Research Guides: Qualitative Research: Select Books & eBooks

Books & eBooks

Qualitative Research Books & eBooks

Searching Books and eBooks

There are two ways to search our book collections. First, use the search box in the Search Almost Everything section below. After your search, limit your results to books by going to the Refine Results column. In that column, find the Filter by Format heading and then check the boxes by Books and eBooks. You may need to click Show More to see all options.

Subject Headings

All books in the library are given subject headings. These words describe the topic of the book, and books with the same subject headings are going to be about similar topics. If you can find one book on your topics, look at its subject headings and use those to identify new search words. Some of the examples in the Books by Topic section might help you identify subject headings.

You can also browse through subject headings below.

Search Almost Everything

The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research

The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by Patricia Leavy
ISBN: 0190847395
Publication Date: 2020
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research, second edition, presents a comprehensive retrospective and prospective review of the field of qualitative research. Original, accessible chapters written by interdisciplinary leaders in the field make this a critical reference work. Filled with robust examples from real-world research; ample discussion of the historical, theoretical, and methodological foundations of the field; and coverage of key issues including data collection, interpretation, representation, assessment, and teaching, this handbook aims to be a valuable text for students, professors, and researchers. This newly revised and expanded edition features up-to-date examples and topics, including seven new chapters on duoethnography, team research, writing ethnographically, creative approaches to writing, writing for performance, writing for the public, and teaching qualitative research.

Books & eBooks

The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by Norman K. Denzin (Editor); Yvonna S. Lincoln (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412974172
Publication Date: 2011-04-27
Presenting the state of the art for the theory and practice of qualitative inquiry, this landmark Handbook has been a publishing phenomenon in the human sciences since it first released in 1994. As with earlier editions, the Fourth Edition is virtually a new volume. Representing the best thinking from top scholars from around the world, the new edition continues the book′s tradition of synthesizing an existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The editors and contributors address issues of social justice and examine how people′s struggles can inform public issues and in turn be transformed into social policy. Their writings are underpinned by a critical framework, and they are committed to addressing inequalities. As with previous editions, their aim is to show how the practices of qualitative research can effect change in the world in positive ways. The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research is an absolutely essential reference for any scholar interested in the art, science, and practice of qualitative research, as well as a critical resource for all academic and public libraries.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by Norman K. Denzin (Editor); Yvonna S. Lincoln (Editor)
ISBN: 9781483349800
Publication Date: 2017-02-15
The substantially updated and revised Fifth Edition of this landmark handbook presents the state-of-the-art theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Representing top scholars from around the world, the editors and contributors continue the tradition of synthesizing existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The Fifth Edition contains 19 new chapters, with 16 revised--making it virtually a new volume--while retaining six classic chapters from previous editions. New contributors to this edition include Jamel K. Donnor and Gloria Ladson-Billings; Margaret Kovach; Paula Saukko; Bryant Keith Alexander; Thomas A. Schwandt and Emily F. Gates; Johnny Saldaña; Uwe Flick; Mirka Koro-Ljungberg, Maggie MacLure, and Jasmine Ulmer; Maria Elena Torre, Brett G. Stoudt, Einat Manoff, and Michelle Fine; Jack Bratich; Svend Brinkmann; Eric Margolis and Renu Zunjarwad; Annette N. Markham; Alecia Y. Jackson and Lisa A. Mazzei; Jonathan Wyatt, Ken Gale, Susanne Gannon, and Bronwyn Davies; Janice Morse; Peter Dahler-Larsen; Marc Spooner; and David A. Westbrook.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by Norman K. Denzin (Editor); Yvonna S. Lincoln (Editor)
ISBN: 0761927573
Publication Date: 2005-04-08
An text for any researcher interested in the art, science and practice of qualitative research.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research by Ivy Bourgeault (Editor); Robert Dingwall (Editor); Ray de Vries (Editor)
ISBN: 9781446270431
Publication Date: 2013-06-21
The Sage Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research is a comprehensive and authoritative source on qualitative research methods. The Handbook compiles accessible yet vigorous academic contributions by respected academics from the fast-growing field of qualitative methods in health research and consists of: - A series of case studies in the ways in which qualitative methods have contributed to the development of thinking in fields relevant to policy and practice in health care. - A section examining the main theoretical sources drawn on by qualitative researchers. - A section on specific techniques for the collection of data. - A section exploring issues relevant to the strategic place of qualitative research in health care environments. The Sage Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research is an invaluable source of reference for all students, researchers and practitioners with a background in the health professions or health sciences.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Analysis by Uwe Flick (Editor)
ISBN: 9781446208984
Publication Date: 2013-12-27
The wide range of approaches to data analysis in qualitative research can seem daunting even for experienced researchers. This handbook is the first to provide a state-of-the art overview of the whole field of QDA; from general analytic strategies used in qualitative research, to approaches specific to particular types of qualitative data, including talk, text, sounds, images and virtual data. The handbook includes chapters on traditional analytic strategies such as grounded theory, content analysis, hermeneutics, phenomenology and narrative analysis, as well as coverage of newer trends like mixed methods, reanalysis and meta-analysis. Practical aspects such as sampling, transcription, working collaboratively, writing and implementation are given close attention, as are theory and theorization, reflexivity, and ethics. Written by a team of experts in qualitative research from around the world, this handbook is an essential compendium for all qualitative researchers and students across the social sciences.
The SAGE Handbook of Interview Research by James A. Holstein (Editor); Amir Marvasti (Editor); Karyn D. McKinney (Editor); Jaber F. Gubrium (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412981644
Publication Date: 2012-02-14
The second edition of this landmark volume emphasizes the dynamic, interactional, and reflexive dimensions of the research interview. Contributors highlight the myriad dimensions of complexity that are emerging as researchers increasingly frame the interview as a communicative opportunity as much as a data-gathering format. The book begins with an overview of the history and conceptual transformations of the interview, which is followed by chapters that discuss the main components of interview practice. Taken together, the contributions to the handbook encourage readers to simultaneously learn the frameworks and technologies of interviewing and reflect on the epistemological foundations of the interview craft. The handbook has been updated to address recent developments, especially in qualitative interviewing. Twenty-six chapters are completely new; the remaining twelve chapters have been substantially revised to give readers access to the state of the art of interview research. Three entirely new sections include "Logistics of Interviewing," "Self and Other in the Interview," and "Ethics of the Interview."
Handbook of the Arts in Qualitative Research by J. Gary Knowles (Editor); Ardra L. Cole (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412905312
Publication Date: 2007-11-14
"This work′s quality, diversity, and breadth of coverage make it a valuable resource for collections concerned with qualitative research in a broad range of disciplines. Highly recommended." --G.R. Walden, CHOICEThe Handbook of the Arts in Qualitative Inquiry: Perspectives, Methodologies, Examples, and Issues represents an unfolding and expanding orientation to qualitative social science research that draws inspiration, concepts, processes, and representational forms from the arts. In this defining work, J. Gary Knowles and Ardra L. Cole bring together the top scholars in qualitative methods to provide a comprehensive overview of the past, present, and future of arts-based research. This Handbook provides an accessible and stimulating collection of theoretical arguments and illustrative examples that delineate the role of the arts in qualitative social science research. Key Features Defines and explores the role of the arts in qualitative social science research: The Handbook presents an analysis of classic and emerging methodologies and approaches that employs the arts in the qualitative research process. Brings together a unique group of scholars: Offering diverse perspectives, contributors to this volume represent a wide range of disciplines including the humanities, media and communication, anthropology, sociology, psychology, women′s studies, education, social work, nursing, and health and medicine. Offers comprehensive coverage of the genres employed by qualitative researchers: Scholars use multiple ways to advance knowledge including literary forms, performance, visual art, various types of media, narrative, folk art, and more. Articulates challenges inherent in alternative methodologies: This volume discusses the issues and challenges faced when employing art in research including ethical issues, academic merit issues, and even funding issues. Intended Audience This is an essential resource for any scholar interested in qualitative research, as well as a critical resource for all academic and public libraries.

Doing Qualitative Research by David Silverman
ISBN: 9781529769005
Publication Date: 2022-05-17
Need practical advice on how to do your first qualitative research project? This book will guide you through each step of the research process: from brainstorming ideas and working with your supervisor to navigating the field to writing up your results.Driven by examples from other students' projects, the book features discussions on translating social problems into research topics, collecting data in the wake of a pandemic, and guidance from Qualitative Data Analysis Software expert Christian Schmieder to help you summarise, categorise, and review qualitative data. A new chapter on how much data you need answers the age-old question: 'how many interviews or case studies are enough?'It also includes:- Articles and websites to build your bibliography- Questions to test your knowledge- Videos from world-leading qualitative experts- Activities to dig deeper into key concepts and think critically about research- Lessons-learned discussions with other researchers- Exercises to help you choose the right path for your project. Key features: in addition to the online Silverman Workshops, the book includes top tips, end-of-chapter checklists to test your understanding, and annotated further reading so you can develop your knowledge further.
Analyzing and Interpreting Qualitative Research by Charles F. Vanover (Editor); Paul A. Mihas (Editor); Johnny Saldana (Editor)
ISBN: 9781544395876
Publication Date: 2021-05-14
This text provides comprehensive coverage of the key methods for analyzing, interpreting, and writing up qualitative research in a single volume, and drawing on the expertise of major names in the field. Covering all the steps in the process of analyzing, interpreting, and presenting findings in qualitative research, the authors utilize a consistent chapter structure that provides novice and seasoned researchers with pragmatic, "how-to" strategies. Each chapter introduces the method; uses one of the authors′ own research projects as a case study of the method described; shows how the specific analytic method can be used in other types of studies; and concludes with questions and activities to prompt class discussion or personal study.
Qualitative Data Analysis by Matthew B. Miles; A. Michael Huberman; Johnny Saldana
ISBN: 9781452257877
Publication Date: 2013-04-18
The Third Edition of Miles & Huberman′s classic research methods text is updated and streamlined by Johnny Saldaña, author of The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers. Several of the data display strategies from previous editions are now presented in re-envisioned and reorganized formats to enhance reader accessibility and comprehension. The Third Edition′s presentation of the fundamentals of research design and data management is followed by five distinct methods of analysis: exploring, describing, ordering, explaining, and predicting. Miles and Huberman′s original research studies are profiled and accompanied with new examples from Saldaña′s recent qualitative work. The book′s most celebrated chapter, "Drawing and Verifying Conclusions," is retained and revised, and the chapter on report writing has been greatly expanded, and is now called "Writing About Qualitative Research." Comprehensive and authoritative, Qualitative Data Analysis has been elegantly revised for a new generation of qualitative researchers.
A Step-By-step Guide to Qualitative Data Coding by Philip Adu
ISBN: 9781138486850
Publication Date: 2019-04-15
A Step-by-Step Guide to Qualitative Data Codingis a comprehensive qualitative data analysis guide. It is designed to help readers to systematically analyze qualitative data in a transparent and consistent manner, thus promoting the credibility of their findings. The book examines the art of coding data, categorizing codes, and synthesizing categories and themes. Using real data for demonstrations, it provides step-by-step instructions and illustrations for analyzing qualitative data. Some of the demonstrations include conducting manual coding using Microsoft Word and how to use qualitative data analysis software such as Dedoose, NVivo and QDA Miner Lite to analyze data. It also contains creative ways of presenting qualitative findings and provides practical examples. After reading this book, readers will be able to: Analyze qualitative data and present their findings Select an appropriate qualitative analysis tool Decide on the right qualitative coding and categorization strategies for their analysis Develop relationships among categories/themes Choose a suitable format for the presentation of the findings It is a great resource for qualitative research instructors and undergraduate and graduate students who want to gain skills in analyzing qualitative data or who plan to conduct a qualitative study. It is also useful for researchers and practitioners in the social and health sciences fields. heir findings Select an appropriate qualitative analysis tool Decide on the right qualitative coding and categorization strategies for their analysis Develop relationships among categories/themes Choose a suitable format for the presentation of the findings It is a great resource for qualitative research instructors and undergraduate and graduate students who want to gain skills in analyzing qualitative data or who plan to conduct a qualitative study. It is also useful for researchers and practitioners in the social and health sciences fields.
Handbook of Narrative Analysis by Luc Herman; Bart Vervaeck
ISBN: 9781496217141
Publication Date: 2019-12-01
Stories are everywhere, from fiction across media to politics and personal identity. Handbook of Narrative Analysis sorts out both traditional and recent narrative theories, providing the necessary skills to interpret any story. In addition to discussing classical theorists, such as Gérard Genette, Mieke Bal, and Seymour Chatman, Handbook of Narrative Analysis presents precursors (such as E. M. Forster), related theorists (Franz Stanzel, Dorrit Cohn), and a large variety of postclassical critics. Among the latter particular attention is paid to rhetorical, cognitive, and cultural approaches; intermediality; storyworlds; gender theory; and natural and unnatural narratology. Not content to consider theory as an end in itself, Luc Herman and Bart Vervaeck use two short stories and a graphic narrative by contemporary authors as touchstones to illustrate each approach to narrative. In doing so they illuminate the practical implications of theoretical preferences and the ideological leanings underlying them. Marginal glosses guide the reader through discussions of theoretical issues, and an extensive bibliography points readers to the most current publications in the field. Written in an accessible style, this handbook combines a comprehensive treatment of its subject with a user-friendly format appropriate for specialists and nonspecialists alike. Handbook of Narrative Analysis is the go-to book for understanding and interpreting narrative. This new edition revises and extends the first edition to describe and apply the last fifteen years of cutting-edge scholarship in the field of narrative theory.

Inside Ethnography by Miriam Boeri (Editor); Rashi K. Shukla (Editor)
ISBN: 9780520970458
Publication Date: 2019-12-10
While some books present "ideal" ethnographic field methods, Inside Ethnography shares the realities of fieldwork in action. With a focus on strategies employed with populations at society's margins, twenty-one contemporary ethnographers examine their cutting-edge work with honesty and introspection, drawing readers into the field to reveal the challenges they have faced. Representing disciplinary approaches from criminology, sociology, anthropology, public health, business, and social work, and designed explicitly for courses on ethnographic and qualitative methods, crime, deviance, drugs, and urban sociology, the authors portray an evolving methodology that adapts to the conditions of the field while tackling emerging controversies with perceptive sensitivity. Their judicious advice on how to avoid pitfalls and remedy missteps provides unusual insights for practitioners, academics, and undergraduate and graduate students.
Urban Ethnography by Richard E. Ocejo (Editor)
ISBN: 9781787690349
Publication Date: 2019-10-22
Urban ethnography has produced some of the most influential and memorable studies in sociology since the discipline's founding. Showcasing the ideas, analysis, and perspectives of experts in the method conducting research on a wide array of social phenomena in a variety of city contexts, this volume provides a look at the legacies of urban ethnography's methodological traditions and some of the challenges its practitioners face today. This volume considers the ongoing influence of esteemed scholars in the famed 'Chicago School' in teaching ethnography and mentoring young ethnographers. In doing this it addresses the numerous definitions of space and place that ethnographers grapple with, considers the social and spatial locations in which research is conducted, and examines the intertwined forms of social identity that shape the relationships that scholars form in the field, as well as the data they produce. In addition to these themes, the authors in this volume also consider the importance of taking a global perspective when conducting local fieldwork, and of taking an intersectional approach to reflexivity and analysis. Mixing self-reflection, practical guidance, theoretical engagement, empirical analysis, and even humor, the chapter authors offer a large slice of what ethnography has to offer for understanding the global urban world.
Doing Human Service Ethnography by Katarina Jacobsson (Editor); Jaber Gubrium (Editor)
ISBN: 9781447355809
Publication Date: 2021-07-22
EPDF and EPUB available Open Access under CC-BY-NC-ND licence. Human service work is performed in many places - hospitals, shelters, households, prisons, schools, clinics - and is characterised by a complex mixture of organising principles, relations and rules. Using ethnographic methods, researchers can investigate these site-specific complexities, providing multi-dimensional and compelling analyses. Bringing together both theoretical and practical material, this book shows researchers how ethnography can be carried out within human service settings. It provides an invaluable guide on how to apply ethnographic creativeness and offers a more humanistic and context-sensitive approach in the field of health and social care to generating valid knowledge about today's service work.
Ethnographies of Academic Writing Research by Ignacio Guillén-Galve (Editor); Ana Bocanegra-Valle (Editor)
ISBN: 9789027210067
Publication Date: 2021-10-26
This book illustrates the use of ethnography as an analytical approach to investigate academic writing, and provides critical insights into how academic writing research can benefit from the use of ethnographic methods. Throughout its six theoretical and practice-oriented studies, together with the introductory chapter, foreword and afterword, ethnography-related concepts like thick description, deep theorizing, participatory research, research reflexivity or ethics are discussed against the affordances of ethnography for the study of academic writing. The book is key reading for scholars, researchers and instructors in the areas of applied linguistics, academic writing, academic literacies and genre studies. It will also be useful to those lecturers and postgraduate students working in English for Academic Purposes and disciplinary writing. The volume provides ethnographically-oriented researchers with clear pointers about how to incorporate the telling of the inside story into their traditional main role as observers.

Interviewing As Qualitative Research by Irving Seidman
ISBN: 9780807761489
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
This popular text, now in its fifth edition, provides step-by-step guidance for new and experienced researchers who want to use interviewing as a research method. This user-friendly guide explains the rationale for interviewing and the complexity of selecting interview participants, important interviewing techniques, and how to work with the results of interviews. Appropriate for individual and classroom use, this expanded edition includes: a revised assessment of the utility of Computer-Assisted Qualitative Data Analysis systems; contributions by Julie Simpson, the Director of Research Integrity Services at the University of New Hampshire, about preparing research for local Institutional Review Boards; and guidance for obtaining informed consent when using technology to interview, when interviewing abroad, and when hoping to include children as participants. Book Features: Principles and methods that can be adapted to a range of interviewing approaches. A clear and inviting presentation appropriate for both individual use and for classes. Ideas to help readers analyze and improve their own approach, as well as suggestions for group practice. An interviewing technique that stresses listening, with guidance for avoiding leading questions. Examples of doctorial students' research demonstrating that interviewing can deal with life and death issues, as well as everyday life. Updated references to help readers deepen their understanding of interviewing as qualitative research.
Interactional Studies of Qualitative Research Interviews by Kathryn Roulston (Editor)
ISBN: 9789027202222
Publication Date: 2019-03-25
Methodological accounts of research interviews find that how researchers use this tool in their work varies widely: there are many "ways" of interviewing. This edited collection unpacks the interactional dynamics of qualitative research interviews from studies conducted in education, second language acquisition, applied linguistics and disability studies from scholars in the UK, USA, Italy, Portugal and Korea. These studies explore the interactional details of how the identities of researchers and their participants matter for the generation of interview data, as well as the kinds of discursive resources and social actions that occur in tandem with the production of data for research projects. Given the widespread use of qualitative interviews for social research, this book provides a robust contribution to what Tim Rapley has called the "social studies of interviewing." This book is relevant to audiences across disciplines who use the interview as a primary research method.
Mastering Focus Groups and Depth Interviews by Roger A. Straus
ISBN: 9781941688663
Publication Date: 2019-11-01
In this practical handbook, author Roger Straus shares insights, tips, and wisdom acquired from his decades-spanning career as a moderator and depth interviewer. You'll find practical tips for responding to an RFP (including budget considerations that are not always obvious), planning a depth-research project, working with research facilities, conducting the research, and conveying your findings to your clients. Focusing on six applications for depth methods, Straus explains that focus groups and depth interviews can be used for much more than preliminary research and ideation exercises. He takes you through the Five-Question process for planning a group, addressing Who?, How Many?, Where? When?, and How?. In addition to discussing each of these critical questions, he offers scores of useful best-practice tips that you can put to use immediately. You'll also find valuable advice for integrating qualitative and quantitative research and for choosing the best approach to your research project, with extensive discussion points weighing the benefits of in-person groups and interviews vs. on-line, synchronous and asynchronous methods. Recommended for professionals in market research, product development, government, sociological practice and public policy research, especially for those who might be new to the discipline.
Conducting Interviews with Child Victims of Abuse and Witnesses of Crime by Mireille Cyr
ISBN: 9781032208039
Publication Date: 2022-02-14
This book is a practical and thoughtful guide for the forensic interview of children, presenting a synthesis of the empirical and theoretical knowledge necessary to understand the account of child victims of abuse or witnesses of crime. It is a complex task to interview children who are suspected of being abused in order to gather their stories, requiring the mastery of many skills and knowledge. This book is a practical one in that constant links are made between the results of the research and their relevance for the interventions made when interviewing child victims of abuse or witnesses of crime and in understanding their accounts. This book also presents in a detailed and concrete way the revised version of the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD-R) Protocol, a forensic structured interview guide empirically supported by numerous studies carried out in different countries. The step-by-step explanations are illustrated with a verbatim interview with a child, as well as other tools to help the interviewer to prepare and handle an efficient and supportive interview. Conducting Interviews with Child Victims of Abuse and Witnesses of Crime is essential reading for stakeholders in the justice, social and health systems as well as anyone likely to receive allegations from children such as educators or daycare staff. Although the NICHD-R Protocol is intended for forensic interviewers, the science behind its development and application is relevant to all professionals working with children.

Reciprocal Ethnography and the Power of Women's Narratives by Elaine J. Lawless
ISBN: 9780253042965
Publication Date: 2019-08-09
Folklorist Elaine J. Lawless has devoted her career to ethnographic research with underserved groups in the American Midwest, including charismatic Pentecostals, clergywomen, victims of domestic violence, and displaced African Americans. She has consistently focused her research on women's speech in these contexts and has developed a new approach to ethnographic research which she calls "reciprocal ethnography," while growing a detailed corpus of work on women's narrative style and expressive speech. Reciprocal ethnography is a feminist and collaborative ethnographic approach that Lawless developed as a challenge to the reflexive turn in anthropological fieldwork and research in the 1970s, which was often male-centric, ignoring the contributions by and study of women's culture. Collected here for the first time are Lawless's key articles on the topics of reciprocal ethnography and women's narrative which influenced not only folklore, but also the allied fields of anthropology, sociology, performance studies, and women's and gender studies. Lawless's methods and research continue to be critically relevant in today's global struggle for gender equality.
Narrative Change : How Changing the Story Can Transform Society, Business, and Ourselves by Hans Hansen
ISBN: 9780231545488
Publication Date: 2020
Texas prosecutors are powerful: in cases where they seek capital punishment, the defendant is sentenced to death over ninety percent of the time. When management professor Hans Hansen joined Texas's newly formed death penalty defense team to rethink their approach, they faced almost insurmountable odds. Yet while Hansen was working with the office, they won seventy of seventy-one cases by changing the narrative for death penalty defense. To date, they have succeeded in preventing well over one hundred executions—demonstrating the importance of changing the narrative to change our world.In this book, Hansen offers readers a powerful model for creating significant organizational, social, and institutional change. He unpacks the lessons of the fight to change capital punishment in Texas—juxtaposing life-and-death decisions with the efforts to achieve a cultural shift at Uber. Hansen reveals how narratives shape our everyday lives and how we can construct new narratives to enact positive change. This narrative change model can be used to transform corporate cultures, improve public services, encourage innovation, craft a brand, or even develop your own leadership.Narrative Change provides an unparalleled window into an innovative model of change while telling powerful stories of a fight against injustice. It reminds us that what matters most for any organization, community, or person is the story we tell about ourselves—and the most effective way to shake things up is by changing the story.
Learning Stories and Teacher Inquiry Groups: Re-Imagining Teaching and Assessment in Early Childhood Education by Isauro M. Escamilla; Linda R. Kroll; Daniel R. Meier
ISBN: 9781938113918
Publication Date: 2021-07-13
Enhance your professional development and partner with children and families to improve learning experiences in a range of early childhood settings and programs. Learn how to integrate the Learning Stories approach and teacher inquiry groups to promote authentic assessment to inform instruction, and foster collegial team building and collaboration. The writing of Learning Stories integrated within the professional development process of teacher inquiry, documentation, and reflection offers a new model of professional support and a method for reaching out to children and families. The Learning Stories approach is used primarily with children from birth through age 8, and educators in classrooms and programs, administrators, professional development specialists, instructional coaches, and teacher educators can benefit from this approach. Within this book, you'll find � Extensive examples linking Learning Stories and teacher inquiry groups� Key ideas, strategies, and reflection questions� Information on how Learning Stories can supplement assessment tools such as QRIS, DRDP, and CLASS� Resources and approaches for starting your own inquiry groupAn online study guide accompanies the book. (See inside for information.) Use this handy guide in a college or university course, your professional learning community, or your own book club with colleagues.
New Narratives of Disability by Sara E. Green (Editor); Donileen R. Loseke (Editor)
ISBN: 9781839091445
Publication Date: 2019-11-25
This volume explores questions about narrative frameworks in disability research. Narrative is a omnipresent meaning-producing communication form in social life that is both cultural and personal. Public understandings of disability tend to follow a medical storyline in which disability is a personal tragedy to be treated through professional intervention - a frame that disempowers and fails to resonate with many disabled people. Scholars in disability studies and the social sciences have proposed an alternative that portrays social structures, forces, and attitudes as the problems to be resolved - a frame that, while empowering, may neglect, or even repress, some kinds of personal disability stories. This volume seeks to answer the call for richer, more diverse understandings of disability. We explore how narrative inquiry can broaden perspectives on disability to include pain, suffering, chronic illness, and episodic disability, as well as the perspectives of family members and caregivers, while also serving as a platform for dismantling prejudice and discrimination in order to promote positive social change.