Skip to main content

Special Collections

Learn about the collections that are available to you in our special collections department!

Special Collections Department 

Located on the 4th floor of McWherter Library -  901.678.2210

For hours visit the Special Collecitons' Hours and Location page

The University of Memphis Libraries' Special Collections department provides access to many historically important documents and artifacts. To learn more about the available collections visit the special collections resource page. 

The internet archive is an example of one of our digital collections. Explore the Internet Archive to find old University of Memphis yearbooks, directories, and commencement programs and get a sense what life was like for students all the way back in 1918!

 

 

Digital Repository Collection Highlights: 

National African American Photo Archive:  The National African American Photographic Archive (NAAPA) consists of photographs that capture the daily and work lives and social activities of African Americans. 

Digital Repository:  The University Libraries Digital Repository contains digital versions of select collection finding aids or guides, primary source documents, still images, and sound and motion recordings covering a range of  topics from  local and regional history to the Civil War and other conflicts, to  Civil Rights and African American community and culture.

Ben Hooks papers:  The Benjamin Lawson Hooks collection contains correspondence, speeches, printed materials, administrative files, photographs, and audio and video recordings that pertain to his life, especially his role as executive director of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People from 1977-1992.

Early Memphis Newspapers, Index Guide:  This collection serves as an introduction, guide, and table of contents for early Memphis Newspapers that were published from 1842 to 1900. The indexes focus primarily on local and regional events, as well as the Civil War era in Memphis. Indexed newspapers include: Memphis Appeal, Memphis Argus, Memphis Avalanche, Memphis Bulletin, Memphis Weekly Bulletin, Memphis Public Ledger, and obituaries from the Memphis and Commercial Appeal from 1843-1900. All indexed newspapers are available in microfilm at the University of Memphis Libraries. 

main rivals were the
Memphis Appeal
and the
Memphis Public Ledger
. It maintained a staunchly pro
-
Southern rights policy throughou
t the Reconstruction period. In 1895 the
Avalanche
was absorbed by
the
Memphis Appeal
.
The Index to the Civil War in Memphis Newspapers includes the following papers.
Memphis Appeal
(Ap)
Memphis Argus
(Ar)
Memphis Avalanche
(Av)
Memphis Bulletin
(B)
Memphis Weekly Bulletin
(WB)
Memphis Public Ledger
(