Research Guides: Community Health Nursing: Home

Get help at the Health Sciences Library

Health Sciences Library,
Room 2002
Community Health Building

Welcome!

This guide is geared specifically towards Community Health Nursing. This page covers basic databases and resources that cover a variety of nutrition and health topics, as well as links to other valuable guides. Use the tabs on the left hand side of the guide to discover research tips, books & ebooks, videos, and information and resources for this area of study.

For details about program requirements, check with the department - they're going to have the best and most current information about degree expectations.

General Databases

These are some of the primary databases for articles about clinical nutrition.

Biological And Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes the key international English-language periodicals in the biological and agricultural sciences, and includes extensive coverage of nutrition and food.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides MEDLINE access, along with OLDMEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE (citations in-process), and citations outside the scope of MEDLINE provided by journal publishers. Interconnects with other NCBI databases and resources. Articles from many medical journals are free after a 6-12 month embargo. Linkouts to fulltext provided at publishers' discretion. Coverage: OLDMEDLINE, 1950- 1965; MEDLINE, 1966-.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering socio-environmental issues and concepts, global warming, climate change, paleoclimatalogy. A key set of enclyclopedias also provides an overview to principles, approaches, strategies, and tools exploring environmental sustainability and implications as related to business and economics, cities, politics, energy, and food.
SciVerse This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of the Elsevier publications in Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science, Earth Science, Energy, Engineering, Immunology & Microbiology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine & Dentistry, Neuroscience, Nursing, Pharmacology, Physics & Astronomy, and Veterinary Science. Also available: Arts & Humanities, Business, Economics, and Social Science. Coverage: varies--citations back to first year of publication; full text, subscribed titles, 1999-.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 530 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Subject areas covered include: biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports & exercise psychology,coaching & education, and sports medicine. Full text coverage dates back to 1985. Access to full text is limited to 4 simultaneous users.

Community Health Nursing

Get help at the Health Sciences Library

Welcome!

General Databases

Browse Community Health Journals