This is the "Early and Rare Exhibition" page of the "Early and Rare: Selections from the Carroll and Pat Cloar Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Early and Rare: Selections from the Carroll and Pat Cloar Collection   Tags: art exhibit, event, exhibition, fine art, special collections  

A collaborative effort between the University Libraries, the Art Museum of the University of Memphis, and the Brooks Museum to exhibit the works of Mid-South artist Carroll Cloar in celebration of his 100th birthday.
Last Updated: Aug 6, 2013 URL: http://libguides.memphis.edu/summerofcloar Print Guide RSS Updates

Early and Rare Exhibition Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Hostile Butterflies and Other Paintings - Carroll Cloar
Call Number: ND237.C573 A47
ISBN: 0878700404
Publication Date: 1980-04-01

An exhibition of recent paintings by Carroll Cloar - Carroll Cloar
Call Number: MVP 3489
Publication Date: 1972
This item is located in the Preservation and Special Collections Department at the University Libraries. Patrons must ask for MVP 3489 to see the book.

 

Featured Work

Previously unknown work from Carroll Cloar's time in Saipan. The painting was created during his deployment in World War II and is now on display on the fourth floor of the Ned R. McWherter Library at the University of Memphis until September 15.

    Early and Rare: Selections from the Pat and Carroll Cloar Collection

    Our displays are located in the Rotunda and on the fourth floor of the Ned R. McWherter Library. The Art Museum's exhibition, In His Studio, is just a short walk from the Library. 

     

    Music recorded by Carroll Cloar

    In 1948 when Carroll Cloar was living in New York city he recorded a series of albums for a friend. The album is comprised of  three records and is housed in an original album book decorated in original art. The album is currently on display in the department of Preservation & Special Collections' exhibit space located on the fourth floor of the Ned R. McWherter Library.


    For more original tracks recorded by Carroll Cloar please visit the following tabs:An Artist's Education and An Artist's Transformation.

     

    The Carroll Cloar Collection at the University Libraries

    In the 1990s Pat Cloar Milsted, widow of Carroll Cloar, donated his papers to the University Libraries. The collection includes correspondence, scrapbooks, diaries, photographs (many which were used as raw materials for his paintings), and numerous exhibition catalogs that were amassed over the artist's life. All of the items from this research guide, and many from the Art Museum of the University of Memphis' exhibit, come from this collection.

     

    Contact Us!

    Preservation & Special Collections


    University of Memphis Libraries

    403 Ned R. McWherter Library

    Memphis, Tennessee 38152


    Phone: 901-678-2210

    Fax: 901-678-8218



    Curator: Mr. Edwin Frank

    striped line

    The University of Memphis | University Libraries | 126 Ned R. McWherter Library | Memphis, TN 38152-3250
    (901) 678-2208 (Reference and Services) | (901) 678-2201 (Administration) | (901) 678-8218 (Fax)

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip