Skip to main content

Tutorials on Using Databases

Tutorials for Resources Provided to U of M through TEL

Expanded Academic ASAP

Expanded Academic ASAP contains more than 5,300 titles; more than 3,000 full-text titles in a wide variety of disciplines, including more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage on a variety of subjects is available through social science journals, humanities journals, general interest magazines, science and technology journals, and national and global news sources. Coverage: 1980-

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library provides a simultaneous search for the various Gale online reference works.

General OneFile

General OneFile is a multidisiplinary source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Subjects covered include: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Coverage: varies.

Health & Wellness Resource Center

Health & Wellness Resource Center addresses topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes such reference sources as encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers. Coverage: 1980-. Provided by the Tennessee State Library & Archives and TennShare; part of the Tennessee Electronic Library.

Learning Express Library (thru TEL)

The Learning Express Library is a fully-searchable collection of test-preparation ebooks, covering elementary school, middle school, high school, college prepartaion, GED preparation, test for college students, U.S. citizenship, and jobsearch/workplace skills made available through the Tennessee Electronic Library. Spanish-language section also available.

Literature Resource Center Plus

Literature Resource Center Plus provides full text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from all ages and literary disciplines. More than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, and journalists are covered. The 2,500 most-studied authors are covered in-depth.

OmniFile Full Text Mega (H. W. Wilson)

OmniFile Full Text Mega (H. W. Wilson) includes citations, abstracts, and selected full text from periodical titles in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences and current events. Provides simultaneous search of Applied Science & Tech Retro and Applied Science Full Text, Art Fulltext and Art Retrospective, Biological & Agr Index Plus, Business Full Text, Education Fulltext and Education Index Retro, General Science Fulltext, Humanities & Social Sci Retro and Humanities Fulltext, Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science, Readers' Guide Fulltext and Readers' Guide Retro, and Social Sciences Fulltext.

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints covers current social issues, helping students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. It includes a streamlined interface, media-rich topic pages, and curriculum-focused tools that help students explore issues from all perspectives. Content in this database is categorized into sections: viewpoints (essays), reference, statistics, magazines and newspapers, images, primary documents, and web sites.

Powerspeak Languages

Powerspeak LanguagesWhether you want to learn a language for travel, business, or personal enrichment, Powerspeak Languages is a breakthrough in online language learning. The highly engaging courses utilize an arsenal of progressive language learning methods. Powerspeak Languages is an entertaining and effective way to learn the basics of Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Mandarin, Japanese, and Korean.

...and of course the Tennessee Electronic Library in general:

The Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) is a virtual library that you can access from your home PC, your library computer lab, or your mobile device – anywhere with an internet connection in the state of Tennessee. TEL provides access to over 400,000 electronic resources, including magazines, scholarly journals, podcasts, videos, e-books, test preparation materials, federal census records, Tennessee primary source materials, and more. Databases include InfoTrac: Onefile, General Reference Center Gold, Expanded Academic, Health & Wellness Resource Center, Health Reference Center Academic, Computer Database, the Professional Collection, National Newspaper Index, Informe (Revistas en Español), What Do I Read Next?, and General Business File International. Available in public and academic libraries throughout Tennessee with funding made available through the Federal Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Tennessee State Library and Archives.