Social Work

PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-IV-TR®, DSM-5, DSM-IV-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Cases From DSM-IV-TR® Casebook and Its Treatment Companion, and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing. See video introduction at http://www.appi.org/eContent/Pages/PsychiatryOnlineDemo.aspx

Provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling--over 500 hours and more than 500 videos. Videos include counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, and interviews. Many videos include supplementary materials for classroom use, and continuing education credits are available for a number of titles.

Video introductions to basic research methods and related concepts.

Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 900 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.

Citations to and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in psychology, plus psychological aspects in related disciplines (medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law). Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1632-present.

CINAHL Complete covers nursing, allied health, biomedical and consumer health journals, publications of the American Nursing Association, and the National League for Nursing. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and proceedings. Full text is included for nursing journals, newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.

Provides MEDLINE access, along with OLDMEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE (citations in-process), and citations outside the scope of MEDLINE provided by journal publishers. Interconnects with other NCBI databases and resources. Articles from many medical journals are free after a 6-12 month embargo. Linkouts to fulltext provided at publishers' discretion. Coverage: OLDMEDLINE, 1950- 1965; MEDLINE, 1966-.

Scopus provides abstracts and citation tracking of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. It features tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Researchers who use Web of Science will find Scopus indexes the same fields but with broader coverage. Users needing the Scopus ID" (for example, to use the "Papers by mekentosj" citation software), please use C000040240."

EBSCO Discovery Service provides users with an easy, yet powerful means of accessing all of an institution's information resources through a single search. This is achieved by harvesting metadata from both internal (library) and external (database vendors) sources, and creating a pre-indexed service of unprecedented size and speed. (All federated databases are listed individually in Databases Search as well.)

Indexes a wide variety of journals, dissertations, and government reports in many social sciences fields, including political science, human environment studies, sociology, criminology, women's studies, law, public affairs, and more.

NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

SAGE Premier provides access to 650 SAGE journal titles in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine with backfile to 1999.

Sociology Source Ultimate is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,100,000 records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Contains abstracts for more than 1,260 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included, and searchable cited references are provided. Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that includes access to journal articles , eBooks, and reference sources. The University of Memphis Libraries has full-text, subscriber access to journal titles and eBooks which display an unlocked symbol for the applicable years. The database also includes abstracts of additional journal articles and reference sources, summary information for online books, and citations to Current Protocols laboratory manuals. WHEN SEARCHING LOOK FOR THE SYMBOL OF THE OPEN PADLOCK TO IDENTIFY CONTENT WE CAN ACCESS. For those journals with abstract-only access, you may place an article request through Interlibrary Loan.

Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.

A centralized dissemination platform for data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. Content previously available through multiple websites and applications such as American FactFinder, OnTheMap, My Congressional District is now available through the Census Bureau’s Application Programming Interface (API). Use the single search bar or the advanced search feature to look for data on a variety of topics such as population, income, housing, or businesses by a geography such as state, county, or place. Build maps and toggle easily between maps and tables. Download tables as needed.

Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. An invaluable repository of information, the site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000. More than a just data source, Social Explorer offers a high level of functionality and control. Users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations. The site is updated three times annually with new data - the 2010 US Census will be available shortly after its release - and new features will be continually added. A full and complete reference of historical census data, Social Explorer is an end-to-end solution that meets the needs of researchers and scholars without sacrificing ease of use for non-experts.

Easily access statistics and produce graphs for millions of statistics in business, entertainment, health, social sciences, and government.

Includes citations and full-text files of dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Citations and abstracts of dissertations submitted by The U of M and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts database. 24 page previews of U of M dissertations published after 1996 with free downloads in fulltext. (For references to older material, use Dissertation Abstracts or WorldCat Dissertations and Theses.) Coverage: 1996-present.

UofM repository for theses and dissertations 2010-present.

Indexes all cataloged dissertations, theses and published material based on theses and dissertations to the present.