Skip to Main Content
 

RefWorks: A citation management system

Learn how to create an account and get started saving, organizing, and sharing your research!

RefWorks to Mendeley

Move Citations from RefWorks to Mendeley

You will need to export each folder individually and create folders in Mendeley that replicate the folder name in RefWorks. For best results, do not exceed 500 references at a time. Here is Elsevier's guide for the migration (make sure to use the instructions for "ProQuest RefWorks"--the second set of instructions).

The instructions below are adapted from both Elsevier and University of Texas - Arlington's guides.


To migrate your ProQuest RefWorks references into Mendeley:

  1. Log in to your Pro Quest RefWorks account.
  2. Click on the folder you want to migrate. Ensure you you select all references you want to migrate.
  3. From the top menu, click on the export button and selec tExport references
  4. In the pop-up menu that appears, ensure that ‘Selected references’ is selcted (‘All references in <Folder Name> would export all) and that the Export Format is set to BibTeX.
  5. When ready, click the ‘Export’ button which appears in the bottom right of the pop-up.
  6. Save the BibTeX file in your computer

 


In Mendeley

Login to your Mendeley account using your credentials.

  • Mendeley
    A free reference manager and academic social network. Make your own fully-searchable library in seconds, cite as you write, and read and annotate your PDFs on any device.

 

Create a Collection (In Mendeley, folders in your library are called Collections)

  1. Click on the Library link in the top right menu in Mendeley.
  2. In the left menu, under the Collections heading, hover over the phrase "New Collection" and click on it. A text box appears. Type the name of your RefWorks folder here.

Mendeley Collections Menu

 

Import references from New RefWorks

  1. At the top of the left menu in your Library, click on the button labeled "Add New".
  2. In the resulting dropdown menu, select Import Library --> RIS (*.ris).

Navigation to import RIS file from RefWorks into Mendeley

 

  1. Navigate to the .ris file of your RefWorks library, and select it. After a few seconds, you should see a confirmation that the files was successfully imported.
  2. Click on the "Recently Added" item in the left menu. You should now see the references that you just imported.
  3. Select all references by clicking on the checkbox in the header row next to Authors.

Select all recently added references using the checkbox at the top.

 

  1. With all references now selected, use the Organize --> Add to Collection tool at the bottom of the page to move the references into their corresponding Collection.

Use the Organize tool to move recently imported references into a Collection.