Skip to main content

Tutorials on Using Databases

Tutorials about our Scholarly Databases

ABI/Inform

Business and management database providing extensive coverage of North America and the world. Research on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, plus information on 60,000+ companies. Includes full text documents and dissertations in the fields of business. Coverage: 1971-.

American FactFinder

A powerful resource for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,800 business publications. Sources include academic journals, trade publications, magazines, newspapers, industry and product reports, monographs, SWOT analyses, and more. Addresses all subject areas related to business. Coverage 1965-, or first published issue, some as far back as 1922.

CINAHL Complete

CINAHL Complete covers nursing, allied health, biomedical and consumer health journals, publications of the American Nursing Association, and the National League for Nursing. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and proceedings. Full text is included for nursing journals, newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher contains reports covering current controversial topics from the news; and CQ Weekly with coverage of U.S. Congressional bills, votes, committees, etc.

ERIC

ERIC includes books, journal articles, ERIC Digests, policy papers, conference papers, technical reports. Coverage: 1966- . 

IEEE Explore

IEEE Explore indexes and abstracts IEEE publications, transactions, magazines, letters, proceedings, and standards. Subjects covered include electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. The UofM has fulltext rights to articles in the ASPP periodicals from recent years. Coverage: citations, 1952- ; fulltext (limited to IEEE periodicals only), 1999- .

ISI's Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provides data and analysis related to the impact factor for the most significant journals in the Sciences and the Social Sciences. Coverage: 2005-.

LexisNexis Academic

Using LexisNexis Academic, you can find newspaper articles, company and industry news, legal news, country profiles. Includes all federal and state cases and codes; law reviews; information and financial data on public, private, parent, and subsidiary companies; international newspapers; tax and accounting publications, and more. Over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications included. Coverage: varies by publication.

MEDLINE MEDLINE indexes journals in the biomedical sciences, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, preclinical science, and health care. Abstracts availalbe for most citations. Coverage: 1950-.
Project MUSE

Project MUSE provides access to the full text of more than 200 scholarly journals in many disciplines. Coverage: varies, typically the past 3-5 years.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses // ProQuest HeritageQuest
PsycInfo

PsycInfo features citations to and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in psychology, plus psychological aspects in related disciplines (medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law). Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1632-present.

PubMed PubMed provides MEDLINE access, along with OLDMEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE (citations in-process), and citations outside the scope of MEDLINE provided by journal publishers. Interconnects with other NCBI databases and resources. Articles from many medical journals are free after a 6-12 month embargo. Linkouts to fulltext provided at publishers' discretion. Coverage: OLDMEDLINE, 1950- 1965; MEDLINE, 1966-.
RefWorks

RefWorks is a bibliographic citation management software that allows you to create your own database. Generate bibliographies in hundreds of formats, including APA, MLA, and Turabian. Use the Write-N-Cite plugin to format papers. Registration is only available to University of Memphis students, faculty, and staff. Individuals must set up their own usernames and passwords with RefWorks. 

SciFinder

SciFinder contains scientific information in journals and patent literature from around the world, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science, and agricultural science. Also searches Medline.

  • Visit this page to see a list of tutorials and other training resources on SciFinder.
  • You need to register for SciFinder --> REGISTER HERE.
SpringerLink

SpringerLink offers free access to search, tables of content, abstracts, and alerting services and some open-access articles. In addition to the free searching, U of M has purchased some content, indicated by a green box in the results list of your search.