Skip to main content

Historical Newspapers

This research guide gathers historical U. S. newspapers that are available online and at no cost, including those available through newspaperarchives.com, the Google News Historical Archives, Chronicling America (Library of Congress), and state archives.

Tennessee Newspapers

Tennessee (outside Memphis and Shelby County):

Note the University Libraries holdings for these Tennessee newspapers. 

For full text of an article within a newspaper date that the University Libraries do not have: please contact our Interlibrary Loan office at ill_borrowing@memphis.edu and be sure to include article details such as date, publication, page information, etc.)

Newspapers from Shelby County and Memphis, TN

Highly Specific Regional Periodicals

The Columns: Issued by the Student Body of West Tennessee Teachers College, 1925-1930 and the Students of State Teachers College, Oct.-Dec.1930. The University Libraries owns microform for 1921-1925, 1927-1928, and 1930.

The Daily Memphis Whig: We have microfilm for May 30, 1856 in Cabinet 16, Drawer 1: on roll MEMPHIS PAPERS MISC. RECORDS, 1890-1931. 

The Evening Democrat (began in 1889): We have microfilm for April 12, 1890 in Cabinet 16, Drawer 1: on roll MEMPHIS PAPERS MISC. RECORDS, 1890-1931.

Gaiety ("reflecting gay life in the South"): Our Special Collections Department holds 1975-1976.

Gaze ("news of interest to the lesbian/gay community"): Our Special Collections Department holds 1961.

The Hebrew Watchman (continues the Memphis Hebrew): Our Special Collections Department has 1920, 1935 - 1937, 1940, and 1942.

The Independent ("A national citizens action newspaper"): Our Special Collections Department has an issue from October 1958.

The Mid-Memphian ("A neighborhood newspaper working with the Evergreen Historic District Association"): Our Special Collections Department has issues from 1985 and 1997.

The River City Review ("A dynamic force for responsible change."): Our Special Collections Department holds an issue from 1973.

The Shelby Democrat ("To keep you posted on Democratic programs, issues, office holders, party workers. With a local orientation.")

The Sunday Times (began in 1884): The University Libraries holds a selection of issues from 1886 and 1894 on microfilm.

The Whitehaven Press (Becomes: Whitehaven press shopper's guide (advertisements only), Feb. 1, 1967.): Our Special Collections Department has holdings for 1960.  

The Helmsman and the Daily Helmsman

Want to look through older issues of The Helmsman and The Daily Helmsman, the official, independent newspaper distributed to students, faculty and staff at Memphis State University and the University of Memphis?