Research Guides: HLSC 3500: Critical Topics in Health Behavior: Databases

Recommended Databases

Use these databases to search for articles, books, reports, and more on most public health topics.

CINAHL (1982-present)
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) covers journals, books and other materials in nursing and the allied health fields.
CINAHL help
Want to learn more about CINAHL?

MedLine (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 19,00+ journals in all areas of medicine, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, preclinical science, and health care. Abstracts availalbe for most citations. Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index.

Coverage: 1950-Present

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language that the non-specialist can understand
Nursing and Allied Health Collection Comprehensive
Full text. Is also searched when you search CINAHL.
PubMed (1966 to present)
The National Library of Medicine’s vast database of medical journal literature.
PubMed Tutorial
Want to learn more about PubMed?

SciVerse This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of the Elsevier publications in Chemistry, Energy, Engineering, Immunology & Microbiology, Materials Science, Medicine & Dentistry, Neuroscience, Nursing, Pharmacology, Physics & Astronomy, and Veterinary Science.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus provides abstracts and citation tracking of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. It features tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Researchers who use Web of Science will find Scopus indexes the same fields but with broader coverage. Users needing the Scopus ID" (for example, to use the "Papers by mekentosj" citation software), please use C000040240."