Skip to main content

Tutorials on Using Databases

Tutorials for Important Citation Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) indexes citations and abstracts of journal literature of the arts and humanities, including original research articles, reviews, editorials, chronologies, abstracts, scripts, and more. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.Coverage: 1976-. 

ISI's Journal Citation Reports Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provides data and analysis related to the impact factor for the most significant journals in the Sciences and the Social Sciences. Coverage: 2005-.
RefWorks

RefWorks is a bibliographic citation management software that allows you to create your own database. Generate bibliographies in hundreds of formats, including APA, MLA, and Turabian. Use the Write-N-Cite plugin to format papers. Registration is only available to University of Memphis students, faculty, and staff. Individuals must set up their own usernames and passwords with RefWorks. 

Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)

Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) indexes and provides cited referencing for the world's leading social science journals in 50+ disciplines, including: anthropology, criminology, economics, ethics, education, geography, history, hospitality, law, linguistics, nursing, political science, psychology, sociology, urban studies. Coverage: 1965-.

Science Citation Index (SCI)

Science Citation Index is part of Web of Science. It indexes and provides cited referencing for articles from the world's leading Science/Technology/Medical journals. 100+ disciplines are included, among them: agriculture, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computer science, dentistry, ecology, engineering, geology, materials science, mathematics, mechanics, medical ethics, microscopy, mineralogy, nursing, oncology, optics, psychology, ornithology, otorhinolaryngology, pediatrics, physics, plant sciences, zoology, and more. Coverage: 1965-.