The Richest Man in Babylon by
The Richest Man in Babylon, is a classic, insightful, financial, motivational guide that has lead many generations to monetary and personal success. This deluxe edition of this classic work, includes a 21st century study guide filled with practices and exercises that will help you be all that you are capable of, as you fill your conscious and subconscious mind, heart, and soul, with positive energy and life-enhancing ideas. Start your journey of self-discovery and be on your way to accumulating all of the riches that you desire. Learn how to acquire money, keep it, and put it to work to make even more money. It's one of the bestselling financial books of all time, having sold millions of copies, and now you can put it to work for you!
Map Your Finances: Learn the Art of Financial Mapping by
‘Map Your Finances'tells interesting anecdotes from the author's personal experiences of investing over a forty year period. Her investments have included hands on management of small businesses, equities and real estate as well as self-managed superannuation. When it comes to personal finance, she has lots of tips for both the inexperienced and advanced investor. This book aims to improve financial literacy and teach the art of Financial Mapping. Financial Mapping is a new consumer category for planning, understanding and control of personal finances. Financial Mapping gives the ability to plot over an extended period, all your future financial plans in one dynamic calculator. Mapping software includes all financial decisions about budgeting, saving for something special, managing debts, building an investment portfolio of fixed interest securities, equities and real estate, buying or renovating a home, monitoring your retirement accounts and how you plan to drawdown money to live on during retirement. Financial Mapping is different from Internet calculators which use long term average returns for one financial calculation at a time. With Financial Mapping, changing one parameter immediately recalculates results for everything. Financial Mapping models dynamically any change of interest rates, income and capital growth over different time periods. It also allows back testing against historical data and economic cycles as well as incorporating lifestyle variables. The consumer can build a personal financial management hub where all future plans and actions can be modeled and stored. This book both entertains and educates.
Your Money and Your Life: A Lifetime Approach to Money Management by
Your financial health is more than a mere collection of debits and credits on a balance sheet. In fact, the numbers on a financial statement represent a series of decisions that, if made strategically, can ensure that each of us maintains our desired standard of living at every age and stage of life. Many people think that key financial choices are too complicated to make on their own. However, with the right information and guidance, we can all secure our own financial future. Your Money and Your Life is more than your average guide to financial planning and retirement. Acclaimed author and speaker Robert Z. Aliber helps readers to make efficient and effective financial decisions at key moments throughout their lives, such as where to go to college; if and when to buy a home; how much insurance, if any, to buy; how to manage savings and retirement; when the time is right to approach a professional advisor; and how to proceed with estate planning. With an eye toward the issues that are most pressing in today's economy, Aliber clearly explains the sophisticated concepts that underpin everyday money management--with the goal of making this guide the go-to reference in your financial planning library, regardless of your age or wealth. Readers of this book will come away with the sense that Aliber is their own financial planner, offering strategies that will help to guide them toward security in the present and the future. Your Money and Your Life is filled with examples to which readers will be able to relate, as well as checklists of "actionables" to help make their plans realities.
Finance: the Basics by
A clear, jargon-free introduction to a complex and demanding subject, "Finance: The Basics" is the ultimate guide for those encountering this broad topic for the first time. With particular focus on the practical dimension of financial tools, instruments and markets, this user-friendly text provides the reader with a solid working knowledge of the key drivers of the financial marketplace, ensuring that the concepts learnt can be easily applied and related to daily activities, the financial press and the financial markets. Authoritative yet accessible, "Finance: The Basics" is ideal for first year undergraduates with no previous exposure to financial concepts, as well as those looking for simple yet comprehensive explanations of the primary elements of the topic.
Think Like a Self-Made Millionaire: 10 Secrets to Success by
In THINK Like a Self-Made Millionaire: 10 Secrets to Success, learn the success secrets of virtually all self-made millionaires. You'll pick up proven strategies and action steps to help you achieve sustainable financial freedom, peace of mind, and life success! Through the Get Rich on Purpose® series, America's Financial Advisor, Stewart H. Welch III, shares the financial expertise and wealth "secrets" he learned while going from an average twenty-something to self-made millionaire before the age of forty. His message is clear: "Everyone has the power to transform themselves and create extraordinary levels of success."
Managing Money by
Themes: Life Skills, Career, Achieve Independence, Skills, Money Management, Budgeting, Nonfiction, Handbook, Teen, Young Adult, Hi-Lo, Hi-Lo Books, Hi-Lo Solutions, High-Low Books, Hi-Low Books, ELL, EL, ESL, Struggling Learner, Struggling Reader, Special Education, SPED, Newcomers, Reading, Learning, Education, Educational, Educational Books. Combining practical content with visual appeal, the 21st Century Life Skills handbooks read more like a magazine than a book. Highly readable with full-color photographs, a smaller trim size and an eye-popping layout, these 120-page handbooks are great for teaching life skills to a twenty-first century population. The 10 handbooks in this series will provide readers a thorough and non-threatening introduction to the multi-dimensional competencies, concepts, and vocabulary they need to achieve independences--including community resources, job searching, money management, job etiquette, health, moving and more. Used along or in conjunction with the 21st Century Life Skills worktexts, these handbooks offer students a unique and visual way to achieve real-world literacy. The handbook is a thorough and non-threatening introduction to: The Wise Buyer; Shopping for Goods; Shopping for Services; Consumer Rights. This handbook offers students a unique and visual way to achieve real-world literacy.
How to Be a Financial Grownup by
Bobbi Rebell, award-winning TV anchor and personal finance columnist at Thomson Reuters, taps into her exclusive network of business leaders to share with you stories of the financial lessons they learned early in their lives that helped them become successful. She then uses these stories as jumping off points to offer specific, actionable advice on how you can become a financial grownup just like them. Financial role models such as Author Tony Robbins, Entrepreneur Ivanka Trump, Shark Tank's Kevin O'Leary, Mad Money's Jim Cramer, Designer Cynthia Rowley, Macy's CEO Terry Lundgren, Zillow's CEO Spencer Rascoff, PwC's CEO Bob Moritz, and twenty others share their stories with you. The book walks you through some of the biggest money decisions you'll make regarding real estate, investing, debt management, careers, friends and money, family finances, and even health and wellness. You're guided by proven examples and given the information you need to make choices that are right for you. How to Be a Financial Grownup will especially appeal to you if you're interested in new ideas to better manage your finances, especially if you're going through life changes where you have to pay more attention to your financial well-being.
Financial Physician: How to Cure Your Money Problems and Boost Your Financial Health by
Louis Scatigna, CFP, a veteran certified financial planner and president of AFM Investments, Inc., has been advising families on practical financial management for more than 25 years. As the host of the top-rated radio program The Financial Physician, Scatigna has diagnosed and treated the financial ills of listeners for more than 10 years. His analogies of physical and financial health have motivated clients and audiences alike to get into fiscal shape. Scatigna has the skill of a surgeon, with the bedside manner of a country doctor. He and his family reside in Jackson, New Jersey. Look for him at www.thefinancialphysician.com.
The Memo: Five Rules for Your Economic Liberation by
True power in this world comes from economic independence, but too many people have too much month left at the end of their money. John Hope Bryant, founder and CEO of Operation HOPE, illuminates the path toward liberation that is hiding in plain sight. His message is simple- the supermajority of people who live in poverty, whom Bryant calls the invisible class, as well as millions in the struggling middle class, haven't gotten "the memo"-until now. Building on his personal experience of rising up from economically disadvantaged circumstances and his work with Operation HOPE, Bryant teaches readers five rules that lay the foundation for achieving financial freedom. He emphasizes the inseparable connection between "inner capital" (mindset, relationships, knowledge, and spirit) and "outer capital" (financial wealth and property). "If you have inner capital," Bryant writes, "you can never be truly poor. If you lack inner capital, all the money in the world cannot set you free." Bryant gives readers tools for empowerment by covering everything from achieving basic financial literacy to investing in positive relationships and approaching wealth with a completely new attitude. He makes this bold and controversial claim- "Once you have satisfied your basic sustenance needs-food, water, health, and a roof over your head-poverty has more to do with your head than your wallet." Bryant wants to restore readers' "silver rights," giving them the ability to succeed and prosper no matter what very real roadblocks society puts in their way. We have more power than we realize, if only we can recognize and claim it. "We are our first capital," Bryant writes. "We are the CEOs of our own lives."
The Personal Finance Calculator: How to Calculate the Most Important Financial Decisions in Your Life by
Today's most clear-cut guide for understanding and making everyday financial decisions Is it better to buy or lease a car? How does one calculate an investment return? For that matter, what exactly is an investment return? The Personal Finance Calculator provides noncomplex tools and calculations for assessing current personal wealth, determining how much debt is too much debt, understanding credit card interest rates, and more. Written by Esme Faerber, a McGraw-Hill author renowned for simplifying complex finance topics and explaining their use, this clear, concise book explains simple steps for getting one's financial life in order and saving money over both the short and long term. Readers will learn how to: Keep investment costs from undercutting overall returns Use the popular "Rule of 72" to estimate investment growth Determine how much money they will need for retirement
Think and Grow Rich by
Think and Grow Rich - Over 80 Million Copies SoldThis edition of Napoleon Hill's Classic Think and Grow Rich is a reproduction of Napoleon Hill's personal copy of the first edition, the ONLY original version recommended by The Napoleon Hill Foundation, originally printed in March of 1937.The most famous of all teachers of success spent a fortune and the better part of a lifetime of effort to produce the Law of Success philosophy that forms the basis of his books and that is so powerfully summarized and explained for the general public in this book.In Think and Grow Rich, Hill draws on stories of Andrew Carnegie, Thomas Edison, Henry Ford, and other millionaires of his generation to illustrate his principles. This book will teach you the secrets that could bring you a fortune. It will show you not only what to do but how to do it. Once you learn and apply the simple, basic techniques revealed here, you will have mastered the secret of true and lasting success.Money and material things are essential for freedom of body and mind, but there are some who will feel that the greatest of all riches can be evaluated only in terms of lasting friendships, loving family relationships, understanding between business associates, and introspective harmony which brings one true peace of mind! All who read, understand, and apply this philosophy will be better prepared to attract and enjoy these spiritual values.BE PREPARED! When you expose yourself to the influence of this philosophy, you may experience a CHANGED LIFE which can help you negotiate your way through life with harmony and understanding and prepare you for the accumulation of abundant material riches.
Dictionary of Personal Finance by 
Financial Peace Revisited by
With the help of a #1 New York Times bestselling author and finance expert, set your finances right with these updated tactics and practices Dave Ramsey knows what it's like to have it all. By age twenty-six, he had established a four-million-dollar real estate portfolio, only to lose it by age thirty. He has since rebuilt his financial life and, through his workshops and his New York Times business bestsellers Financial Peace and More than Enough, he has helped hundreds of thousands of people to understand the forces behind their financial distress and how to set things right-financially, emotionally, and spiritually. In this new edition of Financial Peace, Ramsey has updated his tactics and philosophy to show even more readers: * how to get out of debt and stay out * the KISS rule of investing--"Keep It Simple, Stupid" * how to use the principle of contentment to guide financial decision making * how the flow of money can revolutionize relationships With practical and easy to follow methods and personal anecdotes, Financial Peace is the road map to personal control, financial security, a new, vital family dynamic, and lifetime peace.
Financial Education in U. S. State Colleges and Universities by
This book addresses the uncertain state of financial literacy among today's college students and examines steps colleges and universities are taking to address this widespread concern. This work introduces a four-fold typology of organizational models for college-based financial education programs and uses these as optics for grouping and presenting case studies. The case studies presented provide a holistic representation of how universities develop, sustain and grow financial education programs. Details on the nature of programs, goals, administrative support, resources, partnerships, scale of operations, program content and delivery, advertising, evaluation, program spinoffs, and much more are captured in this work. In addition to detailed case studies, this book presents general findings on the availability of and delivery modes for college-based financial education. This work has significant utility for universities and colleges seeking to implement new financial education programs, changing existing programs, improving program relevancy or expanding program delivery on campus. It is an important contribution to the experiential understanding on how college students as consumers can acquire financial education as part of their broader college curricula and be able to better manage their financial lives. Included in the coverage: The financial literacy imperative. Program delivery and organizational models in state colle ges and universities. The academic model. The full-fledged money management center. The aspirational/seed program. The branch/interspersed model. As financial literacy is increasingly recognized as a core life skill, it becomes more crucial as a component of higher education. Personal Financial Education in State Colleges and Universities in the U.S. is salient reading for college and university administrators, researchers, social workers and mental health professionals working with college students, policy analysts and faculty from any discipline interested in promoting the financial literacy of their students.
Building Wealth in a Paycheck-to-Paycheck World by
How to save, invest, and amass real wealth on even the tightest budget What can a neighborhood butcher from Portland, Oregon tell regular working stiffs about achieving their dreams of financial independence? Everything Inside these pages, Paul Petillo, the renowned creator of bluecollardollar.com gives you all of the tools, tips, and advice you need to understand your financial situation and make it much, much better--whatever your current income. Sure, you're thinking, but can I become as wealthy as that lofty top1% of taxpayers who get all the breaks? Quite possibly. Okay, but what are the risks? Petillo's straight, simple advice is tailor-made for people who don't have a lot of money to spare--or to lose. You'll learn safe, proven wealth-building strategies that cover all the major components of a cautious, balanced financial plan. Paul Petillo shows you how to: Invest in mutual funds, bonds, real estate, and annuitiesAvoid financial disastersTracking your debt and create a plan for staying out of itMake a roadmap for buying a home, saving for college, and retiring richFind safe, rewarding investments right in your own backyardPlay the market without buying stocks So don't just sit around waiting for your ship to come in. Read Building Wealth in a Paycheck to Paycheck World and launch it yourself
Credit Repair: Make a Plan, Improve Your Credit, Avoid Scams by 
Debt Relief Today : Some Plain Talk About Today's Economy That No One Talks About by
Late on Your Credit Card Payments? Worried about Losing Your Home?Before you talk to a Credit Collector, Sign any Settlement Agreement, or EVEN THINK of Hiring a Lawyer.... You Need to Read This Book! GET THE BOOK!What Credit Card Companies, Mortgage Lenders & other Creditors, DON'T Want You to Know!Get Rid of Stress! Start Sleeping Again! Stop the Phone Calls!Are You Late for Work Because the Repo Man is Outside?Stop Repossession! "Remember, "Bankruptcy is Not the END...It is the Beginning of a Better Life!"
The U. S. Credit Reporting System: Elements, Infrastructure, and Key Processes by
This book describes the credit reporting infrastructure at the three largest nation-wide consumer reporting agencies (NCRAs), Equifax Information Services LLC, TransUnion LLC, and Experian Information Solutions Inc., with a special focus on the infrastructure and processes currently used by the NCRAs to collect, compile, and report information about consumers in the form of credit reports. Credit reports play an increasingly important role in the lives of American consumers. Most decisions to grant credit, including mortgage loans, auto loans, credit cards, and private student loans, include information contained in credit reports as part of the lending decision. These reports are also used in other spheres of decision making, including eligibility for rental housing, setting premiums for auto and homeowners insurance in some states, or determining whether to hire an applicant for a job. As the range and frequency of decisions that rely on credit reports have increased, so has the importance of assuring the accuracy of these reports.
Dealing with Debt and Financial Stress by
Australia's economy has experienced a record quarter-century of sustained growth, however alarm bells are ringing over climbing household debt. Are we heading towards a debt crisis? Many Australians are struggling to meet their repayments for mortgages, investments, personal debt, student debt and credit card debt. It has been estimated that two million Australians are experiencing high financial stress which prevents them from coping in difficult situations and in the face of unexpected expenses. What is financial stress, and how do factors like housing affordability, higher debts and overspending on low incomes contribute to financial pressure? How does stretching the bottom line affect people's health, relationships and financial security? This book is a helpful guide for young people to understand their personal finances, featuring ample advice on how to deal with debt, manage money through budgeting and savings, and develop financial literacy. Make the most of your money and learn how to manage debt, without the stress. Also includes: worksheets and activities, fast facts, glossary, web links, index. Titles in the Issues in Society series are individual resource books which provide an overview on a specific subject comprised of facts and opinions. The information in this resource book is not from any single author, publication or organisation. The unique value of the Issues in Society series lies in its diversity of content and perspectives. The content comes from a wide variety of sources and includes: newspaper reports and opinion pieces, website fact sheets, magazine and journal articles, statistics and surveys, government reports, and literature from special interest groups.
Lessons From the Lemonade Stand: A Common Sense Primer on Investing by 
Make Your Money Work for You (3rd Edn) by 
Invest Like You Give a Damn by
It's time to make money and give a damn You give a damn, right? You want your money to do good, but your pension is riddled with oil and defense companies. Besides, investing is a pain in the ass. It's tedious, and most sustainable and responsible investing books are as much fun as a root canal. You're fighting the urge to bury your head in the sand. What to do? There is a better way. Invest Like You Give a Damn is a different kind of investment book. It tells real life stories of people just like you. People who give a damn but who have stomped the devil of inertia and chosen to align their money with their values. Coverage includes: Why you need to give a damn about your investments Engaging investor stories to guide financial planning and investment decisions A ground-breaking financial and socially responsible investing asset allocation tool for profit and sustainability impact maximization Money makeover profiles How-to investing from one-click to deep-dive portfolio building Authored by a leading socially responsible investing expert and replete with humor and irreverence, Invest Like You Give a Damn is for everyone from college graduates waiting tables, to mid-life generation Xers, to baby boomers who want to live their ideals. Get it, read it, give a damn! Marc de Sousa-Shields is co-founder of the Social Investment Organization (SIO), a UN and World Bank advisor, and contributor to online corporate sustainability magazines including Triple Pundit and Sustainable Brands . He's worked in eighty countries, blogs at The Sustainable Century, and when not on the road, he lives in Mexico.
Financial Literacy: Introduction to the Mathematics of Interest, Annuities, and Insurance by
Requiring only a background in high school algebra, Kaminsky's Financial Literacy: Introduction to the Mathematics of Interest, Annuities, and Insurance uses an innovative approach in order to make today's college student literate in such financial matters as loans, pensions, and insurance. Included are hundreds of examples and solved problems, as well as several hundred exercises backed up by a solutions manual.
The Cat and the Banker: How to Get Started with Investing by
Why should learning about finance and investing be dull and confusing? The Cat & The Banker is a fun and unconventional illustrated book about investing for people who don't know where to start. Truth be told, this really is most people. This accessible, creative guide is ideal for anyone put off by stuffy investment manuals. The Cat & the Banker addresses these problem: - Books about personal finance tend to be dry and boring. The Cat & The Banker distills powerful ideas through a candid and fun conversation between a cat and his banker. The underlying story puts the notions in context and helps readers relate to the concepts.- Few people find time to read conventional books about personal finance. The Cat & The Banker goes straight to essentials without getting bogged down in unnecessary intricacies.- Personal finance books often give inadequate recipes. The Cat & The Banker provides a framework for how things actually work and empowers readers to make their own decisions- Investing looks confusing. It is hard to know how to allocate your own money. The Cat & The Banker takes readers step-by-step on a journey through how different types of investments work, what they do, and how they relate to the real world; all in a simple, playful and engaging way
Soldier of Finance: Take Charge of Your Money and Invest in Your Future by 
The 7 Secrets of Extraordinary Investors by
Every day, most investors are making decisions that are sure to bring them ordinary results. They are on the road to financial mediocrity because they make the same mistakes that everyone else makes--they spend too much, invest poorly, and receive poor advice. They know the price of their favorite stock, but they have no idea what their ideal financial future costs. There are also investors who are extraordinary. They make wise decisions, and they get superior results. They know that their financial house is in order, and they have a process for keeping it that way. They have confidence about the future because they listen to advice from the right people. The 7 Secrets of Extraordinary Investors shows investors seven simple ideas that are hidden in plain sight. Through an unusual mix of common sense and academic research, this book shows a straightforward path that can help you to achieve all that is important to you during and beyond your lifetime.
Inside the Investments of Warren Buffett by 
The Intelligent Investor by
"By far the best book on investing ever written." -- Warren Buffett The greatest investment advisor of the twentieth century, Benjamin Graham taught and inspired people worldwide. Graham's philosophy of "value investing"--which shields investors from substantial error and teaches them to develop long-term strategies--has made The Intelligent Investor the stock market bible ever since its original publication in 1949. Over the years, market developments have proven the wisdom of Graham's strategies. While preserving the integrity of Graham's original text, this revised edition includes updated commentary by noted financial journalist Jason Zweig, whose perspective incorporates the realities of today's market, draws parallels between Graham's examples and today's financial headlines, and gives readers a more thorough understanding of how to apply Graham's principles. Vital and indispensable, The Intelligent Investor is the most important book you will ever read on how to reach your financial goals.
The Financial Security Bible by
In this era of financial uncertainty in the worldwide economy, it is more important than ever to make sure that your own personal economy is secure. In The Financial Security Bible, you'll learn how to build a financial foundation for yourself and your family that no financial hurricane can break through. This book is called a bible, because like the Bible, many of the lessons it contains are embedded in stories and parables that relate to real life situations. It describes the range of lifestyles that encompass all people, from the lifestyle of success to the lifestyle of failure and shows you how to define where you fall within the range. You'll learn common sense ways to improve your financial position, no matter where you fall on the scale. This is not a high powered financial text you will need an MBA to understand, but rather a down to earth guide every person can use to improve their finances and/or become financially independent. Mike will show you how he was able to distill powerful life lessons from seemingly insignificant incidents throughout his life and teach you how to do the same with your life experiences. You will want to read it over and over, because each time, you will gain more knowledge and ideas that will help you build wealth and be happy. If you desire a better future, this is a resource you can't afford to be without.
Wealth Made Easy: Millionaires and Billionaires Help You Crack the Code to Getting Rich by
For far too many of us, amassing wealth seems like a pipe dream. We assume that to become a "high net worth" individual--someone who has over $1 million in liquid assets--we'd need some mysterious combination of genius and luck. But what if we could solve this mystery? Long gone are the days when captains of industry like John D. Rockefeller and Andrew Carnegie dominated the economic arena. Today, the world's richest individuals are a diverse group of idea-generators who maintain a lower profile, keeping their successes--and their strategies--hidden from the public eye. What if you could speed-dial these entrepreneurs, inventors, investors, and industry pioneers and personally ask each of them to tell you the one gold nugget that made them so wealthy? Bestselling author Greg Reid did just that, traveling around the globe to meet with many of the world's most elusive, under-the-radar billionaires to crack the code of prosperity. At long last, you will have access to the wisdom of the world's wealthiest people--from entertainment pioneers to real estate tycoons--as they reveal how they built their wealth, held onto it, and continue to thrive in an ever-changing economy. Wealth Made Easy is filled with eye-opening, real-world strategies, tips, and stories that will forever redefine the way you gauge your own success ... and set you on the path toward your wildest dreams. Inside, discover exclusive, personal advice from those living at the top tier of wealth, including: Dan Fleyshman, the youngest founder of a publicly traded company Wayne Henuset, co-owner, chairman, and president of Energy Alberta Corporation and president of Willow Park Wines & Spirits Jules Haimovitz, entertainment executive best known for having created the Showtime, Lifetime, Sundance, and Smithsonian cable channels Ron Klein, inventor of the magnetic strip on the credit card Dr. Gene N. Landrum, founder of the Chuck E. Cheese concept of family entertainment Tonino Lamborghini, founder of the Tonino Lamborghini Company and son of Ferruccio Lamborghini--creator of the world famous Lamborghini sports cars--and heir to the Lamborghini fortune Walter O'Brien, executive producer and writer for the ScorpionTV series Brian Sidorsky, founder and CEO of Landsdowne Equity Ventures, a highly profitable family-owned real-estate business And many more. In the tradition of Napoleon Hill's Think and Grow Rich, Wealth Made Easy offers incisive, actionable advice with every flip of the page. Supplemented with useful sidebars and inspirational quotes, this book is your step-by-step guide to achieving everlasting abundance--directly from the minds of those who have already accomplished this feat.
Live It up Without Outliving Your Money! by 
Iras, 401(k)S & Other Retirement Plans: Strategies for Taking Your Money Out by
Save your nest egg from the IRS About to retire? Over 70 and facing mandatory withdrawal rules? Just inherited money from a retirement plan? Whether you have an IRA, Roth IRA, 401(k), Keogh or other retirement plan, this book will help you make sense of the rules for taking your money out. Even more important, it will show you how to avoid the stiff taxes and penalties that lurk in the fine print. It covers: tax strategies before and after retirement required distributions and how much you need to take penalties for taking money out early and how to avoid them how to divide a plan at divorce what happens to your retirement plan after your death different rules for taking money out of an inherited plan The 13th edition is completely updated with the latest tables and methods for calculating required minimum distributions. It also covers the special tax benefits for conversions to Roth IRAs and explains how to recharacterize converted funds if you change your mind.
Falling Short: The Coming Retirement Crisis and What to Do About It by
The United States faces a serious retirement challenge. Many of today's workers will lack the resources to retire at traditional ages and maintain their standard of living in retirement. Solving the problem is a major challenge in today's environment in which risk and responsibility haveshifted from government and employers to individuals. For this reason, Charles D. Ellis, Alicia H. Munnell, and Andrew D. Eschtruth have written this concise guide for anyone concerned about their own - and the nation's - retirement security.Falling Short is grounded in sound research yet written in a highly accessible style. The authors provide a vivid picture of the retirement crisis in America. They offer the necessary context for understanding the nature and size of the retirement income shortfall, which is caused by both increasingincome needs-due to longer lifespans and rising health costs - and decreasing support from Social Security and employer-sponsored pension plans.The solutions are to work longer and save more by building on the existing retirement system. To work longer, individuals should plan to stay in the labor force until age 70 if possible. To save more, policymakers should shore up Social Security's long-term finances; make all 401(k) plans fullyautomatic, with workers allowed to opt out; and ensure that everyone has access to a retirement savings plan. Individuals should also recognize that their house is a source of saving, which they can tap in retirement through downsizing or a reverse mortgage.
How Do I Get There from Here? Planning for Retirement When the Old Rules No Longer Apply by
Not long ago everyone knew what the word retirement meant--retire at age 65 after 40 years at the same job and coast through your golden years courtesy of a comfortable nest egg. But now, age expectancy is higher, savings are slimmer, and people change jobs more frequently. Clinging to this outdated concept of retirement only gets you a room in your kids' house.Your retirement is going to require an incremental approach to planning--and you must begin now. This requires conscious engagement, diverse interests, and the ability to adapt. No matter how far or close you think you are to retirement, How Do I Get There from Here? is your one-stop guide to help you plot your direction for the coming decades. Readers will first be directed how to review all their assets--both tangible and intangible--so they can get an honest assessment of where they are right now. Then a journey through self-reflective questions and exercises will walk you through imagining your future, identifying skills you'll need, and learning how to prepare for inevitable twists and turns along the way.Stop clinging to an ancient and stereotypical idea of retirement. Decades of nonstop leisure is not only unreachable for most, it's not even truly desirable. Begin now charting the path for a unique, dynamic future you can look forward to!
Retirement Planning and Employee Benefits by 
The AARP Retirement Survival Guide by 
You Can Retire Sooner Than You Think by 
Essentials of Retirement Planning by 
Your Money: Use Less, Save More by
Packed with tips and resources for making your cash go further in the current economic climate. * Organise a swap party - clothes, seeds, toys - why buy new? * Buy food in bulk food with friends - bring the price down * Save money on the cinema - create a DVD club * Take a flask of coffee to work and save over £1,000 a year * Join a car share club - you don't need a car! With recession taking hold and the credit crunch biting, it's not all doom and gloom; whilst it may be harder to make ends meet, there are a lot of little things that you can do to save money, and a lot of money saving ideas give you the chance to get together with other people, cut your waste down and slow down a bit. Your Money is a simple A-Z guide packed with tips for saving money on everything from credit cards to car boot sales and toys to travel; whether it is managing your mortgage or your mobile phone, finding freebies or creating different ways of having fun which cost pence rather than pounds, this book gives you the information and ideas you need to save cash and ride out the hard times.
Decision Making and Budgeting by 
Safe Money in Tough Times: Everything You Need to Know to Survive the Financial Crisis by
The "perfect storm" of global economic disaster is now hitting every area of personal finance.Retirement accounts, retiree nest eggs, home prices, and just about everything else of value are being swept away in the chaos. You can either passively try to wait out the storm or take immediate action to protect yourself, your family, and your future. In Safe Money in Tough Times, Jonathan Pond explains how to stay afloat while the economy sinks. Employing the practical, commonsense knowledge and wisdom that has made him one of America's most popular personal finance experts,Pond helps you both weather the storm and position yourself to profit when the economy inevitably rebounds. He tackles every area of your financial life that is or will soon be affected by the Great Recession, from investing defensively and selecting the safest investments to strategies for paying insurance and tuition bills when times are tough. You'll find easy and practical tactics for Managing debt Reducing expenses Coping with unemployment Minimizing complications if your financial institution fails Protecting your retirement savings Making informed decisions about your home and mortgage Improving your credit standing Preparing for fi nancial emergencies Although he acknowledges the gravity of our economic situation, Pond takes you past the pessimism of today's media commentators and presents the crisis as a means for educating yourself,changing bad habits, and eventually enjoying unexpected profits. With Safe Money in Tough Times you have what you need to bypass the so-called experts and develop your own financial strategy with confidence. Complete with checklists and worksheets, this prescient guide provides everything you need to take control of your investments, beat the recession,and develop an all-weather financial and investment plan that will last a lifetime.
Young Money: 4 Proven Actions to Design Your Wealth While You Still Can by 
Smart Mom, Rich Mom: How to Build Wealth While Raising a Family by
Of all life's financial shocks, few compare to the $250,000 price tag--not including college!--of raising a child. How will you pay for it? Many mothers have agonized over that question, letting it fuel their decisions concerning careers, budgets, and families. The only thing they can all agree on is: there are no easy answers.But there are plenty of rewarding possibilities! Smart Mom, Rich Mom explores how women today are navigating the financially challenging career/parenting years. Written by a national money columnist and mom of two, this invaluable resource for moms everywhere chronicles women who have stayed in the game as both moms and businesswomen--full-time, freelance, self-employed, and more--and emerged more prosperous and empowered than before having children.Mining these successful moms' experiences in order to uncover both career advice and strategies for spending and saving anyone can use, Smart Mom, Rich Mom includes stories, checklists, action steps, planning tools, and more to help more moms learn how to:* Prepare financially for parenthood, as well as adding to your litter* Balance thrift with generating income and investing wisely* Find flexibility at work while safeguarding your earning potential* Save for both college and retirement* Plan for unexpected events* And much moreLadies, this collection of stories from moms who have successfully worked full-time, freelance, self-employed, and in other ways, while also raising amazing children and providing financial freedom for their families, has room to add more--your story! Start it today!
Own Your Financial Freedom: Money, Women, Marriage and Divorce by
It is never too early to get a financial reality check to ensure long term financial security. Practical, savvy, and wide-ranging, Own Your Financial Freedom will inform women of important financial constructs prior to marriage and educate women on the 'what-if' of a divorce proceeding and post-divorce money management. By making effective money decisions at every stage of your life, if a divorce is ever inevitable, you will feel far more in control and aware of what you are entitled to, making divorce a straightforward process and not a lengthy battle. Packed with essential advice from professionals and financial gurus, Own Your Financial Freedom will help anyone navigate through the emotionally, economically and legally challenging divorce procedure. From understanding entitlements, coming to a settlement and to planning long-term investments, this book is an essential guide to achieving financial freedom.
501 Ways for Adult Students to Pay for College by
Adults can find the means to go back to school despite the pressures of work, family, and a mortgage with this guide to funding continued education. With expanded information on online and distance learning and part-time classes and new financial aid, loan, and scholarship opportunities, this updated resource teaches adult students how to find and win scholarships designed especially for them, obtain financial support from employers, get financial aid for distance learning, receive larger financial aid packages, take advantage of educational tax breaks, trade tuition costs for volunteer service, and cancel education debts with loan forgiveness programs. Twenty firsthand anecdotes inspire adult students with creative and unusual ways to pay for their education.
The Debt-Free Graduate: How to Survive College Without Going Broke by
"The Debt-Free Graduate" tells students how they can stay out of debt by taking simple, easy measures, while still having the time of their lives at college. This down-to-earth money management guide can help make readers more aware of the "little things" they can do to cut costs, such as finding theaters and restaurants that offer student discounts.
Financial Basics: A Money-Management Guide for Students, 2nd Edition by
Students are confronted with major financial decisions as they enter college, and yet they have little experience with personal finance. Their decisions, if not well made, could adversely affect them throughout their lives. This book is meant to empower students at the beginning of their financial lives with basic, straightforward information on managing bank accounts, creating spending plans, determining how much they can afford to pay for college, making student-loan decisions, establishing a credit history, and other money-management options. This 2nd edition updates changes in online banking, smartphone apps, credit cards, and student loans but retains basic financial information that ensures students won't learn about money the hard way. A chapter for parents has been added so they can help their students become financially knowledgeable, and it includes advice for parents about making decisions related to college costs. In addition, a chapter for grandparents contains suggestions on how to help college-bound grandchildren--financially and in other ways--without endangering their own financial security. A basic investments chapter is included for first-time investors. The intent of Financial Basics is to enhance student readers' financial knowledge and provide money-management options for finding their own best way to become masters of their money.
Graduate from College Debt-Free by
SMART and SAVVY WAYS TO PAY FOR COLLEGE...WITH NO DEBT (OR as Little as Possible) With college graduates earning over a million dollars more than high school grads will earn during the course of their lifetime, getting a college degree is incredibly important. However, the cost of college keeps rising and navigating the maze of financial aid options grows more challenging every year. This book is a comprehensive guide to saving for college, scholarships, financial assistance and more. YOU WILL DISCOVER: * How to use the net price calculator to figure out the school's actual cost * Creative strategies to minimize your college debt * Loan forgiveness programs to reduce college debt after you graduate * Options for cutting college costs * What scholarships are available and how to apply for them * Which tax credits can be used by students and their parents * How to complete the FAFSA and PROFILE financial aid applications
Indebted: How Families Make College Work at Any Cost by
How the financial pressures of paying for college affect the lives and well-being of middle-class families The struggle to pay for college is one of the defining features of middle-class life in America today. At kitchen tables all across the country, parents agonize over whether to burden their children with loans or to sacrifice their own financial security by taking out a second mortgage or draining their retirement savings. Indebted takes readers into the homes of middle-class families throughout the nation to reveal the hidden consequences of student debt and the ways that financing college has transformed family life. Caitlin Zaloom gained the confidence of numerous parents and their college-age children, who talked candidly with her about stressful and intensely personal financial matters that are usually kept private. In this remarkable book, Zaloom describes the profound moral conflicts for parents as they try to honor what they see as their highest parental duty--providing their children with opportunity--and shows how parents and students alike are forced to take on enormous debts and gamble on an investment that might not pay off. What emerges is a troubling portrait of an American middle class fettered by the "student finance complex"--the bewildering labyrinth of government-sponsored institutions, profit-seeking firms, and university offices that collect information on household earnings and assets, assess family needs, and decide who is eligible for aid and who is not. Superbly written and unflinchingly honest, Indebted breaks through the culture of silence surrounding the student debt crisis, revealing the unspoken costs of sending our kids to college.
Mastery of Money for Students by
The knowledge and ability to make, manage, save, and invest money is critical to your overall success in life. "Mastery of Money For Students" is an easy-to-read, story-filled journey through the fundamental building blocks of pursuing Mastery. Your financial future is entirely up to one person--YOU. The earlier you start on the path to understanding money, the faster you'll experience your own version of success. "An investment in knowledge always pays the best interest." -- Ben Franklin
Student Loans and the Dynamics of Debt by
The burgeoning volume of debt and repayment difficulties that many people now experience have created a vigorous debate on whether public policy should further intervene in student loan transactions. In economic terms, do the benefits exceed the costs? Close examination of the data on cumulative debt, number and characteristics of borrowers, types of institutions, and repayment dynamics raises almost as many questions as it answers. In alignment with its mission of investigating the underlying dynamics of the labor market, a component of which is the educational preparation of the workforce, the W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research organized a conference on student loans to catalyze careful and informed analysis of this understudied, but increasingly important, public policy. This volume includes the papers that were presented at the conference, held in Ann Arbor at the University of Michigan in October 2013. The Spencer Foundation and the Education Policy Initiative at the University of Michigan Ford School of Public Policy cosponsored the event.
