When our collection does not meet all your needs, we still can help.
Use Interlibrary loan (ILL) to get resources from other libraries for free (the University Libraries absorb the cost) by submitting a request through ILLiad.
The ILL service is for faculty, staff, and enrolled students, only; it does not extend to one’s spouse or children.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service requests should be submitted through the ILLiad system of the University Libraries.
If not qualified for the ILL Service of the University Libraries the Memphis Public Library & Information Center may be able to supply material.
NOTICE WARNING Concerning Copyright Restrictions
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.
Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specific conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.
This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve a violation of copyright law.
Create your ILL account at “ILLiad Logon.” ILLiad is the name of the ILL management software used at the UofM.
See our video tutorial and learn how to ILL.
You may submit requests for materials using the Request Forms on your account. You may also submit requests through many of the University of Memphis databases.
Want to know how? Check out the Locate Scholarly Articles by Title + Generate Auto-Filled Interlibrary Loan Request video
When your request is available, we will notify you through your University of Memphis e-mail account.
Most article requests are filled electronically, and the notification e-mail will give you the directions for downloading the file.
Loans may be picked up at the Check-Out Desk on the first floor of McWherter Library with your UofM ID.
Faculty may choose to have their ILL Loans and circulating McWherter Library materials delivered to the administrative offices of their departments.
Interlibrary Loan supports the instructional, research, and scholarly activities of the University of Memphis faculty, staff, and students. The ILL Office will only request materials needed for scholarly research and ILL personnel reserves the right to cancel requests that do not fall into this category.
The following types of requests may be canceled and users notified:
Required textbooks for courses in which you are enrolled;
Research related to outside employment, commercial pursuits, personal enjoyment, interest, or hobby;
Print or Electronic material available at UofM Libraries or through licensed UofM databases;
Audiovisual materials not related to University-related research or academic study;
Dissertations & Theses (Check UofM Database: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global);
Items on Reserve or in Special Collections at UofM Libraries;
Materials held only in libraries outside of the United States;
Entire issues of journals;
Genealogical materials;
Rare/fragile materials;
Reference books;
Items held only by other institutions’ special collections or archives.
Requests are welcome for other material, including regularly circulating UofM books that are checked out or missing. Please notify the Circulation Staff if material is not found on the shelf as expected.
The University Libraries absorb most fees and charges associated with securing materials from other libraries on behalf of the user (fewer exceptions apply).
In addition, any costs associated with damage or loss while the material is “checked out” for use are the responsibility of the requesting person. Charges for loss or damage are at a rate to be determined by the lending library, which may include replacement charges as well as a processing or repair fee.
Fines, fees, and replacement charges are posted to one’s library account which then goes to the University account where payment is possible electronically here.
The due date is posted on the strap of all borrowed materials. Also, users can log in to their ILLiad account to view the due date or request an extension, if lending libraries allow renewals. Overdue notices are a courtesy and go only to the University of Memphis email account. Users are not exempt from overdue fines/replacement charges for the reason of not receiving an overdue notice.