Critical analyses of ten major--and commonly-studied--works of literature: Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, The Crucible, Hamlet, Macbeth, works of Steinbeck, Pride and Prejudice, The Scarlet Letter, Their Eyes were Watching God, Things Fall Apart, To Kill a Mockingbird.
Search for reviewed authors or titles in the search boxes. Below the search boxes, deselect all content types except Reviews & News. This database indexes review publications such as Women's Review of Books, Kirkus Reviews, Booklist, Library Journal, and Publishers Weekly, and includes some full text. Also a great source for reviews of children's literature.
The Scribner Writers series provides students, teachers, and other researchers access to more than 2,000 original, comprehensive, scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world and from all time periods. Each entry averages 15-20 pages in length and includes a concise essay and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context. Articles are written by noted literary scholars, and the American Writers and British Writers series are managed and edited by Jay Parini, a novelist and professor of English and Creative Writing at Middlebury College in Vermont. Many authors are seen from multiple perspectives in two, three, or even four essays--a broad biocritical overview as well as specialized treatments. Each essay includes a concise introductory preface and a biography placing the author's work within a personal and historical framework.
This database contains over 10,020 documents; documents may be searched with fourteen different options (and in combinations), for example, by title, keyword, and author. Searches can be narrowed by year, subject area, target audience and publication language. Twaynes authors online is comprised of Twayne's U.S. Authors, Twayne's English Authors, and Twayne's World Authors. Each of these individual titles provides literary criticism for approximately 200 authors, bringing the total number of authors covered in the Series to nearly 600.;"Access provided by the Tennessee State Library & Archives and Tenn-Share, part of the Tennessee Electronic Library"
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Ambrose Video 2.0 is a collection of 37 BBC Shakespeare Plays, provided by the Tennessee Board of Regents. Collection includes: All's Well That Ends Well; Antony & Cleopatra; As You Like It; The Comedy of Errors; Coriolanus; Cymbeline; Hamlet; Henry IV; Henry V; Henry VI; Henry VIII; Julius Caesar; King John; King Lear; Love's Labour's Lost; Macbeth; Measure for Measure; Merchant of Venice; Merry Wives of Windsor; A Midsummer Night's Dream; Much Ado About Nothing; Othello; Pericles; Richard II; Richard III; Romeo & Juliet; Taming of the Shrew; The Tempest; Timon of Athens; Titus Andronicus; Troilus & Cressida; Twelfth Night; Two Gentleman of Verona; The Winter's Tale.
Kanopy offers one of the most unique and compelling collections of film on the planet. The films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, to must-see classics and blockbuster movies. Our sophisticated discovery engine encourages our users to challenge themselves to watch films outside of their comfort area. Kanopy streams more than 26,000 films to 3,000 higher education campuses worldwide, reaching millions of students around the globe. Kanopy knows that students love learning through film and they want to make it easy for libraries to find and acquire the films.