HH Mississippi Blues by 
The Land Where the Blues Began by 
Soulsville U.S.A. by 
Good Rockin' Tonight by 
Happy in the Service of the Lord by Memphis Blues and Jug Bands by 
The NPR Curious Listener's Guide to Blues by Southern Music, American Music by The How Long Jug Band performs The Memphis Jug Band's "Little Green Slippers"
American Song - Audio files documenting the history of American music. Includes contemporary folk/roots, early rock & roll, Motown, doo-wop, boogie-woogie, soul, funk, R&B, ragtime, blues, jazz, gospel, disco, blues-rock, reggae, bluegrass, rock, country, honky-tonk, and spritiual. 2000 albums with 35,000+ recordings. Coverage: early 20th century onward.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music - Reference work covering all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present. Includes material on jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, with entries on trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Also provided: key dates, biographies, and further reading, along with complete discographies for all covered artists. Coverage: 4th edition.
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text - Index contains more than 500 international music periodicals--both scholarly and popular--from over 20 countries, plus feature music articles and obituaries from the NY Times and Washington Post. Addresses all aspects of the world of music. Selected full text.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries - Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings that serves as a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Leave questions in the "Comments" section or send an email to jtfritts@memphis.edu.