Skip to Main Content
 

Urban Affairs and Public Policy

The goal of the School of Urban Affairs and Public Policy is to assist in identifying and implementing policies and programs that enhance quality of life, well-being and prosperity in metropolitan settings.

Header

City and Regional Planning

Home

Looking for more resources? Check out these research guides for more!

Statistics and Demographic Maps

Cartographic Materials Guidelines

The library purchases maps, atlases, charts, and other cartographic material to be housed in three locations:

  1. Map Collection (Government Documents): all physical formats are folded or rolled maps (serial charts, hydrographic charts, photomaps, remote sensing images, topographic prints) are collected; maps in series are not cataloged; atlases and other non-serial items are cataloged.  U.S. Geological Survey map series (some of which are uncataloged): Antarctic Research Program; Coal Investigations; Geologic Quadrangle; geophysical Investigations; Hydrologic Unit; Hydrological Investigations; Oil and Gas Investigations; Tennessee; Geological Quadrangle; Topographic Quadrangle (Ala., Ark., Kty.,Mo., Tenn., and scattered other states); and Water Resources Investigations.
  2. Special Collections: primarily maps of historical or regional interest, either flat or folded; maps are cataloged.
  3. Main Library Reference Department: atlases of general interest to support the Reference Collection; all atlases are cataloged.

Government Publications

As the Federal Regional Depository Library for Tennessee, Government Publications receives and provides research help with all the publications, maps, and electronic data distributed by the Government Publishing Office. Government Publications is also a depository for Tennessee state documents.

Contact Government Publications:


Special Collections

The Libraries Special Collections department houses books, manuscripts, oral histories, photographs, and other rare and special items pertaining to local and regional history. Call or visit the public service desk on the fourth floor of McWherter for assistance.

The Special Collections Department has over 1,000 maps. A portion of the maps are available through our online catalog and all maps can be found through the department’s map card catalog.

Contact Special Collections


Learning Commons

Atlases are available in the McWherter Learning Commons Reference Collection.

Software