Research Guides: Instruction &amp; Curriculum Leadership: Databases &amp; Articles

Find Databases & Articles

Find Databases by Subject

Library databases are searchable sites that hold academic journals, periodicals, DVDs, conference proceedings, dissertations, and/or more!

Many articles in our databases have full text available within the database - that means you can read the entire article. If it's not available through linked or PDF full text, check Journal Titles and try to navigate to the volume, issue, and pages to see if full text is available. If full text is not available, you can use interlibrary loan to have the text sent from another library (for free!).

Education Databases
List of UofM's education databases.

Education Databases at UofM

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes an international range of English-language periodicals and books in the field of education, including several not included in ERIC. Coverage: Indexing 1929- ; with abstracts, 1994- ; select fulltext, 1996-.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
ICPSR Data Holdings This link opens in a new window
Data supporting research in the social sciences, including economics and finance, population studies, sociology, health care, education, politics and governmental studies. Includes data sets provided by governmental and non-governmental agencies, as well as data sets from privately and publicly funded research, opinion polls and other studies.
FAQs and Help.
Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today: poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques. Access is available to Biology module of the journal.
Kids InfoBits This link opens in a new window
Designed especially for students in kindergarten through grade five. Includes a developmentally appropriate graphic interface, premier reference content and the best magazines for elementary students. Coverage: varies.
MERLOT This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed online teaching and learning materials in all discipines. Includes lectures, online courses, tutorials, workshops, more.
National Center for Education Statistics This link opens in a new window
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
UNESCO Education for All This link opens in a new window
Country, regional and thematic reports on educational assessment compiled by UNESCO
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Based on the World Book encyclopedia, this database serves as a gateway to its various dictionaries, atlases, encyclopedias, images, maps, videos, timelines, current news, links to external articles, and more.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals (and provides some full text) of scholarly journals covering many aspects of Communication & Mass Media Studies
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR database consists of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in all disciplines. Coverage: varies--going back to first year of publication and coming up to 3-5 years ago. See the Project Muse database for scholarly articles from within the past 3-5 years.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers current social issues, helping students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. It includes a streamlined interface, media-rich topic pages, and curriculum-focused tools that help students explore issues from all perspectives. Resources are divided into topics which contains numerous full text pieces further categorized by the nature of their material: viewpoints (essays), reference, statistics, magazines and newspapers, images, primary documents and web sites.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of more than 200 scholarly journals in many disciplines, including: African studies, anthropology, education, history, music, literature, philosophy, psychology, sociology, and more. Coverage: varies, typically the past 3-5 years.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Citations to and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in psychology, plus psychological aspects in related disciplines (medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law). Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1632-present.

Advanced Search Strategies: PsychInfo from University Libraries on Vimeo.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals in addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, communications & mass media, community health & medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning & public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology, and urban studies. Coverage: citations & abstracts, 1983- ; full text, 1995-.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Theses + Dissertations

Electronic Thesis & Dissertation (ETD) Repository of the University of Memphis This link opens in a new window
UofM repository for theses and dissertations 2010-present. Run and maintained by the UofM Graduate School.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and full-text files of dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Online Resources for Curriculum and Instruction

Many high-quality education resources can be found online; many resources are also provided by private companies who may be advertising their services. Be careful to evaluate critically all your research materials. A small sample of resources you can find online:

Instruction & Curriculum Leadership

Get Help at McWherter Library