Skip to main content

Tutorials on Using Databases

Tutorials about Accessing & Using Our E-Books

Cambridge Books Online

Cambridge Books Online offers access to eBooks covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.

EBSCO eBooks Our EBSCO eBook Collection contains over 63,000 titles for electronic books in all subjects: arts, business, education, health, history, law, recreation, science, social sciences, and more. Search by author, title, keyword, subject, or fulltext.
Learning Express Library (thru TEL)

The Learning Express Library is a fully-searchable collection of test-preparation ebooks, covering elementary school, middle school, high school, college prepartaion, GED preparation, test for college students, U.S. citizenship, and jobsearch/workplace skills made available through the Tennessee Electronic Library. Spanish-language section also available.

Oxford Reference Online (ORO)

Oxford Reference Online (ORO) is an online collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias in many fields including: art & architecture, bilingual dictionaries, biological science, classics, computing, earth & environmental sciences, economics & business, English dictionaries and thesauri, English language reference, food & drink, history, law, literature, maps & illustrations, military history, mythology & folklore, names & places, performing arts, physical sciences & mathematics, politics & social sciences, quotations, religion & philosophy, and science.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a bibliographic citation management software that allows you to create your own database. Generate bibliographies in hundreds of formats, including APA, MLA, and Turabian. Use the Write-N-Cite plugin to format papers. Registration is only available to University of Memphis students, faculty, and staff. Individuals must set up their own usernames and passwords with RefWorks. 

SpringerLink

SpringerLink offers free access to search, tables of content, abstracts, and alerting services and some open-access articles. In addition to the free searching, U of M has purchased some content, indicated by a green box in the results list of your search.