"white privilege" AND women AND ("motion picture" OR film)
race AND women AND ("motion picture" OR film)
"the help" AND race AND "motion picture"
race AND "the color purple" AND women
precious AND ("film" OR "motion picture") AND race
Below is a selection of journals available to you through the Libraries. These journals publish scholarly research and criticism relevant to gender & film. Online journals can be searched by keyword, author, or article title.
Because Film & History recognizes the constructed nature of almost every film, even of documentaries, the journal publishes scholarship that understands both the aesthetic and historical contexts of the work under study.
Film Criticism is a peer-reviewed, online publication whose aim is to bring together scholarship in the field of cinema and media studies in order to present the finest work in this area, foregrounding textual criticism as a primary value.
Indexes journals covering all aspects of mass media and includes the full text of many articles. Check the box next to "scholarly peer reviewed journals" on the main search screen to limit your results to those types of sources.
An archival database that indexes articles with full text from a variety of media studies journals and feminist/Women's Studies journals. For most journals, the most recent 3-5 years of scholarship is not available in JSTOR.
Indexes books, dissertations, and journals. Contains some full text (limit your search to "linked full text" on the main search screen). Only finding abstracts? Use "article linker" to find full text in other databases or email me for help.