Skip to main content
 

Researcher Resources for Publishing & Learning

What are OER?

"Open Education encompasses resources, tools and practices that are free of legal, financial and technical barriers and can be fully used, shared and adapted in the digital environment. Open Education maximizes the power of the Internet to make education more affordable, accessible and effective." SPARC - Open Education (https://sparcopen.org/open-education/) 

Selected List of Open Educational Resources

  • OER Commons – public digital library of open educational resources. https://www.oercommons.org/ 
  • Open Textbook Library - textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks  
  • MERLOT - free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education from around the world to share their learning materials and pedagogy https://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm  
  • OpenStax - open textbook publisher based at Rice University https://openstax.org/  
  • BCcampus OpenEd - quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats https://open.bccampus.ca/  
  • Digital of Open Access Journals is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. https://doaj.org/  
  • Open Course Library -  collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments http://opencourselibrary.org/about/  
  • HippoCampus - rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students https://www.hippocampus.org/  
  • Internet Archive OER - hundreds of free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities in the United States and China https://archive.org/details/education?tab=collection  
  • The Met Collection - The Metropolitan Museum’s initiative—called Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC)—provides access to images of art in its collection that the Museum believes to be in the public domain and free of other known restrictions; these images are now available for scholarly use in any media. https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection  
  • OpenDOAR - OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held. http://v2.sherpa.ac.uk/opendoar/about.html  
  • Open and free cotnent on JSTOR and Artstor- Partnerships with libraries make content available worldwide. https://about.jstor.org/oa-and-free/  
  • Project Gutenburg- Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks https://www.gutenberg.org/  
  • PubMed Central- PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/?cmd=search&term=  
  • Teaching Commons – Open educational resources from leading colleges and universities https://teachingcommons.us/ 
  • The World Digital Library – Intenational Digital Library United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization and U.S. Library of Congress. https://www.wdl.org/en/