words and language. A place to share interesting linguistic observations regarding sound, meaning and structure. A place to share linguistic rants and raves. A place to walk in the words

Linguistics Games

Linguistics Trivia

Crossword Puzzle: Readings in Linguistics

Linguistics Challenge Puzzles