Skip to main content

Computer Science

This is a subject guide for patrons in the computer science.

Find a Specific Journal/Article

Do you have a particle citation with you? Such as Journal Title, Article Title, Author Name, Volume Number, Issue Number, and/or published date.

  • If you know a journal title/part of a journal title or ISSN, the "Journal Title" tool should be a good place for you to check if the University libraries subscribe to it - hard copy and/or electronic version journal. You can do search by "Title begins with", "Title equals", "Title contains all words", or search by ISSN.
  • If you don't know the journal title and ISSN, but you know an article title and/or author name, please try the "Article QuickSearch" tool.

Still have a problem? 

Find Journals or Articles by Research Topic

There are many ways to find journals/articles according to your research topic. Below is a list of a few tools:

  • Looking for the top journals in your field? Try the ISI Journal Citation Reports  which Provides data and analysis related to the impact factor for the most significant journals in the Sciences and Social Sciences fields.
  • The University libraries provide a journal list by subject: Journals Found in Engineering & Applied Sciences: Computer Science
  • Direct searching in a selected database is an effective way to find articles. Click here, then you can browse all databases which libraries subscribe or only look at databases under the subject of Computer Science.
  • Try our Encore Article Quicksearch tool, which allows you to search multiple databases at the same time. 
  • On the right side of this page, you will find some selected journals and databases for your quick reference.

Conference Papers and Proceedings

The IEEE Xplore Digital Library contains over 900 conference proceedings. After logging into the digital library, you can browse conference publications by Title or by Topic. If you would like to read publications only from the IEEE Computer Society, please use IEEE Computer Society Digital Library.

The ACM Digital Library provides the ACM Proceedings as well as ACM Journals/Transactions and Magazines.

The University libraries may have some proceedings in the regular collections. Please try Library Catalog Advanced Search to find them.

Note: the University Libraries purchased the complete IEEE proceedings and ACM proceedings since January 2013.

What is Interlibrary Loan (ILL)?

ILL is a service that provides you with access to library materials not available in the University of Memphis Libraries and not available in full-text through licensed University of Memphis databases.  ILL is a service available to current University of Memphis students, faculty, and staff. Please click here, start to use this service.

Selected Databases

The icon indicates that you must be a current UM faculty, staff , student or RODP student to access this resource.

Core databases:

Other databases:

To browse whole databases, please go here.