Civil Rights Cases Reopened
FBI photographs of slain civil rights workers Andrew Goodman, James Earl Chaney, and Michael Schwerner
Despite the passing of years, a number of the most infamous crimes of the civil rights movement—the killing of four young girls in the Birmingham church bombing, the KKK mob murder of three civil rights workers in Mississippi during Freedom Summer, the gunning down of civil rights leader Medgar Evers in front of his small children, and the torture and murder of 14-year-old Emmett Till—have been reopened with renewed vigor and prosecuted with impressive results.
It took 30 years, but the murderer of Medgar Evers was finally brought to justice. And a full four decades passed before the courts were able to convict all living perpetrators of the Birmingham bombing. According to the Southern Poverty Law Center, about 22 murder cases have been reopened in the South since 1989, resulting in 25 arrests and 16 convictions.
Read more: Civil Rights Cases Reopened: Medgar Evers, Birmingham Church, Emmet Till | Infoplease.com
Full Text Access to Featured Documents on Display
Sanitation workers strike on Beale Street while National Guard patrols
University Libraries' Digital Repository Digital Image © 2011, University of Memphis Libraries Preservation and Special Collections Department.
The Civil Rights Act of 1964 Exhibition
The White House and Civil Rights Issues Today
Featured Lecturer Daniel Kiel: The Memphis 13
Lecture and exhibition opening
Professor Daniel Kiel of the U of M Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law will discuss his research and the creative process behind his documentary, The Memphis 13. The lecture will mark the opening of the exhibition, "The Civil Rights Act of 1964: How Far Have We Come?" on view in McWherter Library until June 15, 2014. Free and open to the public. Click here for more information on the lecture.
How to Access the Collections
Books: Reference and Reserve books, along with those located in the Preservation and Special Collections department, are for library use only. All other copies are available for check-out. If you are not affliliated with the University of Memphis, visit the circulation desk and inquire about a community special privileges card.
CDs, DVDs and Videos: Patrons who affiliated with the U of M may check out most recordings according to established policies; community members may use their special priveleges card to listen and view materials in the library.
Databases: Patrons who affiliated with the U of M can access databases and online journals on campus or off-site using their username and password. Visitors who present their special priveleges cards to the reference librarian can access these resources using one of the guest computers in the Learning Commons on the first floor of McWherter Library.
Special Collections: All patrons are welcome to contact our Preservation and Special Collections department with inquiries.
Government Publications: The Superintendent of Documents uses an alpha/numeric classification system which assigns a SuDoc number to each publication and classifies each document by the agency or department that issues the document. For example SuDoc classification A is for materials issued by the Agriculture Department. Consequently it is impossible to browse the collection since each agency/department issues documents on various subjects. Patrons may check out items from this collection.