Skip to main content

Computer Science

This is a subject guide for patrons in the computer science.

RefWorks Basics

Introduction to RefWorks

RefWorks is a citation-management software package similar to EndNote, ProCite, and Reference Manager. RefWorks is web-based. So long as you are a registered user, RefWorks can be used from any computer with Internet access. RefWorks allows you to export bibliographic data from commercial, government, and library databases into your own personal database(s). You can organize this database however you like--leave everything in one big file or sort references into folders based on subjects or specific projects.

Registering/Logging in

If you are not in one of our training classes and are student/faculty/staff at the UofM, you can register yourself. Go to the Databases link in the Search UM Libraries box on the right hand side of the web page. Type in RefWorks and click on the RefWorks link in the record. You'll be asked to authenticate with your UofM username and password, before you are allowed to register with RefWorks. Click "New to RefWorks? Sign up for an Individual Account" to can create whatever username and password you like to use with RefWorks. (If you attend a training class, we'll help you get registered) Once registered, you can log-in to RefWorks by going to refworks.com on any computer, anywhere, using your username/password and the UofM GroupCode. (The GroupCode is included in the confirmation email you receive from RefWorks on registration.) Once registered, you can log-in to RefWorks by going to refworks.com on any computer, any where, using your username/password and the UofM GroupCode. (The GroupCode is included in the confirmation email you receive from RefWorks on registration.) PLEASE NOTE: You create your own password to access RefWorks. It is not assigned, and no pre-existing passwords work automatically.

NOTE: Once you have registered, you do not need to follow these steps ever again--just go to http://www.refworks.com and log in.

Current RefWorks classes

To request a training session on RefWorks, please fill out an Instruction Request Form 

 

 

Open Access Journals

Are you looking for an Open Access Journal to publish your research? Try Directory of Open Access Journals to browse a list of international, peer-reviewed, open-access scholarly journal titles in Computer Science  (http://www.doaj.org/doaj?func=subject&cpid=114&uiLanguage=en). But please check "Language" field since some journals are in other languages such as Russian and Chinese.

IEEE Style

The IEEE Computer Society Style Guide is available online through the IEEE Computer Society website. It includes two main parts: an alphabethical listing which provides the commonly used acronyms, definititions, and brief remarks; the Special sections give detailed information about Abbreviations, Acronyms and Abbreviated Terms, Biographical Sketches, Captialization,  The Chicago Manual of Style: Commonly Used Sections, Punctuation, References, etc.

Note:

  • The Chicago Manual of Style is the basis for the style policies of all of the Computer Society's publications. The University Libraries have the latest edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which is located on the first floor ready reference desk.

  • RefWorks doesn't provide IEEE Computer Society Style. But it has the Output Styles such as IEEE - Communication Magazine, IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, IEEE - Transaction on Medical Imaging, IEEE Transactions on Learning Technologies, IEEE Transactions on Powr Electronics, IEEE Transactions on Reliability, IEEE/ACM Transactions on Computational Biology and Bioinformatics, IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, and Proceedings of the IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. You can use RefeWorks Output Style Editor to modify an existing style to meet your needs.

ACM Style

According to the ACM online Journals Style Guide:

ACM IN-TEXT CITATION STYLE

The in-text citation style is as follows: For parenthetical citations we enclose the last name of the first author and year of publication, thus: [Burando 2007]; when there are two authors, both last names and the year of publication are included [Burando and Lee 2007]; when there are more than two authors, we cite the last name of the first author followed by an "et al." [Burando et al. 2007]. Sequential parenthetical citations are enclosed in square brackets and separated by semi-colons, thus [Burando 2007; Burando and Lee 2007]. When a citation is part of a sentence, the name of the author is NOT enclosed in brackets, but the year is: "So we see that Burando et al. [2007]…"

When an author has more than one article published in the same year, the citation becomes [Burando 2007a] and [Burando 2007b].

SPECIAL NOTE ABOUT REFERENCE FORMATS

Much time is spent by the production staff in putting the references of a manuscript in order during the copyediting process. In some papers, up to 50% of the time could be spent doing just this. In addition, all these have to be entered into the file by our supplier. Reference linking and citation counts are facilitated by use of these standard reference formats. Please adhere strictly to the reference formats that we use for ACM publications, because a manuscript in which references do not follow the standard format can cost both time and money.

The ACM website also provides some examples of the common reference types.

IEEE Xplore Alert Manager

Do you want to stay current with the latest relevant research? IEEE Xplore provides a free feature -- Alert Manager. After you create an IEEE account, you can choose to receive regular notification of recently posted journals and magazines, or new titles that match a saved search you did before. Below are steps to set a Saved Search Alerts:

  1. Be sure to create account first.

  2. Be sure you have a saved search.

  3. Hover on My Settings in the navigation bar, and then select Saved Searches. IEEE Xplore displays the Saved Searches page listing the user-defined name, search query, and refinements for each saved search.

  4. Click Enable Alert for each search for which you want to receive updates by e-mail..

  5. To receive updates by RSS and to view the RSS feed for a search, click RSS. Then click Subscribe Now and complete the dialog displayed by your browser.