Provides access to all subscribed, complimentary, and trial EBSCO databases: Business Source Premier, Regional Business News, the Serials Database, CINAHL, Nursing and Allied Health Comprehensive, LISTA, the music databases--IPM, RIPM, and RISM, Urban Studies Abstracts, Communication and Mass Media Complete, and the EJS Journal Collection. Databases can be searched individually or in combination. (All EBSCOHost databases are listed individually in Databases Search as well.)
The JSTOR database consists of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in all disciplines. Coverage: varies--going back to first year of publication and coming up to 3-5 years ago. See the Project Muse database for scholarly articles from within the past 3-5 years.
Provides access to the full text of more than 200 scholarly journals in many disciplines, including: African studies, anthropology, education, history, music, literature, philosophy, psychology, sociology, and more. Coverage: varies, typically the past 3-5 years.
Provides bibliographic data and abstracts for over 500 scholarly journals, as well as books, dissertations, conference proceedings and other materials related to music, also concert reviews and recording notes if of scholarly interest. Multilingual and worldwide in scope. Coverage: 1967-.
Through her compelling and well-crafted body of work over almost five decades, Joan Tower has become one of the world's most admired and celebrated composers. Joan Tower: The Comprehensive Bio-Bibliography celebrates her achievements and compositions, whether works for orchestra, symphonic band, chamber ensemble, or solo instrument. Author Ellen Grolman gives a full biography of the composer, supported by extensive personal interviews and family history dating back to 1637. She explores the experiences and influences that have shaped Tower's musical voice, from her upbringing in South America to her establishment of the Da Capo Chamber Players, and from her flight from serialism to her maturation into one of the most sought-after composers at work today. The book also gives extensive analysis of the composer's style, composing process, musical influences, and passionate advocacy of contemporary music. Many of the talented and esteemed soloists, chamber ensembles, and symphonic organizations with whom Tower has worked, including Leonard Slatkin, Zubin Mehta, the Emerson String Quartet, David Shifrin, Tania León, and Jennifer Higdon, speak candidly about their experiences with Joan Tower in the Peer Reflections section of the book. The bibliography of works lists each composition with date of publication, duration, dedication and commissioning data, and when available, premiers and selected performances. The discography entries include both commercial and non-commercial recordings, and an annotated bibliography precedes a comprehensive index.
The few in earlier times who gained some renown were as often as not the sisters, daughters, wives, or muses of well-known men--the surnames of Fanny Mendelssohn and Clara Schumann speak for themselves. Even with the present-day increase in their number, women composers have largely failed to draw the attention of the public.In recognition of these nearly invisible yet greatly talented musicians, Julie Anne Sadie and Rhian Samuel have brought together an international corps of experts to produce The Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers. This definitive source provides detailed biographies of more than 1,000 creators of Western classical music. In signed articles, the Dictionary chronicles the lives and works of women composers from all corners of the world. Here you can read about the Medieval mystic Hildgard von Bingen, the Renaissance madrigalist Maddalena Casulana, the flamboyant seventeenth-century vocal composer Barbara Strozzi, the prolific New Englander Amy Beach, and the Pulitzer Prize winner Ellen Taaffe Zwilich.