Skip to main content

Health and Sport Sciences

An information resource to support the programs of the Department of Health and Sport Sciences, which include: Clinical Nutrition; Dietetics; Exercise and Sport Science; Health Promotion; Physcial Education Teacher Education; Sport and Leisure.

WELCOME !

Tabs above lead to Health and Sport Sciences information and resources found in the University Libraries, its website, and other related research resources.

Follow the links!  Have questions about this guide? Have a suggestions about something to add?   Call the Library Liaison for the    Department of Health and Sport Sciences [below]. You may also call the Research and Information Services [RIS] Desk (901-678-2208) or emaiAsk-a-Librarian email.

Use Ask-a-Librarian ~ askus@memphis.libanswers.com ~ to request assistance. Unless it is a weekend, email should be answered within 24 hours.

You may request assistance from your Library Liaison, [gpbarton@memphis.edu], or send a general request to any librarian using the link above. A Reference Librarian will contact you  to discuss a time that would be convenient with your schedule.
10:00 am - 4:00 pm, 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm Monday through Thursday
7:00-9:00 pm Sunday
For books or articles not found within library resources, login to the ILLiad system which manages ILL requests.

NEED JOURNAL ARTICLES FOR RESEARCH?

Product banner imageSPORTDiscus with Full Text
Provides full text access to more than 660 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus covering biomechinics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health & therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports & exercise psychology, coaching & education, and sports medicine. (Please note:  This resource is limited to 4 users at a time.  If at the time of login the full text access is already being used by 4 users,you will automatically be given access to the Index only.)

The University Libraries' website has many databases that index thousands of journals published world-wide. Additional electronic indexes for the field of Health and Sport Sciences can be found by searching "Databases by Academic Area or Category" @  http://sierra.memphis.edu/search~S4/y: Enter:  Sports and Leisure Studies

EBSCOhost BASIC SEARCHING VIDEOGUIDE

Some resources offer the full-text of articles which can be read online or printed. Non-full-text listings may be available in print format in the University Libraries: simply search for the journal title in the UofM Libraries Catalog to determine exact volume/issue availability.

If full-text is not offered in either the electronic resource nor the UofM Libraries Catalog you may request a copy of the article through UofM Libraries' Interlibrary Loan Service. In most cases the article arrives as a pdf attachment and is posted to your established ILLiad Account.

NEED A BOOK?

Search:
UofM University Libraries' Catalog: A listing of all the books available in the University Libraries

  • Try finding books on your subject using key words (such as "sport science " or "exercise"). When you find a relevant book, click on subject headings in the book record that are related to your topic. For more help with searching the catalog, click Catalog Help.

WorldCat: A listing of books available in over 9,000 libraries worldwide

  • You can find many more books on your research topic by searching for the same subject headings (or key words) in WorldCat. You can request books found in WorldCat through Interlibrary Loan, or visit other Memphis academic libraries and check the books out by presenting your U of M card. For more information, you can Ask a Librarian!

Major Databases for Research

Product banner imageSPORTDiscus

 Full text for more than 530 journals including:

    JOPERD: The Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance
    International Journal of Sports Sciences & Fitness
    Journal of Applied Sport Management
    Journal of Fitness Research

SPORTDiscus with Full Text for more than 530 journals is an essential tool providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.  With full-text coverage dating back to the 1970's, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports and sports medicine literature.