Skip to main content

Memphis Composers

Memphis area composers, including current and former faculty, students, community members.

Lyn Joyner

Lyn (Emelyn) Gillick Joyner is Organist (CAGO) and Choir Director at All Saints Episcopal Church. She holds a B.S. from Skidmore College; an M.A. from New York University; and a D.M.A. in Composition from the University of Memphis, where her primary instructor was Don Freund. Dr. Joyner began her studies in composition after writing music for three productions at La Mama Experimental Theatre Club in New York City. 

In Memphis, as a composer she has collaborated with George Latimer, Karen Zissoff, Sally Radell, and Maxine Strawder. She has composed music for dances and multimedia works that have been performed at the Orpheum Theatre, Theatre Memphis, Evergreen Theater, and the Dixon Gallery, among other venues. She has won three GMMTA "Composer of the Year" Awards, as well as a Gold Addy (1991) for music accompanying a television commercial. She is a founding member and officer of the Memphis Composers Alliance, which was later named the Mid-South Composers Forum. 

A lifelong church musician, Dr. Joyner continues to write and arrange music for worship, as well as keyboard and chamber works. A new interest for her includes composing for the hammered dulcimer. 


Three Old Yuletide Carols score

Oak Leaf Ballad for Viola Trio score

3 Settings of Billings' Tunes for Hammered Dulcimer and Cello  score:

     I-Africa - But Be of Good Cheer

     II-Vermont - With Grace, Not with Meats

     III-Rose of Sharon - Rose of Sharon

3 Messages for Piano  score

2 Dances for Hammered Dulcimer  score

Come, Traveler Unknown - for hammered dulcimer and organ  score

My Shepherd - for hammered dulcimer and organ  score

He Is Risen - for organ  score

Holy Manna - quartet for 4 dulcimers  score

Simple Gifts - for organ  score

6 Old Yuletide Carols for Hammered Dulcimer and Cello - dedicated to Ann Kendall Ray, cellist and musicologist  score

D.M.A. Composition Dissertation: Media for Soprano and Chamber Orchestra (1989)  score