Research Guides: Women's and Gender Studies: Find Journals

Find Journals

Core Feminist Scholarly Journals

Feminist Review
The major women's studies journal in Britain including articles on contemporary feminist analysis, changing political issues and book reviews.
Feminist Studies
Articles that focus on women's experience and on gender as a category of analysis of a critical, scholarly, speculative and political nature, poetry and art, reports from the women's movement and strategies for change.
Feminist Theory
Sex Roles
Original research articles, theoretical manuscripts and critical reviews concerned with the underlying processes and consequences of gender role socialization, perceptions, and attitudes.
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society
An interdisciplinary journal of women and society that addresses diversity issues involving race, class, sexual preference.
WSQ: Women's Studies Quarterly
Four volumes in two issues per year; peer reviewed coverage of interdisciplinary articles on all aspects of international women's studies.

LGBTQ Journals and Popular Magazines

The Advocate
Articles, commentary, personality profiles, reviews and book reviews representing a wide variety of gay and lesbian ideas and perspectives.
Gay and Lesbian Review Worldwide
Provides a forum for discussion & analysis of contemporary gay, lesbian & bisexual ideas & literature.
GLQ : A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
Publishes scholarship, criticism and commentary in the rapidly expanding interdisciplinary field of gay and lesbian studies.
Journal of Homosexuality
Scholarly research on homosexuality, including sexual practices and gender roles and their historical, interpersonal and modern social contexts and provides a forum for both essentialist and social constructionist views of homosexuality.
Lambda Book Report
Articles, commentary, reviews and book reviews representing a wide variety of gay and lesbian ideas and perspectives.

Feminist newsletters and magazines

Feminist newsletter and magazines are excellent sources for historical research as well as learning about current issues for women.Visit the 2nd floor of McWherter Library to view the Herstory Microfilm Collection, which contains a variety of feminist newsletters, primarily from the early 1970s. To find specific titles in the Herstory collection, check out the index to the collection on the 2nd floor Classified Index Shelves at call number HQ 1101 H47x.

In the 1990s, self-published, independent, feminist zines made a splash and are still being produced and disseminated online and at independent bookstores.

Barnard Zine Collection
Barnard's zines are created by women (cis- and transgender) with an emphasis on zines by women of color. We collect zines on feminism and femme identity by people of all genders. The zines are personal and political publications on activism, anarchism, body image, third wave feminism, gender, parenting, queer community, riot grrrl, sexual assault, trans experience, and other topics.
Grrrl Zine Network
Throughout history, women have consistently demanded and gained the right to vote, study, and participate in social and political life through self-publishing. Grrrl zines represent a continuation of this long tradition of feminist alternative and grassroots publishing. When in 1991 the riot grrrl movement emerged out of the alternative and punk music scene in the United States, thousands of young women began to produce personal and political zines with explicitly feminist themes. (Site no longer maintained, but it's an excellent archive.)
Ms. Magazine
Aimed at women, the magazine contains articles on child rearing, politics, medicine, psychology, music, art, films.