Skip to Main Content

Brenda Jackson Guide: Home

This LibGuide is designed for parents of Austic children through 12th Grade.

Home

Autism LibGuide

Autism LibGuide

Autism is a serious condition that has a major affect upon a child that can set them apart in many ways from the other children.  Sometimes they are bullied or tease about their autism  because they do not know the ramifications behind this condition.  The purpose of this LibGuide is to offer established and proven available resources to parents, school administrative staff members, teachers, college students, or the public at large who desires to know more about this medical condition for information. The targeted age group for this LibGuide is for preschool students up to the twelfth grade. Namely, the Egypt Elementary School is the targeted library for possible students, faculty, administration, and community who can use these resources in addition to the general public. Anyone who desires to know more about children with autism can use this LibGuide that will serve as a one stop shop with pertinent ready to use resources on this subject.

Autism is a developmental disorder that appears by age three and is characterized especially by difficulties in forming and maintaining social relationships, by impairment of the ability to communicate verbally or nonverbally, and by repetitive behavior patterns and restricted interests and activities. It is also described as a progressive condition that changes one’s body, societal, and verbal abilities in an individual where the symptoms are recognized usually by the age of three years old and sometimes earlier.

Autism is an important topic in school libraries because the library is designed to accommodate students of all types regardless to the medical or physical need. This includes materials that parents of autistic children or the children themselves can check out materials about this condition to educate them so this condition does not dictate or control these student’s learning ability (Britannica, 2023).  

Academic Journal

Utilization of Physical Activity in School-Based Settings for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder

This source explores the behavior of children who has autism, which has a major effect upon their ability to learn. In order to assist these students on how to cope with their behavior due to autism, sometimes physical activity is used. The teacher might have to have aides to implement the physical activity into their daily teaching routines. This survey used 120 teachers who wanted to share their knowledge and understanding of the results of using physical activities (PA) on children who had autism, how they incorporated PA throughout their workday, and how they actually created and established a workable plan to use in their classroom on a consistent basis.  Finally, this survey was able to offer support to teachers in their classrooms for students who had autism. Teachers of today can also use this survey on PA to gain knowledge on how to assist students in their classrooms who has this condition without having to feel emotionally overwhelmed due to a lack of established and proven information.

 

Oriel, K. N., Wetzel, E., Reed, T., Wilt, C., & Saufley, R. (2020). Utilization of Physical Activity in School-Based Settings for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder. Plaestra. 34(4), 44-49.            

Book

Autism : attacking social interaction problems, a therapy manual targeting social skills in children 4-9 / Pamela Wiley, PhD, CCC-SLP, Betholyn F. Gentry, PhD, CCC-SLP, Jamie Torres-Feliciano, MA.

This resource contains illustrated parental writings, instructor writings, periodical proficiency stages, and modest reports to support the materials offered in the writing and the suggestions that was offered for extension events. This AASIP program offers an all-inclusive yet everyday method of instructing social communication abilities during an individual’s lifetime who suffers with autism which impacts their social communication deficits. Children can now learn how to handle themselves in conversation when dealing with their peers while they become common communicators that build their confidence. This workbook has 16 chapters for children ages 4-6 and 7-9 which has activities for each age group based upon their individual needs.  This source can very well be used by elementary or middle schools or clinics who sees autistic children since this is a workbook on autism.

 

Wiley, Pamela, Betholyn F. Gentry, and Jamie Torres-Feliciano. 2016. Autism: Attacking Social   Interaction Problems: A Therapy Manual Targeting Social Skills in Children 4-9. San Diego, CA: Plural Publishing. https://search-ebscohost-com.ezproxy.memphis.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=psyh&AN=2015-48719-000&site=ehost-live

Book Jacket

Book

Autism : attacking social interaction problems : a therapy manual targeting social skills in teens / Betholyn F. Gentry, Pamela Wiley.

This source is a Therapy Manual that targets social interaction problems in teens between ages 13-16 who has autism. It has 10 chapters with 3 lessons each that were written by authors who has well over 20 years of experience in working with children diagnosed with autism. It was actually created using suggestions from teens who has autism and their parents who had to learn how to manage their child’s autistic condition. “The lessons are filled with fun and age-appropriate activities that incorporate current issues facing teens today such as peer pressure, learning honesty, self-esteem, dealing with bullies, and social media. The activities utilize games, worksheets, role-play skits and discussions questions, and can be used in social skills groups"--Back cove (Gentry, 2016).”  As it stands, this is a very reliable source for any parent who desires information from proven sources on how to handle their teenaged child who has been diagnosed with autism. When their autistic child needs an edge over learning to cope with autism, the activities in this study teaches the parents how to generate a positive attitude rather than negative ones. This source can be found at Health Sciences Library – Oversized Call number RJ506.A9 G463 2016- UofM Libraries.

 

Gentry, B. F. (2016). Autism : attacking social interaction problems : a therapy manual targeting social skills in teens (P. (Speech-language pathologist) Wiley (Ed.)). Plural Publishing, Inc.

 

Book Jacket

Biological Source

Biographical disruption or cohesion?: How parents deal with their child's autism diagnosis

There has been an increase in children who has autism where studies are being generated for more understanding on this development. Sometimes parent’s input or comprehension on their child’s autistic diagnosis has not been effectively examined, which can complicate this situation. A study was generated using 20 parents that had children who were diagnosed with autism in order to understand how parents feel about their child’s condition. Some parents experience deep emotional pains in the midst of learning how to cope with this diagnosis. This study offer “parent-biographical cohesion” as an alternative to parent’s feelings of emotional disturbance due to their child’s condition.  The cohesion is offered to the parents on how to positively handle this condition rather than allowing it to disrupt their hopes of helping their child versus this condition getting the best of them.  Any parent who has a child with an autism diagnosis will appreciate this source because it offers them an alternative to being overwhelmed with grief over this child’s condition.

 

Rasmussen, P. S., Pedersen, I K., & Pagsberg, A. K. (2020). Biographical disruption or cohesion? How parents deal with their child’s autism diagnosis.  Science & Medicine, 244.

https://dio-org.ezproxy.memphis.edu/s0.1016j.socscimed.2019.112673

Book Jacket

Dictionary

Brittanica Dictionary

            According to Brittanica dictionary, autism is a condition or disorder that begins in childhood and that causes problems in forming relationships and in communicating with other people.  Brittanica dictionary has a general meaning that elementary, middle school, and high school students can understand.  Parents and school officials alike will appreciate this source for immediate or a quick meaning of autism for family members or school officials, or anyone else who desires a general meaning of this term.

To use this online dictionary, simple type “Brittanica dictionary” in the search prompt.  When the results come up, click on “Brittanica dictionary” to go directly to that website.  Once “Brittanica dictionary” search prompt is available, type in the word “autism.”  The word along with its meaning will come up on the screen.

 

Find Definitions & Meanings of Words | Britannica Dictionary. (2023). Www.britannica.com. Retrieved on 11/29/2023. https://www.britannica.com/dictionary

Merrian Webster dictionary

Merrian Webster dictionary is a very reliable source dating back many years. It is also an encyclopedia company that has been America’s leading provider of language information for more than 180 years.  Each month, our award-winning websites, apps, and social media channels offer guidance to tens of millions of visitors.  All Merriam-Webster products and services are backed by the largest team of professional dictionary editors and writers in America.

This dictionary has a general meaning where elementary, middle school, and high school students can understand.  Parents and school officials alike will appreciate this source for immediate or a quick meaning of autism for family members or school officials, or anyone else who desires a general meaning of this term.

To use this online dictionary, simple type “Merrian Webster dictionary” in the search prompt.  When the results come up, click on “Merrian Webster dictionary” to go directly to that website.  Once “Merrian Webster dictionary” search prompt is available, type in the word “autism.”  The word along with its meaning will come up on the screen.

 

Merriam-Webster. (2023). Merriam-Webster dictionary. Merriam-Webster.com; Retrieved on 11/29/2023. Merriam-Webster. https://www.merriam-webster.com/

E-Book

Here's How to Provide Intervention for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder: A Balanced Approach

This is a very good resource for speech-language pathologists who works directly with autistic children and graduate students who are preparing to work with patients in this demographic. The authors offer precise information on autism based upon the new DSM-5 code book.  It shows how autism affects communication, socialization, behavior, and learning. In addition, this book offers evidence-based practices and provide tools for instructional strategies. It does not offer a formula for rehabilitation but strategies to follow and individualize for each patient. Any pathologist or graduate student who will work with autistic children can appreciate this resource. It is also very easy to use and follow.

ISBN # 9781597564601 

Cathirine B. Zeno, & Michelle Peters Hite. (2014). Here’s How to Provide Intervention for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder: A Balanced Approach. Plural Publishing, Inc. 

Living With Autism Spectrum Disorders : Guidance for Parents, Careers, and Siblings.  

This resource is designed to assist professors and parents on how to handle children who has been diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder as well as offer assistance to families, schools, and agencies.  The material is user-friendly and easy to read and understand. People who do not have direct experience or knowledge can appreciate this e-book that is filled with pertinent information on ASD. This e-book is easy to gain access and the information is easily understood by its readers.  It also is jam packed with a wealth of experience from people who has had direct contact with autism victims and their parents. This resource will be an eye-opener for educators and parents alike who must deal with students who has been diagnosed with autism. 

This e-book can be accessed by going to University of Memphis database search prompt under library search.  Click on databases and type “autism” in `the database search prompt at the top of the page and enter. From the drop-down menu on the left, click on subject.  Click submit search.  Scroll down under these words in the center of the page, “Your entry autism would be here.”  Scroll down to autism in adolescence and click on it.  Then click on the third e-book that entitled: Living With Autism Spectrum Disorders : Guidance for Parents, Careers, and Siblings University  of Memphis Users - Access via EBSCO. This will give the patron access to this e-book. 

 

Attfield, E., & Morgan, S. H. (2007). Living with autistic spectrum disorders : guidance for parents, carers, and siblings. Paul Chapman Pub.

 

Book Jacket

Technology and the treatment of children with autism spectrum disorder / Teresa A. Cardon, editor.


          This e-book examines new high-tech inventions that will support children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD).  It offers hands-on directions with evaluation, cure planning, and shared intervention. It talks about conclusions on computer hardware and software improvements that aims at specific cognitive, social, academic, and motor skill areas. It also defines promising ideas that lowers financial debit and increases new technologies at the same time.  The new technologies also help students with ASD using their writing skills.  Technology is also used to assist students with ASD in their personal, social, and occupational skills as well as support the community. This e-book shows how to use of mobile technology to support community position with the students of autism. Technology plays a major part in the treatment of children with autism.  This e-book is offers a solution using current technology to assist autistic children with their personal, social, and personal issues. Therefore, this e-book is very useful to parents of autistics children using technology since this is the age of technology.

 

ISBN

9783319208725 (electronic bk.)

Cardon, T. A., & Springerlink (Online Service. (2016). Technology and the Treatment of Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder. Springer International Publishing.

Book Jacket

 

 

 

Encyclopedia

 

Britannica Encyclopedia

Brittanica is made up of researchers, editors, technologists, designers, and

quizmasters united in our commitment to tell stories, to teach, and to never lose sight of the fact that learning is one epic, lifelong journey.  It is a very reliable source in that it is widely used by many schools, colleges, law offices, public libraries, and law libraries, etc. Britanica Encyclopedia will not disappoint its users by providing the needed information for each patron for around 180 years or so.

To use this online encyclopedia, simple type “Brittanica encyclopedia” in the search prompt.  When the results come up, click on the “Brittanica encyclopedia” link to go directly to that website.  Once “Brittanica encyclopedia” search prompt is opened, simply type in the word “autism” in the prompt.  The word along with its meaning will come up on the screen with complete information.  In addition, much more information is available on this subject.

 

Blatt, G. (2019). autism | Definition, Symptoms, Neuropathology, & Diagnosis. Retrieved on 11/29/2023. In Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/science/autism

Infoplease Encyclopedia

            “Autism is a developmental disability resulting from a neurological disorder that affects the normal functioning of the brain.  It is described as abnormal development of various skills and understanding and reasoning. Autism in children usually show signs by the age of 24 to 30 months or as early as younger than one year old. Symptoms include impairment in social interaction, fixation on inanimate objects, inability to communicate normally, and resistance to changes in daily routine. Characteristic traits include lack of eye contact, repetition of words or phrases, unmotivated tantrums, inability to express needs verbally, and insensitivity to pain. Behaviors may change over time. Autistic children often have other disorders of brain function; about two thirds are mentally retarded; over one quarter develop seizures (Infoplease, 2022).” This is a very reliable source of information for parents, educators, and people in the medical field as well.  It gives detailed information on this subject that is in comparison to other references that is also very helpful for anyone looking for general information on this subject.

 

autism | Infoplease. (n.d.). Www.infoplease.com. Retrieved December 3, 2023, from https://www.infoplease.com/encyclopedia

/medicine/diseases/pathology/autism

Geographical Resources

Geographical resources

Parent Perceptions of Environmental Triggers for Autism: A Community-based Pilot Study Among Parents of Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders in Rural Settings

Environmental factors have been increasingly identified as the cause of the current high prevalence of autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Objective: The purpose of this study is to understand parents' perceptions regarding environmental influence and autism. Methods: We conducted individual, face-to-face interview with parents of children with ASD in Eastern North Carolina. Results: Our sample is comprised of 25 parents of children with autism with an average age of 39.08 and 68% with mothers. Our data indicated that 19 (76%) parents believed that environmental factors impacted the development of their children's autism, half of them indicated >50% of influence. Among these environmental triggers, food and water (52%), air pollution (40%), pesticides and cleaning products (20%) with the most identified contributing factors associated with the onset of autism. Conclusions: Our findings reflected some unmet needs to improve parental awareness of environmental triggers of ASD.

 

Lei Xu, & Balanay, J. A. (2019). Parents Perceptions of Environment Triggers for Autism: A Community-Based Pilot Study among Parents of Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder in Rural Settings. American Journal of Health Studies, 34(2), 93-105

Content Analysis of Abstracts Published in Autism Journals in 2021: The year in Review

Ever since Leo Kanner first described autism in 1943, the research in this field has grown immensely. In 2021 alone, 5837 SCOPUS indexed documents were published with a title that contained the words: " autism ", "autistic", or "ASD". The purpose of this study was to examine the most common topics of autism research in 2021 and present a geographical contribution to this research. Methods: We performed a content analysis of 1102 abstracts from the articles published in 11 Autism journals in 2021. The following journals, indexed by the SCOPUS database, were included: AutismAutism Research, Molecular Autism, Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders, Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities, Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities, Review Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, Advances in AutismAutism and Developmental Language Impairments, and Autism in Adulthood. Results: According to the analysis, the main research topics were: mental health, social communication, social skills, quality of life, parenting stress, ADHD, Covid-19, self-efficacy, special education, and theory of mind. In relation to geographic distribution, most studies came from the USA, followed by the UK, Australia, and Canada. Conclusion: Research topics were aligned with the priorities set by stakeholders in autism, most notably persons with autism themselves and their family members. There is a big gap in research production between developed countries and developing countries.

 

Memisevic, H., & Djipa, A. (2023). Content Analysis of Abstract Published in Autism Journal in 2021: The year in Review. Journal of Autism & Development Disorders, 53(12), 4849-4855. https://doi rg.ezproxy.memphis.edu/10.1007/s10803-022-05851-4

Charting a course to support military families navigating service systems for children with Autism Spectrum Disorder: A qualitative study.

When individuals join the military, it is a known fact that they will have to relocate several times before they retire.  In Canada, it is a major problem trying to use health care facilities in the places where they move when there are pressing health care issues that need constant care. For a family that has a child with health care issues, this can be a very challenging situation along with maintaining the child’s education. This study aimed at finding more clarity of the Canadian Armed Forces on how these military families juggles health care issues with a child who had autism during mandatory relocation. The study also wanted to know what these families would recommend for how to improve the difficult situation with relocation, health care, and education. After the study, the military families reflected the same responses the clinical facilities report stated. The results of these reports will help military families who has children with ASD on how they were able to manage while relocating often during their career.  The study will also help these families prepare themselves mentally and emotionally while they actively try to assist their child with this autism diagnosis. This study can be accessed using the U of M online library system.

 

Cramm, H., Smith, R. G., Samdup, D., Williams, A., & Runland, L. (2020). Charting a course to support military families navigating service systems for children with Autism Spectrum Disorder: A qualitive study. Journal of Military, Veteran and Family Health, 6(2), 50-59. https://doi-org.ezproxy.memphis.edu/10.3138/jmvfh-2018-0047

Temporal and Geographical Variability of Prevalence and Incidence of Autism Spectrum Disorder Diagnosis in Children in Catalonia, Spain

This study takes place in Catalonia, Spain. Its goal is to determine the occurrence of autism spectrum disorders (ASD) in 2017 and ASD during the years of 2009 and 2017 in children in this region along with their temporal and geographical variability. They used information from the administrative staff in children between 2 and 17 years of age who had protection through Catalan Health System between those same years.  All know cases of ASD from this health care system were acknowledged then ranked by sex, age group, and healthcare area. The observation was based on geographical differences in occurrences in the 2017 data. To sum this study up, the ASD occurrences observed in this study was 1.23% in 2017, with a sex ratio of 4.5 in favor of boys, which is consistent with previous studies. Autism Res2019. © 2019 International Society for Autism Research, Wiley Periodicals, Inc.  This research is a very helpful tool for parents, educators, community members and medical professions who desire to have proven evidence of data based upon a study of both girls and boys, the outcome of that study, and the conclusion or results of the overall research project.  This information is available at the U of M library online services. 

 

Perez-Crespo, L., Guxens, M., Prats-Uribe, A., Tobias, A., Duran-Tauleria, E., Hervas, A., & Coronado, R. (2019).  Temporal and Geographical Variability of Prevalence and   Incidence of Autism Spectrum Disorder Diagnoses in Children in Catalonia, Spain.  Autism Research, 12(11), 1693-1705-1705. 

 https://doi-org.ezproxy.memphis.edu/10.1002/aur.2172

Does Location Matter? A Single-State Case Study Examining Geographic Differences in School-Based ASD Identification Practices

            In this source, geographic location did not make a difference in special education service delivery. This fact is especially important and is needed when it comes around to students with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). In most cases, this type of existing literature usually centers on geographic locations in seclusion whereas other materials examine differences between settings. Anything that is done to gain better understanding on how to improve identification processes can lead to more enriched long-term services for ASD students. This resource focuses on the change in ASD classification practices based on geographic location in a state by studying school-based practitioners in their practices on how to identify ASD in students. “No significant differences were found between geographic location (rural, small city, midsize city, large city, and suburban), the number of sources of information about ASD symptoms (evaluation tools), and the number of collaborations in the ASD identification process. Implications for research and practice are discussed (Safer, 2021).”  This resource is very helpful to parents, school administration and staff, community, and medical staff to inform them that according to this study and resource, ASD diagnosis is the same regardless to geographic location. It also reveals that regardless to location, each ASD diagnosis is basically the same and that no geographic location has more advantages than the other location.  Everyone in the medical field along with parents and school official has the same access to the available information from the state where they reside.

 

Safer-Lichtenstein, J., Reardon, K., & McIntyre, L. L. (2021). Does Location Matter? A Single-   State Case Study Examining Geographic Differences in School-Based ASD Identification Practices. Journal of Applied School Psychology, 37(2), 185-196-196.  https://doi-org.ezproxy.memphis.edu/10.1080/15377903.2020.181270.