Skip to main content

SPAN 7306: Spanish in the United States: Finding Research Resources

Presents a sociolinguistic approach to the Spanish spoken in the U.S: the different varieties of Spanish the consequences of interlanguage contact ; relevant historical, social, cultural, and political factors.

Search Terms

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Spanish language -- United States

Spanish language -- Dialects -- United States

Codeswitching (linguistics) -- United States

Bilingualism -- United States

Languages in contact -- United States

Sociolinguistics

For Contextual Aspects of Hispanic Ethnic Groups in the US

(Elements in the Population: E184 + a Cutter number for the group)

Argentines (E184.A67)

Canary Islanders (Isleños) (E184.C22)

Caribbeans (E184.C27)

Central Americans (E184.C34)

Chileans (E184.C4)

Colombians (E184.C58)

Cubans (E184.C97)

Ecuadorians (E184.E28)

Guatemalans (E184.G82)

Hispanic Americans (see Latin Americans)

 Hondurans (E184.H66)

Latin Americans -- United States (E184.S75)

Mestizos (E184.M47)

Mexican Americans (E184.M5)

Nicaraguans (E184.N53)

Peruvians (E184.P47)

Puerto Ricans (E184.P85)

Primary vs. Secondary Resources

Sources are distinguished by how close they are to the original data:

  1. primary resources -- data collected from the field, from archives and documents, and from the artistic, literary, and cultural texts and artifacts studied.
  2. secondary resources -- books and articles studying primary resources or cultural and historical phenomena (including people, places, languages, events, and artifacts), and generally using other secondary sources.  Secondary sources are essentially a long conversation about things, which are themselves part of a conversation at a somewhat different level.
  3. tertiary resources -- guides, handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias that gather information from secondary resources to disseminate it.

Databases and Catalogs

To Find Materials (not specific to U of Memphis):

WorldCat has two interfaces:

You can establish an account in either of the interfaces.  In the new interface, you can save records to lists, and generate bibliographies.  In the New WorldCat, ILL requests are automated.

To Find What the U of Memphis Holds:

On the "All Databases" page: http://sierra.memphis.edu/search~S4/y

Choose the second box ("Databases by academic area or category") and select "Language" or "Linguistics"

The most useful indexes/abstracts will probably be the first three in the following table, with MLA, Education Full Text and ERIC (Proquest) providing the most seamless access to articles:

Database Results for "Spanglish" as keyword
MLA International Bibliography (full text links) 57
EBSCO Education Full Text (full text links) 14
ERIC (ProQuest with Full Text links) 19
ERIC (WorldCat Firstsearch) 12
EBSCO Humanities Full Text 12
Social Sciences Full Text    41
Web of Science (only links to articles via Article Linker) 43

I've included the sample search on "Spanglish" (keyword) as an idea of the depth of coverage of each database.

(We don't have Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.)

To Get Materials That the U of Memphis Does NOT Hold:

Subject Guide

Linde Brocato's picture
Linde Brocato
Contact:
University Libraries

University of Memphis

126 Ned R. McWherter Library

Memphis, TN 38152

901-678-4288