Classic Catalog - Search by keyword or using author, title, subject, call number, and other indexes. Keyword searches relevancy ranked, index results presented alphabetically or in numerical order. Use the Advanced Search option to limit your results by format type, language, specific library, and more.
Discovery Layer (Quicksearch / EDS) - All searches are keyword-driven and all results relevancy ranked. Use the Advanced Search option to limit by format type, language, specific library, and more. You can also limit results by clicking on facets (location, publication date, format, etc.) after searching.
Discovery Layer (Quicksearch / EDS) - In addition to the physical items held by University Libraries, the discovery layer also provides access to millions of articles and other online resources.
Classic Catalog - No. Searches books, audiovisual materials, sound recordings, and many other formats, but does not search for articles within journals. You can use "Journal Titles" to identify if the library subscribes to a particular journal.
Discovery Layer (Quicksearch / EDS) - Yes. Searches for articles within most University Library subscription databases and articles and e-resources from the EBSCO index. When the article full-text isn't immediately available, "Full text finder" links help you track down full-text.
Classic Catalog - Keyword searches are ranked by relevancy, but title/author/subject and numerical searches are presented in alphabetical or numerical order. Searches will yield fewer results in Classic Catalog than in the discovery layer.
Discovery Layer (Quicksearch / EDS) - Results are presented according to EBSCO's relevancy ranking algorithm. You may be overwhelmed at the huge amount of results you find in this platform. If so, apply the facets to refine your results.
Classic Catalog - Unless you limit your search to only retrieve UL materials, you will find materials at our partner schools (JSCC, LeMoyne-Owen, and the Law School). You will have to request these via Interlibrary loan.
Discovery Layer (Quicksearch / EDS) - The default search is limited to content to which UofM users have access. However, if you remove the Available in Library Collection option, you will discover articles, eBooks, and other materials to which UL does not have immediate access. Embedded "Click to Check Availability or Request" links facilitate requesting these materials via Interlibrary Loan.
Classic Catalog - Click to generate citations; mark, save, and e-mail titles; view checked-out items; renew and request materials; copy persistent link; view Google Book preview when available; Chat with a librarian.
Discovery Layer (Quicksearch / EDS) - Click to generate citations; export citations to RefWorks; mark, save, and e-mail titles; view checked-out items; renew and request materials; copy persistent link; track recent searches; browse book covers of related titles; view Google Book preview when available; Chat with a librarian.