Skip to main content

Instructional Design and Technology

Citation Help (APA Style)

Ref Works

RefWorks is a web-based citation management system offered free to U of M students and faculty. It offers you a convenient and time-saving method of saving and formatting information on your research. It imports this information directly from many of the databases licensed by the U of M Libraries.

RefWorks allows you to save citations and PDFs, collaborate with colleagues, and create bibliographies.

Tutoring Assistance

ESP Learning Centers are located at various locations at the University of Memphis. Each center is staffed by Educational Support Program (ESP) tutors including graduate and undergraduate students. Tutors are ESP-certified. In-person and virtual appointments for tutoring and/or consultation are available and vary by location; walk-ins are always welcome.

Citation Help in Databases

OPAC

In Catalog Classic (books), click on Cite This (right side) from inside the record.  The citation will appear in the current versions of APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Turabian.

 

In databases (journal articles) such as those owned by EBSCO, after locating the article, click on Cite (in the list on the right). The citation appears in MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian formats.

Library of Congress Classification

Library of Congress

Writing an Annotated Bibliography

A bibliography is a list of sources used for writing a paper.  An annotated bibliography also includes a summary and/or evaluation.  It might include one or more of the following: 

Summary (what are the main arguments?)

Assessment (how useful is the source, is it reliable, is it biased?)

Reflection (how does it fit with your research?)

Here are some helpful websites with instructions and examples -

Avoiding Plagiarism