The U of M's Ned R. McWherter Library's Preservations &
Special Collections lauded in the Memphis Daily News for
helping MLK documentary.
Tom Jennings, director of “MLK: The Assassination Tapes,”
and his colleagues heaped praises on the Special Collections
staff at the University of Memphis, whose efforts helped
the documentary about the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
win the prestigious Peabody Award.
The documentary, being shown on the Smithsonian Channel, followed the 1968 sanitation workers strike here and other events leading up to King’s murder.
MLK: The Assassination Tapes uses multiple formats of material showcasing the sanitation workers strike from the U of M Libraries' Special Collections department’s holdings. Copies of the documentary are on order.
Citizen King (PBS) pushes past the myths that have obscured King's story to reclaim the history of a people's leader. Using the personal recollections, diaries, letters, and eyewitness accounts of friends, family, journalists, law enforcement officers and historians, this film brings fresh insights to King's difficult journey, his charismatic -- if at times flawed -- leadership, and his truly remarkable impact.
Call Number: E185.97.K5 C58 2004 Video (Lambuth Campus Library - Main Level - Media Collection)
Eyes on the prize: America's civil rights years - 1954-1965 / Blackside, Inc. ; produced and directed by Judith Vecchione ; executive producer, Harry Hampton ; series writer, Steve Fayer - 7 discs
E185.615 .E983 2006 McWherter Permanent Reserve Collection
National Guard bayonets block Memphis' famed Beale Street March 29, 1968 as marchers supporting striking sanitation workers pass through downtown. A march led by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. the day before erupted in violence. UPI/Commercial Appeal
University of Memphis Libraries Preservation and Special Collections Department.
I Am a Man: From Memphis: A Lesson in Life is a documentary featuring Mr. Elmore Nickleberry, who was one of the original Sanitation workers who went on strike in 1968 to protest the unfair, racist practices of the Memphis Sanitation Department. At the time of the filming and its debut (2009), Mr. Nickleberry, at 77, was still working for the Memphis Sanitation Department, proud to have remained an active employee who helped keep the city clean.
1 DVD copy being processed for McWherter Library - 4th Floor - Special Collections
*Complementary print and eBook, I am a Man! Race, Manhood, and the Civil Rights Movement, also available--includes special chapter on the Memphis Sanitation Strike.
At the river I stand
(A film by David Appleby, Allison Graham, and Steven John Ross; a production of Memphis State University, Department of Theatre and Communication Arts.)
Memphis, Spring 1968 marked the dramatic climax of the Civil Rights movement. At the River I Stand skillfully reconstructs the two eventful months that transformed a strike by Memphis sanitation worker into a national conflagration, and disentangles the complex historical forces that came together with the inevitability of tragedy at the death of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
2 DVD copies ordered for McWherter Library - 2nd Floor;VHS currently available on 2nd floor (McWherter Library): HD5325.S2572 1968 M46 1993