This is just what is says: a historical index of book reviews published in scholarly journals between the years 1886 - 1974. The citations are in the Author's Index, so if you search by title, it will only refer you to the author.
Book Review Index (1965 - present) provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests. More than 600 publications are indexed, including journals and national general interest publications and newspapers.
This is a source of biographical information about authors and illustrators of children's literature. You won't find book reviews, but you will find good information that is useful for understanding children's literature.
Online Indexes in the Libraries
Below are a few library databases for finding book reviews across multiple disciplines, particularly the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Search for reviewed authors or titles in the search boxes. Below the search boxes, deselect all content types except Reviews & News. This database indexes review publications such as Women's Review of Books, Kirkus Reviews, Booklist, Library Journal, and Publishers Weekly, and includes some full text. Also a great source for reviews of children's literature.
This database indexes publications in the field of Library & Information Science. Many of these publications provide excellent book reviews of adult and children's literature, both fiction and non-fiction. There is also a lot of full text in this database, so you can access reviews immediately on your computer. Search by entering the reviewed title in quotation marks so that it will look for the exact title; select "review" in the Publication Type box.
Type the title or author into the search field and select SU Subject from the drop-down menu. Under the heading Limit Your Results, select Book Review in the Document Type box. Click Search to see citations and full text to reviews.
Search in the Topic index for a particular author or title. On the results page, under the heading Document Types, select Review and click Refine. Your results list will provide citations to book reviews published in a wide variety of sources. Use Article Linker (green and white button) to search across other licensed UM Libraries' databases for the full text to the review.