This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles. Coverage: 1952-Present
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. The database features more than 2,100,000 records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts. Contains abstracts for more than 1,260 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included, and searchable cited references are provided. Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
This database contains citations and summaries for material from 1965 to the present. Click the green and white "article linker" icon from the record of an article you want to find out if we have the full-text in another database or if we have the journal in print format in the library on the second floor.
This database contains full-text articles in the Social Sciences and Humanities. For targeted results, click the ARTICLE SEARCH tab and limit your search by selecting SOCIOLOGY in the "By Discipline" box.
Maintained by the U.S. Department of Justice, this database can be searched by keyword or citation or browsed by topic (click "A to Z Topics" on the left sidebar). Mostly abstracts, but some full-text content, from journals, government reports, statistical data sets, and other sources.
Provides fulltext access to hundreds of newspapers, including three major metropolitan Tennessee newspapers: the Memphis Commercial Appeal, the Chattanooga Times-Free Press, and the Knoxville News-Sentinel. Also includes popular news magazines, detailed special reports on current events, and hot topics. Coverage: varies by paper.
Search for articles in major Tennessee newspapers and popular news magazines.
Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations (with some full text) to a wide variety of journals, dissertations, and government reports in many social sciences fields, including political science, human environment studies, sociology, criminology, women's studies, law, public affairs, and more.
Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations (with some full text). When .pdf or link to full text is unavailable, click "Search UM Libraries" to find a link to the full-text article.