These resources are the most useful for finding articles related to local history topics:
HeritageQuest Online: Provides images and indexing for most U.S. Federal Census 1790-1930. Provides full-text to over 22,000 family and local history books. Provides PERSI indexing to over 2 million genealogy and local history articles.
JSTOR: Provides full-text articles with page images from hundereds of historical journals. This database offers retrospective coverage of journal back issues with some journals extending back to the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes very little information in the past 3-5 years.
Project MUSE: Provides access to the full text of more than 200 scholarly journals in many disciplines, including: African studies, anthropology, education, history, music, literature, philosophy, psychology, sociology, and more. Coverage: varies, typically the past 3-5 years.
Academic OneFile: Provides access to full-text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Some embargoes. Coverage: 1995- , typically, but varies by resource.
Social Sciences Full Text: Indexes periodicals in addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, communications & mass media, community health & medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning & public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology, and urban studies. Coverage: citations & abstracts, 1983- ; full text, 1995-
Southern Life: Provides 5 million full-text articles on topics that relate directly to Southern living--past and present--including people, places, historical events
Historical Abstracts: Focuses on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, including , military history, women's history, history of education, and more. It provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Gale Virtual Reference: Provides a simultaneous search for the various Gale online reference works. Includes American Decades series.
Opposing Viewpoints: Covers current social issues and helps students explore issues from all perspectives: viewpoints (essays), reference, statistics, magazines and newspapers, images, primary documents and web sites.