Skip to main content

SPAN 7691: Seminar on Spanish American Literature: Latin American Literature

General Resources at the University of Memphis

--> Latin American Studies in Europe are also quite vigorous, with interesting programs of studies, journals, and publications.

Reference Works / Obras de consulta

LCSH: Latin American literature -- Dictionaries. // -- Biobibliographies. //-- Handbooks, manuals, etc. //-- Encyclopedias.

Diccionario enciclopédico de las letras de América Latina. 3 vols. Caracas: Biblioteca Ayacucho, 1995. Print (Reference PQ7081 .D515 1995).

Smith, Verity. Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997. Print (Reference PQ7081.A1 E56 1997). Online.

Young, Richard A, and Odile Cisneros. Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2011. Print (Reference PQ7081 .Y68 2011).

Note: Searching "Latin America" or a more specific topic in the Oxford Reference Online returns 6,970 articles and 15 books. This is a good reference collection for largely tertiary sources (see the "Finding Research Resources" page in this guide).

Periodicals / Revistas

LCSH: Latin American literature -- Periodicals.

Many more journals are available electronically than via print by two paths:

  1. linked from a database (see "Finding Research Resources")
  2. by searching the title in our "Journals" database, also accessible from the search box on the Libraries' main page or from the menu bar on the left of pages in the catalog.
            
On the Libraries' Main Page: click the "Journal Titles" tab, then search by title. On pages in the catalog: click on "Journal Titles"

Print journals are on the 2nd floor of McWherter, organized by title. Microfilm journals are on the 2nd floor, in the cabinets either to the North or South of the elevators. 

Series & Publishers / Series y Editorials

Vervuert-Iberoamericana publishes widely in Latin American studies as well as Peninsular studies.

The Institute for the Study of Ideologies & Literature (University of Minnesota) has several series and has made them open access.

El Instituto Internacional de Literatura Iberoamericana is an important trans-American center.

Internet Resources / Recursos en línea

Latin American Network Information Center (University of Texas, Austin): http://lanic.utexas.edu/

Latin American Database (University of New Mexico): http://ladb.unm.edu/

SCIELO Colombia (Scientific Electronic Library Online in English): http://www.scielo.org.co/scielo.php?lng=en

SCIELO Colombia (Scientific Electronic Library Online in Spanish): http://www.scielo.org/php/index.php?lang=es

Dialnet (Universidad de la Rioja): http://dialnet.unirioja.es/

Persée (France): http://persee.fr/web/guest/home 

//-- Study and teaching.

Moreiras, Alberto. The Exhaustion of Difference: The Politics of Latin American Cultural Studies. Durham: Duke University Press, 2001. Internet resource.

Poey, Delia. Latino American Literature in the Classroom: The Politics of Transformation. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2002. Internet resource.

Vidal, Hernán. Treinta años de estudios literarios/culturales latinoamericanistas en Estados Unidos: Memorias, testimonios, reflexiones críticas. Pittsburgh, PA: Instituto Internacional de Literatura Iberoamericana, Universidad de Pittsburgh, 2008. Print (McWherter 4th Floor PQ7081.A1 T74 2008).

 

Some Latin American Literature Journals

LCSH: Latin American literature--Periodicals. Civilization, Hispanic--Periodicals. Latin American literature--History and criticism--Periodicals. Spanish literature--History and criticism--Periodicals.

Most of these are indexed in The MLA International Bibliography and some are indexed in Humanities Full Text.

Casa de las Américas (La Habana, Cuba) Only vols. 186 (1992) - v. 195 (1994) and  196 [1994] - 205 [1996]

Chasqui  v.4 (1974/1975) - v.31 (2002), v.33 (2004) - v.38 (2009)

Cuadernos americanos Print v.23 (1964) - present

Discurso literario v.2 (1984) - v.10 (1992) became Discurso: revista de estudios iberoamericanos. v.10 (1993) -v. 12 (1995)

Forum for Inter-American Research (text and audio-visual resources). Online.

Hispamérica v. 15 (1986) - present (missing v. 25 in print). Also available on JSTOR

I & L, Ideologies and Literature. v. 1:1 (1976/1977) - v. 2:3 (1988).  Also available on the website of the Institute for the Study of Ideologies and Literature.

Inti n. 20 (1984) - present

Latin American Literary Review v. 3 (1974/1975) - present

Revista canadiense de estudios hispánicos v.1 (1976/1997) - present

Texto crítico which became Nuevo texto crítico  v. 19/20 (1988) - v. 22.42/43 (2009). 2008 to the present is available via Project Muse.

In the stacks (classed, with a call number)

Review (Center for Inter-American Relations)  (1968 - 1969): F1401 .C27